Page 24 of 25 FirstFirst ... 1422232425 LastLast

Thread: manager vacancy

But sure didn't the new CEO at Athlone who hired Roddy, once sacked him?

Quote Originally Posted by leedsfan88 View Post
    But sure didn't the new CEO at Athlone who hired Roddy, once sacked him?
    We're on about the same person. He is meant to be going to Limerick now. Dont know whether Kerley left or was sacked I had presumed sacked.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    It's Irish football, backroom staff leave or get sacked all the time. Bound to be frequent crossover.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Quote Originally Posted by Sea Bird View Post
    People banging on about a sports scientist and i think people are confused with mike sheilds he was not a sports scientist or fitness coach there was another lad doing that..Paddy Purcell got himself in great shape by going to the gym himself and fair play to him but if we dont get ourselves a quality centre back we are in big trouble judging by how we have had problems dealing with nippy strikers past few seasons look at mcguire last season gave us a torrid time each time he played..also where are we going to get players from all sorts of confusion tracy and o leary are in norway gaffney would have went if he was fit,foley is a great squad player behan needs to lose at least two stone..its a shambles waiting so long to make the premier league and we are so unorganised it defies belief,we should have been the most organised club in the league this season because we need an edge we will liv and die by how we start the season a bad start will lead to bad morale and poor crowds if we start well it will build momentum and get crowds to thomand park to support the lads..Whoever gets the job is walking into a minefield in my opinion and best of luck to him and whoever he has on his staff hopefully he is a diamond because the most experienced of managers would find this a big challenge.Worst case scenario was we kept every player we wanted from last season and the new manager should be identifying where we are weak and bring in the 4-5 players in key positions we need to be competitive up there...
    To be fair, I agree with a good chunk of this. He's going to have a massive job on his hands to get everything going. He has time on his side, but not much.
    I've heard the budget isn't huge which is why so many who have been in for contract talks, haven't agreed. It is also a reason why some managers turned down the position. People just think there's a lot more money there than there actually is.

And we should really have at least a core of a squad going in to the start of pre season. I wonder if he knew the situation that was there before he accepted the position. Then again, as he isn't as high profile as everyone was expecting, offers may not have been flying in the door to him.

There should have been a huge wave of optimism carrying people, and the way things are at the moment, everything's just so negative. It's a bad sign when even a senior player is urging the club to sign them up.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Seannie spotted at arrivals in the airport!

448 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by longfordjames View Post
    I see on 95 fm Site that John O'Sullivan is coming from Athlone. Didn't he sack Kerley just a few months ago? It'd be strange to see them team up so soon?
    he didn't sack or hire anyone. Football decisions were down to the board, he was just the face of the club and had to make the press anouncements. Along with a lot of other good work he did for them.

Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    he didn't sack or hire anyone. Football decisions were down to the board, he was just the face of the club and had to make the press anouncements. Along with a lot of other good work he did for them.
    I don't like admitting it but he really seems to have turned the corner with Athlone. For the 1st time in years they look promotion material and they have made some great advancements off the field. Limerick are a club I'd love to see do well so this move could work for me in two ways :P

448 Posts
    I'd hate to see Limerick do too well, and he will get one hell of a slagging from me if this proves to be true. I have the facebook post ready to go.

He would do a great job though and will make them appear far more credible than they have. There wouldnt be too many more Powerpoint FC jokes.

Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    There wouldnt be too many more Powerpoint FC jokes.
    They sound absolutely gas.

Anyone know what time the press conference is tomorrow? Is it open to anyone?

Quote Originally Posted by kingpin4 View Post
    Anyone know what time the press conference is tomorrow? Is it open to anyone?
    Saw it mentioned that it is 8am.

Lets hope we get off to a good start to the season, it starts tomorrow after the conferance

46 Posts
    Any link of new managers interview???

Press release now up on the website

http://www.limerickfc.ie/new-manager...icer-appointed

25 Posts
    Can't see anything about his assistant. Is it Kerley or what?
    Ha?

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Treaty Gooner View Post
    Can't see anything about his assistant. Is it Kerley or what?

He said it will be sorted in the next few days.

No its not a local assistant

27 Posts
    so,at last our new and latest messiah is here ,not the one any of us were expecting but looking from the outside in he seems a decent fella,now can he manage..thats a question.think the whole charade concerning the process,media etc in finding this appointment was a big disappointment,embarassing even,but he is here now so we will get behind him.regarding the assistants job why would a rookie manager want a not so good reasonably experienced manager as his assistant,sounds like a car crash to me ,wouldn,t like to see that happen.those on here pushing the derek mccarthy line must think the crock of gold at the end of the chairmans rainbow is huge....the amount of ..em..staff..at the club last season resembled an ICA meeting.

Bishop who would you like to see as assistant

Quote Originally Posted by Minesapint View Post
    Bishop who would you like to see as assistant
    I've heard some crazy rumours (from people who think they are "in the know") ranging from Mike Kerley to Johnny Glynn, and about 10 names in between. Truth is, no one knows yet and the club haven't interviewed anyone for it. Think Taylor wants to pick at least 1 staff member himself, usually the case with managers in England when they move clubs. The assistant and first team coach go with them. It'll be interesting to see who turns up to pre season training.

Page 24 of 25 FirstFirst ... 1422232425 LastLast