Page 23 of 25 FirstFirst ... 132122232425 LastLast

Thread: manager vacancy

Ya it wasn't till the start of the 2011 season where Purcell started looking in top shape. The last two seasons then he has been one of the fittest players in the team and probably been in the best shape of his career or at least since he was a youngfella.

Ya agree that he should go if he is a yes man but maybe they will have to stick with the clueless lad if they cant get macarth, mac for the double job i reckon , save money for players then

Quote Originally Posted by Daydreamer View Post
    Ya agree that he should go if he is a yes man but maybe they will have to stick with the clueless lad if they cant get macarth, mac for the double job i reckon , save money for players then
    But haven't the lads said they have heard good things about him?

420 Posts

Do you know anything about him to call him clueless though? Seems harsh to me.

Just what a couple of the players said , king pin might know more although he said the players say he is good, the few i spoke to said that he that he is poor but like everything its about opinions some players will like some coaches staff members etc , anyway its irrelevant a new manager might bring in somebody else or give that guy more control etc , appoint a manager and coach more important , my point being that macarthy could do both assistant, coach /sports scientist and at least we all know that he knows football

420 Posts
    Just what a couple of the players said , king pin might know more although he said the players say he is good, the few i spoke to said that he that he is poor but like everything its about opinions some players will like some coaches staff members etc , anyway its irrelevant a new manager might bring in somebody else or give that guy more control etc , appoint a manager and coach more important , my point being that macarthy could do both assistant, coach /sports scientist and at least we all know that he knows football

Id love to have Derek involved in some way at the club unfortunately i cant see it happening though. He would be some man to have teaching young strikers thats for sure.

Jesus this thread is going ar*seways.

I don't know what the Sport Scientist guy does but he's useless....yep that makes sense
    Let's get Derek the Sport Scientist in he must be better....yep makes sense as well

Nonsense

Sorry did not mean to touch a nerve lad , my main point is mc carthy would be great to have in as he knows what it takes from a player , coach and sports science side of things and would save money on an extra person and that spare money could go towards playing staff , think thats a fair point to be honest , saves money on appointing someone like barrett or kerley , makes sense to me

Honestly, I don't know much more. Just the lads I spoke to have all spoke very highly of him. They say he was the main guy behind Purcell getting fit. Said he just stays in the background. It's all much of a muchness anyway, I don't think having a better or worse sports scientist will make that much of a difference to a teams play and if taylor doesn't like him anyway, like the rest of the staff, he'll just show him the door.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Can we talk about the manager vacancy now?

Is the announcement today or tomorrow, because I've heard declarations of both?
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    Can we talk about the manager vacancy now?

Is the announcement today or tomorrow, because I've heard declarations of both?
    At this stage it would be a bit late to call a press conference today surely. Unless of course they just make a press release.

People banging on about a sports scientist and i think people are confused with mike sheilds he was not a sports scientist or fitness coach there was another lad doing that..Paddy Purcell got himself in great shape by going to the gym himself and fair play to him but if we dont get ourselves a quality centre back we are in big trouble judging by how we have had problems dealing with nippy strikers past few seasons look at mcguire last season gave us a torrid time each time he played..also where are we going to get players from all sorts of confusion tracy and o leary are in norway gaffney would have went if he was fit,foley is a great squad player behan needs to lose at least two stone..its a shambles waiting so long to make the premier league and we are so unorganised it defies belief,we should have been the most organised club in the league this season because we need an edge we will liv and die by how we start the season a bad start will lead to bad morale and poor crowds if we start well it will build momentum and get crowds to thomand park to support the lads..Whoever gets the job is walking into a minefield in my opinion and best of luck to him and whoever he has on his staff hopefully he is a diamond because the most experienced of managers would find this a big challenge.Worst case scenario was we kept every player we wanted from last season and the new manager should be identifying where we are weak and bring in the 4-5 players in key positions we need to be competitive up there... And no kingpin i am not mike kerley but know for a fact how good a COACH!! he is and he preaches good football and thats what everyone on this has been screaming for past few seasons so with the right gaffer i think mike would be a great asset as no 2...

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sea Bird View Post
    gaffney would have went if he was fit,
    He is fit so we will see if he will go.

he aint fit trust me....

The assistant isnt local, im sure limerick have players lined up

Quote Originally Posted by Sea Bird View Post
    he aint fit trust me....
    He is fit enough to run and work out though.

Quote Originally Posted by Minesapint View Post
    According to Jaina in the other thread, Shane Tracey has said the new manager was onto him already but told him to head over to Norway, have a good tournament and try come back injury free. If he told Tracey that then he most likely has talked to other players also.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Minesapint View Post
    Who is it then if not Kerley?

Press conference called for Friday according to 95fm.

I see on 95 fm Site that John O'Sullivan is coming from Athlone. Didn't he sack Kerley just a few months ago? It'd be strange to see them team up so soon?

Quote Originally Posted by longfordjames View Post
    I see on 95 fm Site that John O'Sullivan is coming from Athlone. Didn't he sack Kerley just a few months ago? It'd be strange to see them team up so soon?
    Did he sack him or did he leave?

Page 23 of 25 FirstFirst ... 132122232425 LastLast