Page 7 of 25 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast

Thread: manager vacancy

International Prospect CraftyToePoke's Avatar
    979 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    That would all be fine if there were players in the current u19s team good enough to come through to the first team this season and at the minute their isn't. Anybody signed in the LOI is gonna be a mercenary really anyway, we need to improve the squad if we are to do anything decent this season.
    I should have worded that differently, what I'm getting at is id rather not see O'Leary, McGann, Collins, McGrath & Sheedy's development sacrificed to accommodate mercenary journeymen, was all. I think one or more of those players will really measure up.

But I am also confident, that with the roots the club is establishing in the community they are aware of this and will be sensitive to it in any appointment.

Pat O Sullivan has already said they will telling anyone interviewing for the job that they want players brough through and development from within. Any manager not interested in that will be told this isn't the place for them.

I've seen mentioned that an announcement is due tomorrow.

I have to say fair play to the club for keeping it quiet and going about their business. There has only been speculation in the papers about the new manager but the club themselves has gone about the interview process the right way.

It the club rushed out and put the first person they could find in place people would be complaining. There is still 3 months till the season kicks off and a month to pre-season.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by CraftyToePoke View Post
    I should have worded that differently, what I'm getting at is id rather not see O'Leary, McGann, Collins, McGrath & Sheedy's development sacrificed to accommodate mercenary journeymen, was all. I think one or more of those players will really measure up.

But I am also confident, that with the roots the club is establishing in the community they are aware of this and will be sensitive to it in any appointment.

Ah sorry i took what you were saying up wrong. Agree 100% with that the fact that most of them have a good bit of first team experience already will have them in a good position imo. Garbhan Coughlan is another.

Todays Leader seems to be under the impression it will be Phil Brown but another week of negotiating most likely.

http://www.limerickleader.ie/sport/s...ce=twitterfeed

Quote Originally Posted by da bishop View Post
    what a farce this whole episode has become,the club should have had someone lined up prior to scullys departure,now we have had this long drawn out mess of its TAYLOR no its KERR no its BROWN etc etc.....for anyone serious about their soccer its been an embarassment,the bottom line here is we will be appointing anyone but them or like them...it could even be glynn,but....i fancy a big mac myself.
    DOn't see what the problem is. Limerick's jobh is to get the best man for the job (within their own set of contraints). They SHOULD take to everyone interested in the job

If the media want to speculate on various names, then thats a seperate thing.

Can't see how lImerick have done anything wrong here? WOuld be far worse if they picked the first guy interested in the role

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Todays Leader seems to be under the impression it will be Phil Brown but another week of negotiating most likely.

http://www.limerickleader.ie/sport/s...ce=twitterfeed
    Anyone else think that's a bit ridiculous? IF IT IS TRUE, so they let him bring in assistant manager, first team coach and maybe goal keeper coach or some other member of staff. So those staff are coming all the way over from the UK, you're looking after their accommodation for them, a form of transport and their wages. That's going to be about 8 grand a week in total of expenses and wages. With the added benefit of zero league of Ireland knowledge.
    Then if a job comes up in England, they jump ship straight away and you not only have to replace a manager and assistant manager, but another 2 members of staff on top of that. Anyone else thinking that way? Or is everyone blinded by the orange lights?

Quote Originally Posted by kingpin4 View Post
    Anyone else think that's a bit ridiculous? IF IT IS TRUE, so they let him bring in assistant manager, first team coach and maybe goal keeper coach or some other member of staff. So those staff are coming all the way over from the UK, you're looking after their accommodation for them, a form of transport and their wages. That's going to be about 8 grand a week in total of expenses and wages. With the added benefit of zero league of Ireland knowledge.
    Then if a job comes up in England, they jump ship straight away and you not only have to replace a manager and assistant manager, but another 2 members of staff on top of that. Anyone else thinking that way? Or is everyone blinded by the orange lights?
    A lot of ifs there though.

What if the club are telling him they want someone who knows the LOI helping him? Why if they are telling brown he would have to live in Limerick? What of they have ruled Brown out a few days ago due to finances or demands?

None of us know what's going on in the interview process. We don't know who the remaining few in the running are and we don't know if they have picked the manager yet. We don't know what Brown wants either.

All we do know is the paper talk.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    I'm guessing that there is no announcement today then? Brown seems to be getting linked to jobs in England too, so I wouldn't buy into the "dead cert" way local media are treating him with.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

473 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by kingpin4 View Post
    Of course it could be a case of "they jump ship at the first opportunity, and Limerick get a nice transfer fee" sort of thinking. Brown gets to put himself in the shop window, Limerick get a decent manager, and the chance at a good money-earner

Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    I'm guessing that there is no announcement today then? Brown seems to be getting linked to jobs in England too, so I wouldn't buy into the "dead cert" way local media are treating him with.
    Seems to be linked to quiet a few over the last week so that tells me he is applying for anything that is going. The Leader are getting a little carried away as Brown may not even be in the running anymore if he has been over in England the last week or so. It is also mentioned in an English paper that last Monday Brown had been telling Hartlepool fans he was their new manager.

I'm starting to hope as time goes on that we go with an experienced LOI manager. I'm not Johnny McDonnells biggest fan but he would have a great knowledge of the league and the quality that is around. Richardsons would be excellent also.

What about John Gill? Is he spoken for yet?
    Gold is for winners......

Quote Originally Posted by lawman View Post
    What about John Gill? Is he spoken for yet?

you make it sound like hes a must have for loi teams. far from it

Looks like whoever will be the assistant manager will have to already hold a "UEFA A License" according to the new rules so that could limit who can fill that position also.

No Phil according to the Indo...no quotes from anybody

http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...b-3323995.html

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Looks like whoever will be the assistant manager will have to already hold a "UEFA A License" according to the new rules so that could limit who can fill that position also.
    There isn't many in Limerick with UEFA A license that would rule out local Assistant.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    So, not Brown anyway, that's for sure: http://www.limerickleader.ie/sport/s...-out-1-4580384

I'd love if the faint rumors of Mick Cooke were true , but I just can't see that happening, not unless he was offered way more than he's currently getting at Drogheda..
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

46 Posts
    Kevin kilbane just tweeted, agreed terms with limerick fc let's do this.

Am agreed what exactly playing role or manager??

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    Kevin kilbane just tweeted, agreed terms with limerick fc let's do this.

Am agreed what exactly playing role or manager??
    Weak..

https://twitter.com/kdkilbane

473 Posts
    Had me going for a second. Would love to see Killer play a season or two in the LOI, but doubt it'll happen.

Rory Delap is someone who it might appeal to though, he say's he never wants to retire, just drop through divisions to find his level.

46 Posts
    He took it down but one of the lads posted his tweet must be something in.

Page 7 of 25 FirstFirst ... 5678917 ... LastLast