Page 16 of 25 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 ... LastLast

Thread: manager vacancy

"Faceoff-Our club at the moment is a shambles,and getting worse by the day,FACT.how did these talks with the other English manager get on by the way??blueblood.."

Dont know how these talks went but I know the club will appoint someone this week, right man or not as we're running out of time, hopefully this will all be forgotten in a few weeks but at the moment things look a shambles, I was talking to one of our best players from last season (if not the best), he has had zero contact from the club in the last 6 or 7 weeks so today he'll be training with the PFAI out of contract players (just to keep fit he says!!!), he's really pi**ed off and i'd imagine if we dont get him signed he'll be gone soon.
    Last edited by blueblood; 02/01/2013 at 5:53 PM.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Treaty Gooner View Post
    Didn't every squad he's been in charge of as Limerick boss respond to him? We had some of our best results and performances with him in charge and a very young squad. Don't think you can question that side of his record.
    Comparisons with Mourinho are beyond ridiculous.

He did well the first time he was manager when he got us to the play off v Derry ( i think he was manager anyway)other then that anytime he has been with Limerick or managed anyone else has been average. Very good coach not that good of a manger, at the minute all he is doing is taking pre-season if he was to come in as a coach that would be great his managerial record wouldn't matter.

He was manager when he got us to the play offs, went unbeaten in last 15 games. similar too now (not nowhere as bad) he was appointed manager again with 10 days to start of season with 10 of previous squad playing elsewhere. Left him in impossible situation to run club, very similar to job he took in Waterford and again in Athlone a poison chalise. Not sure why he ever did, except he either loves football or very hard tasks. On managerial times with LFC, he was very good (IMO) not the type to put hand around someone but overall ran a very tight club. Have to agree with blueandwhitearmy on managerial record thought.

Found this a bit mad but not the first time I heard it today strangely enough

A fake twitter but who goes to that effort.

What a bizarre joke.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    That is seriously deranged.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

2,446 Posts
    As of 2012, Fortune has returned to Manchester United. He trains with their reserve team whilst working on his coaching badges, which he aims to complete in 2013
    Interesting from his wikipedia.

From that same twitter: "We have some quotes from Quinton Fortune on his new job as manager off Limerick FC coming up.

'It is a dream come true to be able to use a team as well supported as Limerick FC to launch my career in football management. To be ranked along the greats of Sam Allardyce and Pat Scully is a real honour. I can't wait to get to managing the vast aray of talent we have available to us and to manage in such a great stadium."

I suspect it's a slightly illiterate but nonetheless reasonably funny teenager from Limerick cultivating said account.

I reckon its one of those pinko, lefty, communist types trying to stir trouble.

We proved when clichy came that we're not ready, you couldn't even get a black coffee in Jackman.

kingpin you are saying that mike sheilds who never achieved anything in the game as a player and never managed in his life and whos job it was to scream at players during set pieces when scully told him jump up is in the same league as mike kerley u are deranged he was one of the first people in this country to get a pro licence.. and no, badges dont make you a great manager or coach but they are put in place by uefa and recognised world wide so they dont matter thats why all the top pros and ex pros are scrambling to get them carragher gary neville to name a few..at least not everyone on this isnt stupid, mike kerley had a smaller budget than junior sides at athlone and the fruits of his work are there to be seen when their 19,s hammered ours twice this season with plenty of lads he blooded in their first team and they get it down and play the right way they didnt get a point after he left last season his job was not to win trophies up there ferguson cudnt have won the league with athlone and their budget.. ridicoulous comparison with mourinho and porto.. he has never taken an easy job had to tog himself numerous times as manager of limerick play goalkeepers outfield and use not even the best junior players in town just young lads who wanted to play loi.. i can remember a performance in jackman against waterford who went up that season i think winning 5-0 with the likes of paul walsh chimka manjor wayne colbert stephen goggins to name a few playing them off the park that is something pat scully with the biggest budget in the first div could not do in 4 seasons..i think with scullys budget he would have won the first div a lot more comfortable and probly got us promoted the season before..and the fact it looks like he is going in as a coach is a massive addition to the club he will be doing what he does best.. and yes he us a gifted young coach talk to people who have played or worked with him.. also was a top player in his day played the majority of his football in the premier league of ireland...but your right kingpin mike sheilds is a succesful coach huge achievement nodding and agreeing with scully for four years!!

25 Posts
    Jaysus, I didn't think anyone would get that wound up about it...

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sea Bird View Post
    i can remember a performance in jackman against waterford who went up that season i think winning 5-0 with the likes of paul walsh chimka manjor wayne colbert stephen goggins to name a few playing them off the park that is something pat scully with the biggest budget in the first div could not do in 4 seasons..i think with scullys budget he would have won the first div a lot more comfortable and probly got us promoted the season before..and the fact it looks like he is going in as a coach is a massive addition to the club he will be doing what he does best..

Waterford didn't go up that season. So Pat Scully couldn't beat Waterford in 4 seasons? Does that include the season before last season when we beat them 4 times?
    And Pat Scully biggest budget or not won the league which is far far more important and impressive then one result and performance against Waterford.
    Mike is a very good coach but why all the talk like he is some kind of top class manager he isn't he is an average manager and that is why he has only manged average teams. Athlone finished 3rd last the season just gone only ahead of the 2 awful Galway teams.

Like i said if he is coming in as a coach his managerial record doesn't matter in the slightest but there is no point in getting so upset because someone says his managerial record isn't great because the fact is it isn't.

Quote Originally Posted by Sea Bird View Post
    kingpin you are saying that mike sheilds who never achieved anything in the game as a player and never managed in his life and whos job it was to scream at players during set pieces when scully told him jump up is in the same league as mike kerley u are deranged he was one of the first people in this country to get a pro licence.. and no, badges dont make you a great manager or coach but they are put in place by uefa and recognised world wide so they dont matter thats why all the top pros and ex pros are scrambling to get them carragher gary neville to name a few..at least not everyone on this isnt stupid, mike kerley had a smaller budget than junior sides at athlone and the fruits of his work are there to be seen when their 19,s hammered ours twice this season with plenty of lads he blooded in their first team and they get it down and play the right way they didnt get a point after he left last season his job was not to win trophies up there ferguson cudnt have won the league with athlone and their budget.. ridicoulous comparison with mourinho and porto.. he has never taken an easy job had to tog himself numerous times as manager of limerick play goalkeepers outfield and use not even the best junior players in town just young lads who wanted to play loi.. i can remember a performance in jackman against waterford who went up that season i think winning 5-0 with the likes of paul walsh chimka manjor wayne colbert stephen goggins to name a few playing them off the park that is something pat scully with the biggest budget in the first div could not do in 4 seasons..i think with scullys budget he would have won the first div a lot more comfortable and probly got us promoted the season before..and the fact it looks like he is going in as a coach is a massive addition to the club he will be doing what he does best.. and yes he us a gifted young coach talk to people who have played or worked with him.. also was a top player in his day played the majority of his football in the premier league of ireland...but your right kingpin mike sheilds is a succesful coach huge achievement nodding and agreeing with scully for four years!!
    Hi Mike....
    :O

46 Posts
    The star reporting limerick manager to be announced tomorrow.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    The star reporting limerick manager to be announced tomorrow.

I was told it would be before the weekend alright but i thought that was just another one of the times id be told that and nothing would happen, hopefully true this time.

46 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    I was told it would be before the weekend alright but i thought that was just another one of the times id be told that and nothing would happen, hopefully true this time.
    also said it will be a English manager.

Quote Originally Posted by thomas72 View Post
    also said it will be a English manager.
    That's Quinton out

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Could still be Kilbane then...
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

19. Thanks From:

2,446 Posts
    Peter Taylor.

Phil Brown

Page 16 of 25 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 ... LastLast