Unlucky to Glenthorn great effort lovely goal ye got drilled it in bottom corner from about 30 yards. Pity about there two goals boat from corners.
So Kilumney Lakewood and Ballinhassig in to semi finals who will join them ???
Last edited by oldlegs; 09/03/2013 at 5:17 PM.
Unlucky to Glenthorn great effort lovely goal ye got drilled it in bottom corner from about 30 yards. Pity about there two goals boat from corners.
Douglas. They're up 2-1
Last edited by Kearney; 09/03/2013 at 8:41 PM.
3-1 now
I kept off this for a few weeks prior to the AOH game with The Hall. I feel we gave a good account of ourselves, even had the cheek to go 1 up. In fairness to them they're a good team. They move the ball at ridiculous speeds. I'm proud of my club and we battled to the final whistle.
Just on a crazy referee move, at half time we were losing 2-1 and having a bit of a hype up session in the huddle. They ref walked from the middle of the park and walked into our huddle to have a chat with our striker. We asked him to leave as we were trying to talk but he refused. Eventually after tempers flared he left but actually said "fine if that's the way ye want it". Just before kick off in the 2nd half he walked over to our line and ordered everyone to sit in the dug out or he was "walking". Told us only 1 man was allowed out of the dugout, laughed and walked away. Now that' a little man on a power trip if ever I've seen one!
Last edited by Leftside; 09/03/2013 at 9:42 PM.
On refs we had a ref down for us today a ref who is a character known to all but has refused to travel beyond the city bounds out to us before so it is was no surprise he didnt show but the ref we got might aswell have refd the game from his car he was that interested making bad calls from the other end of the pitch i know were division 3 but we still pay the same amount as prem teams its a disgrace fair play he still wants to be still involved in football but when one of our players is on the end of a shocking challenge x rated to be honest and is then booked for asking why the offendent isnt booked he got a yellow . The aul should really put an age limit on refs because u should at least be able to jog imo its a money making exercise for the old boys club .
You might as well be talking to the wall as to talking to leagues bout referees!!
Sorry lads for late match report had to take herself out . Coachford 2 Knockavilla 1 . Good tough battle both sides well up for the game pitch in great nick . Just a little on the ref first not the ref that was down for the game . I'm not saying he cost us the game but just saying during the course of the 90min's he made some harsh calls on us gave them a few soft frees that when happened to us was just waved on play on he tried to play the advantage rule and got it all wrong playing advantage when there was none and giving frees when there was a clear advantage as you can imagine during the course of a tight game with both sides giving it everything they had how it would unsettle or upset players. As I say the ref didn't make any game changeing mistakes but all the little ones would add up . Anyway's back to the game . Coachford started strong trying to blow us out of the water but we held our own kept our shape and worked hard as a unit . First real chance was after about 20minutes when our striker ran on the a long ball and finished to top corner savage finish but was called offside very harsh as he was about 2 yards onside . Coachford applied more pressure and got their reward on the half hour when from long throw into box half volley across box and deflected off Jeffers foot into our net 1 nil Coachford . Next 10 mins our midfield was on top and we got a great chance when a ball was played back to Coachford centrehalf and our rightwinger intercepted and had clear path from halfwayline to goal he took it on and hit post . But followed up rebound and was taken down for a penalty which he tucked away . 1 all half time . 2 half we soaked up a lot of pressure from Coachford and to be honest we where quiet comfortable saying that we didn't create anything in that time . Coachford brought on first of their 3 subs . We held our shape and defended well a few poor ref decision's resulted in our manager having a go at ref and he was ejected from pitch at this piont our President let his feeling's known to the ref and followed our manager to the carpark . We picked up a few yellows in the next 10 min period . Coachford where applying a lot of pressure but we dealt with it until about the 70 min when ball was crossed in and headed in giving Coachford a 2 1 lead . We had player receive a 2 yellow and 5 min's later another of our players questioned the ref and picked up a yellow he clapped his hands at ref and received a 2 yellow . Game ended 2 1 not much of note happened in last 10 mins . Anyways onwards to our next game . Fairplay to Coachford massive squad don't know how his keeping them all happy their 8 for 8 now .
was also at this game and taught glenthorn were unlucky deserved something from it,but at the end of the day kilumney showed why they are one of the best teams around even when they went down to ten they didn't panic and got their reward.i cant see them losing it now.
the ball is not a bomb........
As you say always 2 sides no probs with that . But in regards to what I posted I'll stand over nothing to gain by fibbing on here . Not going to fall out with anyone over a game of ball but you might want to reword your last quote . As a club team etc we go out to win every game we are involved in to suggest that the Coachford game was our season is insulting to Knockavilla club . Nobody gets an easy game off us and if they beat us they have earned it . I might remind you your no stranger at pionting the finger at an odd official or 2. As I said in my post he didn't get the big decisions wrong but he got a lot of the small ones wrong and they add up and annoy players . Rant over .... For now .
Has the draw been made for the semi-finals of the AOH?
Coachford will probably thank us for giving them a tough game can't be winning everygame by 3 or 4 . They needed a tough one before they play Park Kilumney or Pearse .
Lads, we can moan and groan about refs but it is the same moans from a decade ago and will be the same in a decades time unless we do something. Looking at the eight Prem and Prem A fixtures for next week, I don't know one guy, only had another guy once so won't comment. Leaves six, 3 are ok. They make mistakes but overall get most things right. The key is that you can talk to them and they will explain decisions. We mightn't like it but at least there is respect. Two of the others make the same mistakes again and again. The key is that they mightn't even know that they do cos who tells them? The last guy is rising through the ranks, but I know teams don't rate him.
People need to realise that we are not looking to hang anyone- just looking for value for our money. The opinions of the teams are not taken into account.
I plan to suggest a form of refs report from teams , set mail address or standard form for example. We send in our opinions and they are reviewed once a month by league and representative from refs association together. After a while, a pattern will emerge of teams who report only when they lose and other redundant opinions, but also other patterns will emerge. The league can see what refs/teams don't get on and it might help them avoid confrontation. Common errors by the same ref can help the refs society advise the ref. win for everyone.
Ask your clubs what they think before AGM and let me know in pm if you want.
Saw a teenager ref a game yesterday. Got 90% of his decisions right. Looks a prospect.
Did I hear Robbie Walsh and his manager had a dressing room confrontation after the Street game?
Horse I know it's something which has annoyed you for some time, but lets be honest it's when teams lose, the ref suddenly becomes the problem, same story all the time, when things don't go teams ways they abuse the ref, you're right they don't get it right all the time and there should be a simple scorecard but I'll guarantee you one thing it will become a tool for fellas to slate these refs, which will put fellas off even wanting to become refs.
I agree with you Radio, but in some cases a performance of the man in the middle has undoubtedly effected the result. That's why owner of scorecard scheme in AUL ( disciplinary sec for example) and ref representative meet first. They become the filter for the drivel. By the time it reaches the official you would hope it has been "translated" to constructive criticism. If refs can't handle constructive criticism from those who pay them, then you shouldn't take our money.