Results 1,261 to 1,280 of 4405

Thread: Cork AUL 2012/13

Quote Originally Posted by 1fortheTeam View Post
    and i thought i was bad... the clare boys were good players they look well organized good fitness and balance and work hard all over and leeside did lose to the aul team bud thats not a dig at gaffer.
    Don't know how to respond to that one. Says it all about some of the recent commentary on the AUL forum.....!??

sorry bud and your right but i think give a year or 2 more and the 3 that left void can be filled by pearse killumney and coachford and others will come forward to i think .lots of good players in aul and we have to keep them time will tell.

Quote Originally Posted by thebooboys View Post
    Don't know how to respond to that one. Says it all about some of the recent commentary on the AUL forum.....!??
    jez were gone world wide now its boo from oz hows things.

What stage in the competition was this. With the players from Wilton,Leeside and Kinsale gone to the msl very hard for the aul to win this competition.Could hav done with a fit booboys in centre half today.

Quote Originally Posted by bullet View Post
    What stage in the competition was this. With the players from Wilton,Leeside and Kinsale gone to the msl very hard for the aul to win this competition.Could hav done with a fit booboys in centre half today.
    If they were in the league they might have won this game but the comp i wouldnt think so . Alot of the counties have that counties premier footballers playing where as corks best players ply their trade in the msl premier or first division

84 Posts
    Just a note how many Leeside players where on aul team last year ? How many Kinsale players on aul team last year ? How many Wilton players ?? There was no leeside or kinsale players as far as I remember there was 4 wilton players as I remember . Daly Blake Healy and the keeper won't even try to spell his sir name . That's not a lot is it ??? Also can anyone tell me where this 3 teams finished last year ??? Don't get me wrong I have great time and respect for the 3 clubs above but stop the stupid talk that they would have supplied the aul squad with better players that we had today .

Quote Originally Posted by oldlegs View Post
    Just a note how many Leeside players where on aul team last year ? How many Kinsale players on aul team last year ? How many Wilton players ?? There was no leeside or kinsale players as far as I remember there was 4 wilton players as I remember . Daly Blake Healy and the keeper won't even try to spell his sir name . That's not a lot is it ??? Also can anyone tell me where this 3 teams finished last year ??? Don't get me wrong I have great time and respect for the 3 clubs above but stop the stupid talk that they would have supplied the aul squad with better players that we had today .
    good points and how did clare do in the last ot .

I dont think we should be asking "what if the Leeside, Wilton, Kinsale players were available ", because as one poster said how many players are we talking about and more to the point, they dont play AUL anymore so that point is irrelevant. At the end of the day the Clare side were too cute for the AUL side. They defended well, kept it simple and used the AULs defence as a way of attack. The warning signs were there for all to see. 4 or 5 offside decisions went our way in the first half but as we all know, all you need is one chance, or in Clares case 3 ! They scored from 2 and could have had 3. Aul defended too high and got caught out badly in each half. Did we adjust it, no. it could have been worse than 4 in my opinion. thats not to say the AUL didnt have their chances but on the day, although the AUL played well in patches, in particular, Joyce, they came up short. At least 2 guys in my opinion should have been hauled off at half time and another should got more involved with the game rather than the sideline.

Quote Originally Posted by oldlegs View Post
    While I agree we need to move on from ths conversation as teams mentioned have moved on the fact is that 3 Leeside players didn't want to play with AUL team last year or couldn't commit. Graeme Keane did play. I'll leave Wilton & Kinsale speak for themselves

Your knowledge of Clare Soccer is obviously a little shady. Clare were beaten (comprehensively) by Wexford in the final 2 years ago but obviously a good team if they got to the final. Clare also won the competition about 10 years ago so to say that its a disgrace to be beaten by Clare smacks of shock tactics. If you're going to slate Clare soccer at least know the facts. Its a very good Clare panel with a good manager. 4-1 is comprehensive and well done Clare!

Fair pay to Clare, it has to be tough coming down here and play away. I wish them luck, now lads no excuses we aren't all Liverpool fans, I hope Donal is there again next year you can't give a guy 1 season he needs time!

I think a lot of boys are getting carried away here. First and foremost I do not think there is any need to change the management. Maybe having a bit of stability in this post will bring much needed stability to the panel. Tactically I thought he played a very strong starting eleven the correct way and pressed high as a home team does. The Clare side kept their shape very well and I noticed a person watching the game yesterday from Shannon who was also watching on Wednesday night so they done their homework. I didn't see the hunger that was evident on Wednesday and as expected Clare worked hard to limit the space available. The thing is however its at times like this you expected the Cork lads to raise their game to deal with this but it didn't happen.I think Clare got it spot on tactically too by sitting holding and then hitting the Cork side on the break. They took their chances well and should be congratulated on their win

Secondly when it comes to representative football be it your league, county or country you need to lift your game above and beyond what you give every week in the league. You need to match or even better your very best on any given day. There are unfortunately pressures related to this. Some fellas deal well with that and there are others that don't. It doesn't mean that they aren't good players they more than likely enjoy the comfort of being the big fish in a small pond (their own club) Going through the motions at such a level will and cannot do. Unfortunately like in club games you can only afford to carry one or two players max who might be off their games. You cant hide in representative games when you do you're found out pretty sharpish I think yesterday too many boys were hiding. As a coach you can do very little about that when its 4 or 5 players and can only deal with it in a limited way form the bench. When the rest of the squad pull their weight and 3 or 4 others don't it has a knock on effect which we all seen on Sunday.

Ive heard a lot of opinions over the last few weeks some good some bad but most in support of the AUL side. It was a bad loss but that's football. You win some you lose some. Sunday was a bad day at the office. Lets get behind the management and players. Lets welcome them back to their clubs. The Cork Aul league is a fantastic league with players that are more than capable of gracing senior league clubs but in most cases they remain loyal to their schoolboy clubs and their locality. Facilities aren't always up to scratch which lets it down but in football terms its right up there with the best. Most if not all of the boys on here were proud and exited on the first day they played in it. It would be a shame to lose the pride after one poor day at the office.

Quote Originally Posted by Dixie's Cousin View Post
    Fair pay to Clare, it has to be tough coming down here and play away. I wish them luck, now lads no excuses we aren't all Liverpool fans, I hope Donal is there again next year you can't give a guy 1 season he needs time!
    Oh without doubt he needs another crack but i think expectations need to be lowered abit he has a load of time between now and the end of the season to see a few more players maybe it wouldnt be a bad idea to bring the panel together now and then for training with a view to next year

31 Posts
    Crow, Alan healy, Kearney, Babsy, Calla, Graeme keane, Daly, Blakey, Jeffers, Holden all started last year against the MSL and were beat 2 nil in Turners Cross and beat again up in tipp with a slightly different team, Crow Alan Healy, Keegan,Colin Bevan, Babsy, Graeme Keane, Blakey, Daly, Kearney, Jeffers and Darren Lynch... from the first team the only 2 that played yesterday was Kearney and Babsy, the so called big and better players didn even win a game or even draw one for that matter, this years team atleast were unbeaten in there group and qualified out of the group which is a buit of progress if you ask me, its a lot of effort to make training ontop of the training your doing with your clubs, ye all comment here in the comfort of yer houses grand and warm, when them players are travelling to and from douglas hall freezing with the cold, what was expected of this team to go win it?? from the start everyone said if they got out of the group it would be a huge achievemnet and they did that.. The slating of players on here and manager is ridiculous, fairplay to them for getting out of the group its progress from last year, and add to the fact the manager had a few good players who made themselves unavailable and who knows how far they would have gone if every player was available? To say they'd be a better team with all the players gone senior is not true at all the proof is there in front of ye!!

Being realistic getting out of the group was probably the target and they achieved that so fairplay to all involved

71 Posts
    Sorry Hubba - I didnt mean to pick JC over Darren Lynch or judge a player. The point I was making was in reference to whoever wanted to dump all the players - we may all disagree about a few but most of the squad is what we would all pick.

I think guys outside the squad underestimated Clare - Im sure the guys involved wouldnt be that silly. Clare knocked us out as holders in 2010 in the Cross in a semi to get to the Wexford final the Clare guy referred to.

To be fair lads, the Tipp team would be better than all in the Cork group this year. The MSL game last year was a mistake from the line in not solving an obvious problem, but also a stonewall pen and a ball 5 feet over the line, so lets not retire all the guys from last year yet!

The big thing learned from last year and it seems to be, is the behaviour of the AUL committee. Anyone in the dressing room in Tipp will testify to the poor post match speech, and the numerous occassions since then when the AUL committee have tried to blame the OT defeat & subsequent appeal on the re-collapse of the AUL/MSL relationship. I hope they were better yesterday.
    Just remember, every kick makes me stronger and more determined. Indians always come back!

Some of the posts on here about Clare are very poor and misplaced but that I am going to assume is just down to ignorance of the Clare League.
    Clare club sides have over the years struggled to make an impression at national level. The clubs all have good players, some very good players and collectively some excellent players as was seen yesterday in the performance they produced, all the more impressive on a surface that is not used in Clare.
    Cork chose the surface as they felt it would be an advantage, what they didn't count on was the Clare set-up and the preparation put into this team for this competition. This was seen yesterday with the fitness and set-up, each player knowing their job, this wasn't evident in the Cork side who seemed to think that a few individuals would turn the game in their favour. Yes Cork had their periods of dominance but this was handled well by Clare, so much so that each time Clare attacked they looked like adding to the scoreline.
    Clare had a team performance yesterday, Cork had a few good performances from individuals, and the result reflected this.

So to those being derogatory( I am assuming these people are not directly involved with the Cork side) towards Clare I recommend you look at your own set-up and your collective opinion that ye shouldn't be losing to "the mighty Clare", well ye have, rather comprehensively, so show a bit of class and accept it for now and have a bit of grace in losing.

Well done to Clare yesterday and good luck with the remainder of the competition.

Also a mention to the referee yesterday, he handled the game very well.
    Last edited by First; 04/02/2013 at 11:44 AM.
    I'll update this next year.

41 Posts
    Its a tough defeat alright as there seemed to be a genuinely good buzz around the Aul team this year.I was envolved in 2 warm up games against them an I was for the most part very impressed by the players and management. Players were selected because they were playing well at the time rather than on reputation,which is very fair and practical. I think lessons will be learned from yeaterday and Id say the Aul team will be stronger for it next season,on and off the pitch.

Comments about losing to Clare are not on either and very disrespectful and for what its worth id like to apoligise to the Clare lads who have read these comments.There are no weak representitive sides in the open draw.I know what the standard is like in these sides,and Im well aware what the standard is like over all around the country and though we are improving we are still a bit behind and all the big 3's and 4's talk cant hide that.

The Aul is a league in transition and its going to take a few seasons before it settles down and takes shape again,not just because of teams that have left but because teams are developing as well and it takes a bit of time to settle.Like I'v said previously the last time it was like this was when Temple an Castleview an a few others went Msl.

On another note maybe now is a time to move on an stop referring to those who are no longer in the Aul.All you can do is select from what you have and constantly making references to those clubs is pointless and disrespectful to the clubs that are still in the Aul.

Corkgaffer interesting opinion but if i may, 1st Mr Keane made that famous statment "fail to prepare,prepare to fail".In these games preperation and information is everything.You said yourself that they had someone watching the game last Wenesday night.Fair dues to them if the did as what ever info was passed on must have influenced the Clare managers selection as they had a game plan based on what they had been told and obviously it worked yesterday. 2nd Mr Morinho said 99% of managers spend too much time thinking of there own team,and not enough on the opposition.The 1% win trophies because they spot the weakness in the opposition and exploit it to their gain. Kudos to the Clare manager if so.
    Their's only one Dinny Pop's.

24 Posts
    Well said 'First', Cork Aul have no right to think we should be beating Clare or any other divisional side. I'd be fairly sure everyone involved did their best. It wasn't good enough on the day. It happens, just get on with it, and show Donal a little respect for the effort he has put in.

21. Thanks From:

Quote Originally Posted by Radiostar View Post
    Well said 'First', Cork Aul have no right to think we should be beating Clare or any other divisional side. I'd be fairly sure everyone involved did their best. It wasn't good enough on the day. It happens, just get on with it, and show Donal a little respect for the effort he has put in.
    i agree donal will get it right he has a about 6 months done and he did quiet well so well done to all build on the 2nd half they had a right go .clare were better and did their homework also congrads to them.
    Last edited by 1fortheTeam; 04/02/2013 at 3:17 PM.

Coachford to surely stretch there lead at the top this weekend