"Ireland's number 1" really showed their class Friday night. Both fans and players.
Enjoy the Leinster Senior Cup, ye deserve that success!
"Ireland's number 1" really showed their class Friday night. Both fans and players.
Enjoy the Leinster Senior Cup, ye deserve that success!
Indeed we did, and because of it, we won the same amount of trophies this year as Sligo.Originally Posted by sligoman
NL 1st Division Champions 2006
NL Premier Division Champions 2010
NL Premier Division Champions 2011
Keep Tallaght Tidy, Throw your rubbish in the Jodi
Ten Years Not Out
to say some of the fans there following sligo on saturday night were daytrippers would be an understatement.
they didnt even stay to see sligo getting the league trophy!
and many i met were too concerned about losing a meaningless game to Rovers to enjoy winning the league. bizarre behaviour.
as i'm sure you are all well aware at this stage, the 17th minute fireworks intervention was to celebrate the 17 leagues Rovers have won to date.
it will take sligo forever and a day to knock Rovers "off their fuc*ing perch" as whiskeynose ferguson would say.
The sligo player dressed as john terry, along with the jimmy saville chants. charming behaviour and sure to bring back those fairweather fans.
Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce
I'd rather have day-tripper fans, a few of which may come back, than have fans who smash windows in a local pub and throw glass bottles at the people inside and assault at least one teenager also smashing a glass over his head.
I love the way you seem to be trying to justify the stuff thrown on the pitch too (near stewards and players and also stopping the game) as it was just to show ye won 17 leagues. Sure it was only a celebration, it's grand so. Maybe make a banner to tell us in future, I know it's a wild suggestion though so maybe not.
As for this:
If it makes you feel better thinking like that then well done, enjoy it. Hope you got the spaceship parked up ok at the Showgrounds btw
Last edited by sligoman; 29/10/2012 at 2:34 PM.
^I think he came by caravan rather than spaceship, a large number of people left at half time never mind the before the presentation, after viewing those wearing green and White colours trying to have the game called off in the first half they feared a pitch invasion to prevent the trophy being presented.
I sometimes wonder what kind of world view people at Shamrock have of themselves but down here many view them as ****estains on the knickers of humanity.
do you mean like this :
http://comeheretome.files.wordpress....ltras-tifo.jpg
Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce
not saying i doubt that this is what it was for but it seems a bit stupid. Whats the significance of 17 league titles and could it not have been celebrated in your own ground in the 17th minute of your opening home game?
The cynic in me says that it was minnowtastic to take away from the Sligo revelries and the complete cynic in me says that you'd also have liked for Sligo to get a nice fine for it. Good thing im not cynical...
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
I don't have any problem with Shams pyro. The Ireland's number 1 and 17 made them come across as bitter, miserable, and minnowism at its best. It's not uncommon for them to focus on us I don't really care though.
The only thing I'd really have a problem was them attacking the pub across from the ground. Few women got hit with glass and auld lads getting hit was cowardly.
Minnowism? Hardly in fairness.
Was Laws offered the manager job?
Quite pathetic that you should try and justify the behaviour of shams fans disrupting the game on 17 minutes for whatever reason - they were obviously bitter about Sligo Rovers winning the league. Big deal you won it 17 times. The disgusting behaviour of the 'fans' outside the ground and breaking windows in the local pub is a disgrace. I would be embarrassed to come on here and try to justify any of it, but then again why should I be surprised .... ?
As someone who was in Mooney's before and after the game, I'm sorry to shatter some innocence, but there were two sets of scrotes throwing bottles at each other outside. I was outside having a smoke when the Larry bus crowd came down the road, they both started giving it the green street sh*te at each other and they both reacted in the same neaderthal fashion.
Bottles came flying from both sides of the road, three windows got smashed, no bottles were thrown into the pub (btw sligoman).
Every club have their tw*t fans, but if you were to listen to some sligo fans on here you'd think they all go to mass before games and hold Padre Pio pictures in their hands at all times.
Last edited by Nailor; 30/10/2012 at 9:20 AM.
3 fans arrested before game
http://www.oceanfm.ie/sp/article_man...f_ireland_game
Now now Lads (and Lassies) lets not have another thread desend into "shams fans are scum / no we are not". Let fans tick the FOOT.IE shams excuse of choice (or incredulity)
(1) Could not be shams as no direct bus link between Tallaght and Sligo. Old but still comedy gold.
(2) never happened and any evidence/photos/eye witness accounts are all doctored to slur the good name of SRFC
(3) It was the pubs fault for (a) not having SAS trained doorstaff (b) steel window shutters (c) setting up business in Sligo
(4)SRFC have no idea who was involved and if they did they would take action* (*action may be pretend ban or up to a seat on the Board)
(5) sure its only a minority involved so lets all ignore it
(6) FAI will investigate the incident (as the bulge under the carpet begins to touch the roof)
(7) sure Bohs fans attacked a pub in Derry years ago so there.
As regards the guard of honour, it is a matter for the club. It is a simple gesture designing to show respect for the new Champions and the League we are all part of. Absolutely no surprise therefore to see shams not partake.
Last edited by marinobohs; 30/10/2012 at 1:55 PM.