Page 37 of 82 FirstFirst ... 27353637383947 ... LastLast

Thread: Close Season/Pre-Season Rumours

305 Posts
    Mick Cooke connected with the Lims job according to Wednesdays Irish indo.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...b-3323995.html

Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    Mick Cooke connected with the Lims job according to Wednesdays Irish indo.

http://www.independent.ie/sport/socc...b-3323995.html
    Mick Cooke has been mentioned the last week or so. Don't see any reason he would leave Drogheda unless we offered him a nice bit more than what he is on.

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Mick Cooke has been mentioned the last week or so. Don't see any reason he would leave Drogheda unless we offered him a nice bit more than what he is on.
    Thats a very obvious and compelling reason

Quote Originally Posted by Ezeikial View Post
    Thats a very obvious and compelling reason
    As in way more and not just offering him 100-200 more.

84 Posts
    I feel the Kevin Kilbane story more than just a rumour.

108 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Battery Rover View Post
    I feel the Kevin Kilbane story more than just a rumour.
    I was told he didn't rule it out on the Late Late Show on Friday night.

I also heard that Gary Dempsey is going back to Bray

Edit: Mentioned here that he has signed

1,104 Posts
    Maguire and Dempsey if he has gone, are huge losses to Waterford.

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    Maguire and Dempsey if he has gone, are huge losses to Waterford.
    Sure they are not meant to be entering the league next season!

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by GCdfc View Post
    True, it wouldn't be like a LOI club chairman to say one thing and do another.

1,825 Posts
    Stephen McLaughlin on the way to Forest

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish...forest-switch/
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Gary Dempsey (Waterford) and Hugh Douglas (UCD) both on there way to Bray if rumors are to be believed. Pretty sure the Dempsey one will happen, if it already hasn't happened and Douglas is from Bray so another strong possibility of it happening.

62 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Stephen McLaughlin on the way to Forest

http://www.rte.ie/sport/soccer/irish...forest-switch/
    Typical British reporters:

http://www1.skysports.com/football/n...cal-on-Tuesday

Hes a "non league" player!

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dillonman View Post

Would sicken your s**te.

I'm actually, thoroughly surprised that Sky Sports haven't picked up a bit more on the League of Ireland players to England thing.

84 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Blue Bear View Post
    Any idea if Roddy is holding anymore open trials? Collins is a very good signing, was very consistent at Monaghan, but only when kept fit!

Trials on the 5th January are open to anyone with scholarships one of the rewards. More details http://www.athlonetownfc.ie/?p=5701 and on the poster below.

Follow Us on Facebook and Twitter

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dillonman View Post

It's Sligo I feel sorry for. There they were thinking they'd won a league last season
    Out for a spell, got neglected, lay on the bench unselected.

Quote Originally Posted by GCdfc View Post
    Quote Originally Posted by Longfordian View Post
    True, it wouldn't be like a LOI club chairman to say one thing and do another.
    The chairman not wanting to be involved and the club not being in the league are two completely different things. He doesn't own the club and has no authority to pull the club from the league.

Regarding Maguire, I'm delighted for the lad, deserves his move and hopefully will do well. Not too bothered with Dempsey tbh, was good in games and scored a few goals, quality is there for sure but poor in too many other games, severe lack of effort in others imo.
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

Quote Originally Posted by TonyD View Post
    It's Sligo I feel sorry for. There they were thinking they'd won a league last season
    35 feckin years chasing that only to find out now...
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

Quote Originally Posted by blue til i die View Post
    The chairman not wanting to be involved and the club not being in the league are two completely different things. He doesn't own the club and has no authority to pull the club from the league.

Regarding Maguire, I'm delighted for the lad, deserves his move and hopefully will do well. Not too bothered with Dempsey tbh, was good in games and scored a few goals, quality is there for sure but poor in too many other games, severe lack of effort in others imo.
    From what I saw of Dempsey he stepped it up for ye in all the big games and he was up for first division player of the year also. He is a massive loss to ye and I'd be surprised if any other Waterford fan isn't too bothered like yourself. Himself and Maguire were the stand out players for ye and I feel if they had been out injured for any sustained period last year ye might have struggled to get the promotion playoff spot.

Only thing going against Dempsey is he struggled through a few games with injuries from what I was hearing, especially in one game against us in the RSC but pulled out performances for ye. I don't think he could do that in premier.

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    From what I saw of Dempsey he stepped it up for ye in all the big games and he was up for first division player of the year also. He is a massive loss to ye and I'd be surprised if any other Waterford fan isn't too bothered like yourself. Himself and Maguire were the stand out players for ye and I feel if they had been out injured for any sustained period last year ye might have struggled to get the promotion playoff spot.

Only thing going against Dempsey is he struggled through a few games with injuries from what I was hearing, especially in one game against us in the RSC but pulled out performances for ye. I don't think he could do that in premier.
    Have spoken to quite a few waterford supporters since the season ended who would feel the same. Not saying he hadnt a good season, he played very well in games and scored some great goals, but lack of effort in a number of games really peed people off. Saw quite a lot of games last season to judge him. Seani by far the bigger loss.

From his own point of view, it's a no brainer to go back to the premier surely, better players around him will let him sit in the middle and need to cover less ground.
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by peterpan View Post
    Heard that Roddy is in talks with his old pal Bisto about spearheading the promotion push next year.
    Played with Athlone under Liam Buckley before

Page 37 of 82 FirstFirst ... 27353637383947 ... LastLast