Ah tets come on, you have been using players quotes for your pro-trap stance for a long time.
Its somewhat akin to quoting Saddam Husseins right hand men during the Iraq war. Its all vested interests and what not.
I mean none of the other players are getting any air time, and probably don't want to worsen their chances further by speaking out, I'm sure between themselves, their friends and their families its well known how they feel about Trap.
Last edited by paul_oshea; 19/10/2012 at 12:54 PM.
Last edited by paul_oshea; 19/10/2012 at 12:56 PM.
Of course that would not be a great situation but if Trap started walking on eggshells because the likes of McCLean or Clark or Foley are upset with him, we might as well just give up - They are barely standing in the doorway of the dressing room ffs. Whether they should be or not is another debate but Trap picks the team, its what we pay him for.
Shane Long is the only guy in that list that I think deserves a little bit extra. Either selecting (my preference) or at least ensuring proper communication with him, so that he is fully aware of where he is in Traps plans (and that may have happened, Longs quote from a few games ago was a little out of context from what I have heard and was not a dig at the manager per se). Long may not be happy with that but it does not give reason for dressing room disharmony.
Gibson - Fcuk knows what goes on in his head to be honest.
Someone else posted Andrews comments may as well be translated as "Im in the first 11, therefore I back the Manager". Ditto could be said of those he has 'lost' in the dressing room, "I'm not in the team, therefore Im not behind the manager"......
Its probably not a popular view on here but there you have it.
Last edited by Junior; 19/10/2012 at 1:06 PM.
I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?
"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew
anything else that's available is hearsay, conjecture and opinion.
It really, really isn't.
Tipperary's Shane Long: "My spat with Trap is forgotten" - http://www.herald.ie/sport/soccer/my...e-3217547.html
A text from Waterford's Stephen Hunt was shown to the press that he had no problem with being left out of the squad VS Serbia, and his brother posted this on twitter: https://twitter.com/boyhunt/status/244128633059414016
A lot of tweets to me about Stephen and Trapitoni honestly nothing happened there they still talk! Just wasn't named in the squad!???
I have no idea how valid 3rd party information from unnamed sources are ( to be honest I don't read much of the print media ) - but are you seriously telling me you give even the slightest bit of weight to a player who is currently in favour writing an article in favour of the current set-up, knowing that, if that set up were to change, there is a possibility that he could fall out of favour ?
That is laughable and that article is not worth the paper its written on.
For what it's worth I'd tend to trust Andrews even despite his obvious reasons to support Trap. He could endorse Trap in other ways and he actually goes out of his way to negate any talk of a lost dressing room, when he could easily just come out with stuff like the players let the gaffer down.
But not losing the dressing room isn't the same thing as having the backing of all the dressing room. I'd be surprised if he does.
Also, let's not forget that the "dressing room" includes people like Green when fit and doesn't include Gibson right now.
I was referring to his thing about keane and doyle. I just take it that the english lads probably get on better with the dubs and the country lads would stick together!! I wasn't on about Trap! Doyler comes across as your typical unassuming country lad, the complete opposite of Keane really. long the same and i'm sure o'shea and the rest are too. I reckon dunnes parents are from the countryjoking!
The dressing room is a packed deck.
It's a moot point speculating whether Trap has the backing of the players he picks. The evidence of the whole package is there to be seen on the pitch. Trap is like a tragic Don Quixote figure out to revive a redundant type of football and bound tight by the rules of that game. Tardelli in the Sancho role of course.
I'd trust Andrews to deliver my future children. I think, possibly, there is a disconnect between the senior pros and the younger players and the older guys may not realise how much discontent there is among the talented youngsters. That said, even McClean was whipped into line fairly quickly.
Grand, until he starts making such a mess of it and we start geting absolute hammerings, repeatedly. He changed it, under duress, and we won 4-1. But do I trust him to hold the correct course and heal the divide he created, sadly, and I do mean sadly, no I do not. I think we have just forestalled the inevitable messy fallout but maybe saved a few quid. Key also, is the breathing space this gives Delaney to navigate a path out of it for himself.
I think it's something worth attaining clarification on since some fans and figures within the media are unfairly using it as a brush with which to beat Trap. If Trap had actually lost the dressing room, the situation would certainly be much worse than it is. As it is, he hasn't lost the dressing room and the situation is what it is; not as bad as it being made out by some.
Out of the FAI? or Out of the 'I Hired Trap, gave him a new contract, didnt fire him against popular opinion' problem?
If it was the former, then I'd be doubly pleased with the outcome of the last week.
The change 'under duress' - When has Trap folded under duress? He doesnt, isnt that what annoys a lot of you on here? He doesnt give a fcuk what the man in the street opinion is - All power to him I say.
The 4-1 victory - When hasnt he got a victory away against the lower seeds since he's been in charge? No thats right, it was business as usual.
It was a financial bomb ticking away under his ass and it has been fudged, stalled for a time when it will be less expensive. You know this as well as I do.
I didn't say he folded under duress did I ? I said he changed it. And a player, not any old player, a full back he has ignored for God knows how long, slams one on the top corner from outside the box (only rub with that for Trap was it required said full back being out of his own half)
All power to him indeed, right up to the point we are repeatedly embarrassed while ignoring ways to improve either because he wont look at those options through misguided arrogance of a fine career or because he cant be bothered to anymore, and was on the precipice before he would even consider such avenues.
It was a genuine clarification I was seeking. Yes of course I know the Trap Contract(s) are something JD is responsible for and something financially the FAI cannot get out of (on their own), I just wasnt sure whether you think JD thinks he can still steer this ship with or without Trap or you were implying he might be looking for a get out himself. You've cleared it up.
Semantics - He changed under duress / He folded under duress. Great goal from Wilson I agree, who didnt perform all that great on the night. Just as well O'Dea covered his ass on occasion whilst chipping in with a goal himself! - Okay playing Devils advocate a bit here, but Wilson playing wasnt what got us a result on the night (I know you havent said that explicitly) but Trap has proven to get results in these places time and again.
I think Stutts said it elsewhere, the FAI, the Media, We, are all within our rights to ask Trap 'to pull up his socks a bit' fair enough, of course there are improvements to be made, the best manager in the world can always look to improve. I think we are in a better position today than if we had sacked Trap on Wednesday - certainly for the rest of this campaign, which is where I think it should probably end.