Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Thread: Congratulations Sligo

427 Posts
    Congrats to all involved at Sligo Rovers. Knocking on the door a few years and they have now reached the promised land. Well deserved over the season and style of football that is a credit to the League

Congrats also to Pats on their contribution to an excellent match on Saturday, all in all a great advertisement for LOI

447 Posts
    bah humbug

131 Posts
    Well done, Sligo! Hope Champions' League outing goes well next season.

42 Posts
    I was just wondering how many games does a player have to play to earn a League winners medal? Would players who joined in the summer like Conneely or Buchanan played enough games. Does the sub keepers (Brush and Kelly - actually why so many sub keepers, we don't even bother with one at Dundalk :P ) receive a winners medal?
    Also do you receive a medal if you left the club during the summer, for example Boco.

447 Posts
    Kevin Doyle got one when we won the league in 2005 anyway.

Club gets x amount of medals, it's up to them what they do with them.

I got 2.

427 Posts
    Club gets x amount of medals, it's up to them what they do with them.

I got 2.
    Typical nouveau riche Limerick, flash buggers

Thanks for all the good will lads. The day had its flaws, particularly, as dong said, the halftime speeches that made it sound like it was in the bag (I was fuming throughout that). As for the penalty, I was on my feet roaring for it the instant he blocked it. It was one of those that I would have been livid if we didn't get it, but probably fairly annoyed if it was given against us. But it was at the very least justifiable. Doesn't matter how close he was to Peers - he jumped across with the aim of blocking the ball, and did so with his hand, which was outstretched.

Fair play to Pats - only team that really pushed us every time we played them. The main thing for us now is to consolidate. We're off to a good start, with a fair chunk of that squad already signed for next season - after the cup final last year everyone was out of contract. But anyway I think I'll worry about next year later.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

Deserved winners, the best team all season. Well done and enjoy your one season of glory

447 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fivesilver View Post
    Fair play to Pats - only team that really pushed us every time we played them.
    *cough*

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Deserved winners, the best team all season. Well done and enjoy your one season of glory
    ............As opposed to your many seasons of begrudgery ?

Quote Originally Posted by marinobohs View Post
    ............As opposed to your many seasons of begrudgery ?
    I have never known a Shamrock Rovers fan to be anything other than graceful in defeat

386 Posts
    Pats got a penalty in the last minute of the first league game that many people thought wasn't so as they say these things even themselves out over the course of the season (I thought both penalties that were given were correct to be given in the 2 games).

Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    *cough*
    Yep, that was unfair on Cork and Bray - put it down to euphoria and a bit too much celebrating.
    "Even if the wind stops to blow
    Even if the sea ceases to flow
    Even if the sun ceases to rise
    The name of Sligo Rovers will shine and shine forever like the morning star glittering in the sky."

305 Posts
    Congrats to Sligo Rovers.

2,612 Posts
    Belated Congrats Sligo. Very happy for you. Good to see it leave the Pale...

238 Posts
    Congrats Sligo, I really enjoyed the game at the weekend, fantastic game of football and if barstoolers watched it they would have seen 2 quality passing sides in front of a good crowd playing football on the deck.

Great record only 1 defeat so far this season.

Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Great record only 1 defeat so far this season.
    I'd like it to end that way but don't think it will given the celebrations. Oh well.

238 Posts
    I'd like it to end that way but don't think it will given the celebrations. Oh well.
    Yeah, I hear ye have a few injuries/suspensions for the Drogs game at weekend.

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sam_Heggy View Post
    Yeah, I hear ye have a few injuries/suspensions for the Drogs game at weekend.
    Is 'injuries/suspensions' the new 'tired and emotional' ? (as in tired and emotional as a newt)

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast