Thread: Our lads 3-0 The other lot

Our lads 3-0 The other lot

Good solid start to the qualifying campaign I thought, without being overly spectacular.

Cyprus didn't offer much at all going forward and threatened our goal maybe twice, it was good of Shay to be on alert for the only attempt on target and O`Brien was much better on the ball than I seem to remember him being. Carr got forward and linked well with Reider, KC didn't have much to do at all and Josh almost scored with a header, but had no defensive work really.

Reider adapted well to his role on the right where it paid off for us that he was given license to roam and counteract their overloading of the midfield - whilst taking pressure off Duff to create who had two men on him all day long. Duff did really well today I thought, considering he wasn't given 5 yards without being fouled or double tackled or otherwise. Kavanagh had a good game, his range of passing was very useful and I wouldn't worry about him playing against Switzerland, despite not being a big fan of his beforehand. KK took up good positions going forward and battled, I'm sure he'll have bigger tests to come.

Up in the business end, Morrison missed an array of chances but bagged one, maybe a more in form striker would have got two or three, but he did well today and looked really thrilled that he scored for us. Actually, the most I've seen us celebrate a goal since McAteer v Holland way back. Robbie looked a half a yard off being match fit, which probably meant to downfall of a lot of his tricks at the end, but was still effective and fairly dangerous. Good to see him get level with Niall, hopefully he can break it and kick on come Wednesday, 90 mins today should have done him a lot of good.

Overall, I thought that was as good as we could have expected today. The amount of goals is a bit of a lottery depending on our luck and their keeper, but Ireland must have had close to 20 chances and Cyprus had about 3. Positives to take away from the game into the big game: Reid being brilliant again, Morrison breaking his duck, Kavanagh being able cover or better, Robbie getting some football under his belt.

Ade

Pretty good summary there but I have to single out Kilbane as having been aweful today. His passing was so far behind the likes of Reid and even Kavanagh (who I was extremly impressed by) it was ridiculous. I'm probably going to be slaughtered for saying this cause I know half the people on here love him, but my god, he is absolutly crap.

I think that what should happen is that Reid (he did most of his damage from central positions today) should move into the middle and Finnan should come in on the right for the Swiss game.

On another note, good to see Duff on the left, hope this playing him up front crap is gone for good. And fair play to Kav, I've been one to knock him in the past but on todays showing he is a far better player than Kilbane or Holland in the middle, to think he has wasted his career in Division 2 when he could have been partnering Roy for the last 8 years.

My thoughts of the game :

Reid - man of the match
    O'Shea & O'Brien - Very good
    Kilbane & Kavanagh - Poor
    Keane - Shocking
    Morrison - Played well
    Duff - Very good 2nd half

Quote Originally Posted by Condex
    Kavanagh - Poor
    Kilbane beside him was aweful but even me, someone who wouldn't have considered Kavanagh for the national side in a million years can admit that he had an excellent game today, his passing was spot on (unlike the donkey beside him) and he worked hard and won lots of tackles.

Quote Originally Posted by carnstien
    Kilbane beside him was aweful but even me, someone who wouldn't have considered Kavanagh for the national side in a million years can admit that he had an excellent game today, his passing was spot on (unlike the donkey beside him) and he worked hard and won lots of tackles.
    You were obviously watching a differnet match, Kilbane was poor but Kavanagh was not far behind, one good pass in the 1st half.

Keane, Holland, Miller (when fit) are well ahead.

Carnstein - Condex has openly slated Kavanagh on a few occasions and even if he was MOM today he would still say bad things about him. He did give away a few balls but he certainly won more than he lost.

BTW, Kavanagh was been played out of position so you'd have to expect a few hiccups. Same goes for Killer.
    Last edited by eirebhoy; 04/09/2004 at 5:21 PM.

182 Posts
    You were obviously watching a differnet match
    All the people in the pub and all the people on telly thought Kavanagh was one of the best players on the pitch. Indeed, we must have been all been watching a different match to the one that you were watching.

Kilbane had a few good moments, but most of the time it seemed as though he wasn't playing in the match. A bit of a Matt Holland 'gone missing' performance from Kilbane today. Perhaps he's just not a centre-midfielder? Reid showed what he could do in the centre of the pitch in the first half. He was orchestrating attacks in the centre with Kavanagh covering for him and tidying things up nicely. This left Carr exposed on the right, so I thought that the redundant Kilbane could have come off for Finnan at half time, with Reid switching to the centre, where he was so effective anyway.

Given - 7 Did what was asked.
    O'Shea - 7 Ditto
    Kenny - 7 Ditto.
    O'Brien - 7 Ditto
    Carr - 6 Seems to be lacking sharpness.
    Duff - 7.5 Didn't play great, yet still managed two assists!
    Kavanagh - 7.5 A captain-like performance from Graham. Organised the midfield and played decisive, efficient passes.
    Kilbane - 6 Nowhere to be seen, but gets a 6 for effort.
    Reid - 8 Looked excellent when drifting into a Deco-like free role in the centre.
    Morisson - 7 Great header, and some very poor shots. Mixed performance.
    Keane - 6 Obviously lacking match fitness, looked off the pace today.

Quote Originally Posted by eirebhoy
    Carnstein - Condex has openly slated Kavanagh on a few occasions and even if he was MOM today he would still say bad things about him. He did give away a few balls but he certainly won more than he lost.

BTW, Kavanagh was been played out of position so you'd have to expect a few hiccups. Same goes for Killer.
    I have nothing personal against Kavanagh if he was man of the match I would be happy for him, today he was just OK against very limited opposition.

I'm going to the game on Wednesday and I really hope he is man of the match against the Swiss. I was at the last Swiss match and from what I remember of the central midfield partnership of Halland & Healey then, they were absolutely crap.

3-0, absolutley delighted for Morrison, bring on the Swiss.

3,488 Posts
    Kilbane beside him was aweful
    Ummm...You do know that an "aweful" performance is one which inspires awe - i.e. a brilliant one?!

Thought Kilbane and Kavanagh did well in the centre. Kavanagh took a bit much out of the ball at times, but spread the play well. Just as long as he's not let near a set-piece again!

Morrison missed a few good chances, but in fairness, he was there to miss them, unlike Keane. Delighted to see his goal go in - hopefully will lift a weight off him.

Duff got better as the game went on, Reid had a very good game, and the defence was very solid on the very rare occasions it was threatened. Probably the most comfortable win under Kerr (the friendly against Canada aside), makes a change from scraping past Albania with a last-minute goal!

Given - 7 Didnt have much to do but what he did he did well.
    O'Shea - 7 Got forward well, nearly scored twice and defencively untested
    Kenny - 8 Himself and O'Brien are forming a great partnership
    O'Brien - 8 See Kenny, obviously there's biggest tests to come though.
    Carr - 7 Got forward well and linked up with Reid, gives the width that playing Reid on the right sacrafices.
    Duff - 7.5 Came into it more as the game went on but he set up two goals and had his moments. I'm glad Kerr is seing sense and playing him on the left.
    Kavanagh - 8 Before this I wasn't a big fan but he was excellent today. Always had time on the ball, won tackles and passed well. Lacking a bit in the final third imo but has made a name for himself today as a good option in the middle.
    Kilbane - 4 Awful passing, awful shooting, did nothing. Worked hard as ever but lacks quality and if that's getting exposed against Cyprus then that's not a good sign.
    Reid - 9 What I've been suggesting we do with him all along Great passer, great bursts of pace and dribbling and can open any defence. The goal? Magic, the only word for it.
    Morisson - 7 Worked his arse off and does alot of donkey work, the best man to play beside Keane doubtless. Missed chances but didn't let it faze him and took his goal superbly
    Keane - 4 He was awful really. Unfrortunately with Robbie, when he lacks sharpness it really shows because he's always trying so much. Still, can't slag him off too much because he's a top player, hopefully he's blown the cobwebs out now and can really perform against the Swiss and break that record.

Subs -

Alan Lee - 6 Had a good run but isn't exactly gifted. A grafter, and a decent option off the bench/.
    Maybury - Not on on long enough or involved enough to rate but looked decent enough.
    Finnan - 7 Got alot of good ball into the box and did alot going forward. Wont oust Carr while playing right mid or not at all at club level though.

As for Kerr, he got it spot on with the team selection imo. The whole performance was excellent against an average enough team and 3-0 flattered Cyprus. When we've our top central mid field options available then we'll have a very very good team imo.

199 Posts
    I thought Finnan done well when he came on, I think he should have started at RB.

Is it likely Holland will be fit for Wed? if so I cant see Kerr dropping Kilbane which leaves Kavanagh who I thought done very well today.

Quote Originally Posted by JGKyne
    I thought Finnan done well when he came on, I think he should have started at RB.

Is it likely Holland will be fit for Wed? if so I cant see Kerr dropping Kilbane which leaves Kavanagh who I thought done very well today.
    Kavanagh was the better of the two. If one of them gets dropped it should not be him.

have seen morrison on a couple of occasions with ireland and with birmingham and he must be the worst player that ever wore the green

fact

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Ummm...You do know that an "aweful" performance is one which inspires awe - i.e. a brilliant one?!
    If you want to get smart, I think you'll find that aweful is not actually a word at all, so if you are going to correct my spelling/grammer, at least know what you are talking about.

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner
    have seen morrison on a couple of occasions with ireland and with birmingham and he must be the worst player that ever wore the green

fact
    Coludnt agree more. He has the Andy Cole's about when he gets to goal. He'll take every 1 out of 10 chances he gets.

only1kilbane
    given 8- made a great save in second half after having nothing to do for so long.
    carr7- did well enough would liked to have seen him making more runs forward
    oshea7- did well enough again but like carr a bit more adventourous would have been good
    kenny8- same consistent performance as ever
    obrien9- brilliant performance looked very composed on the ball
    reid9- how nobody payed 5mill on him is a bit mad ? liam brady in the making
    kav7- did the dogwork well looked a bit lost when going forward though
    kilbane8- looking more and more at ease in centre mid with every game
    duff8- showed some glimpses of what capable of. good to see mourinho there to watch him
    morrison8- good game put a lot of hard work in and great to see him score
    keane6- not one of robbies best but it will sharpen him up for wed

Pretty good summary there but I have to single out Kilbane as having been aweful today...
    I don't usually agree with you, and I'm not going to start now , but I agree that Kilbane didn't play well either, a lot of huff and puff, but he contributed only slightly going forward, but then Duff and Reid carried that mantle very well. I'd be worried slightly worried against the Swiss, although I don't think they're much cop either after watching them against a terrible Faroes side.

Have to take issue with the Kilbane as worst player tag though, Robbie Keane had a nightmare, definitely the worst Irish player on the day, still, it's a game under his belt which means he has one and a half since injury. Roll on the record broken on wednesday.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by Condex
    My thoughts of the game :

Reid - man of the match
    O'Shea & O'Brien - Very good
    Kilbane & Kavanagh - Poor
    Keane - Shocking
    Morrison - Played well
    Duff - Very good 2nd half
    Spot on Condex, agree with those ratings. I'd put Carr into the 'Poor' category as well. The man is brainless when it comes to his final ball. Twice he should have drilled the ball low across the box, the 2nd of which would have been a definate goal for Duff, but twice he chipped it into the 'keepers hands. Compare that to Finnans crosses when he came on, which were excellent in comparison. Thought Carr was also unwilling to run into space at times, even when he had the whole right flank at his mercy. Not good enough, and must improve for the bigger games ahead.

Also, no way was Kavanagh "excellent". He did the simple things right, played a good game, but offered us nothing new. He did nothing major to catch the eye. He's good for backup and on a par with Holland for that role, but the latter has more experience and contributes the odd goal.

Robbie Keane - diabolical. We're lucky Morrison played as well as he did 'cos we would have been up **** creek otherwise!

Morrison really p1sses me off. Okay he did well for the goal, and had another few chances (he should defintely have put another one away), but its when he gets the ball in other areas that proves his downfall.

Too many times he goes out wide to get the ball, and then when he gets it, hasn't a clue how to use it. Or else, he doesn't do enough to get the ball, and the full back will win it before him. He's also a loud mouth always giving out to other players when the ball doesn't come to him, but I for one wouldn't blame the others for not passing to him out wide.
    UCD sha-la-la