622 Posts
    Lets hope so!

205 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    ET preview says Maguire is "doubtful". Boost for Longford if so.
    I maimed him.

COME ON THE TOWN!
    Sporting F*ck All!

106 Posts
    on last nights showing, you didnt do a great job. .

Wasn;t there but judging by extratime the second red was dubious. We will probably be back there for a playoff and if we give a good account of ourselves with 9 men we have every chance of progressing. Come on the Town!

861 Posts
    I said to Martinho on the way up that maguire is certain to play that he was rated as doubtful last time we played and he played so I wasn't surprised at all. He is a wonderful player and he will be in the championship for sure next season.

You couldn't have asked for anymore from the players last night every single one of them were superb especially tommo and bermo. Tommo took his goal brilliantly and we could have been have been 3 up if we took our chances.

Start of the second half we came out very slow and sat too deep and they punished us. Hylo who had had a great game up until now made an awful mistake and maguire equalized. Then disaster struck. Maguire who was tearing us apart went on an amazing run and just as he went to shoot willo mcdonagh tackled him. It was never a red card! Then aussie got sent off from the bench for apparently squaring up to the 4th official. They took the lead as expected then but after that we still gave it absoutely everything and 3 minutes later griffiths equalizsd with a free kick! We were on top then and should have gone in front from a brilliant mick Lee corner but the man advantage was too much and maguire scored one of the best solo run goals you will ever see in loi and a minute from the end he got his hattrick with a penalty that he won and took himself. Griffiths hit the bar after that but it was too late.

The atmosphere was amazing last night and it really was a brilliant game. Credit to all the lads who created such a fantastic atmosphere and we even got some new songs our of it.

96 Posts
    Not here to **** stir, honest!

I thought last night showcased just how good LOI can be. It was a really good game. Ye clearly were the better side first half, and we shaded the second. I would disgaree with some of your anaylsis, but I guess we both have our blinkers on.

Longford are without doubt the best team we have played this season, and it looks llike we'll be seeing a bit more of ye yet before the season is out. The difference between us last night, apart from the card, was Seani Maguire. I doubt we'll have him for long, but its a privilege to watch a player in that kind of form.

861 Posts
    Fair play to ya Gormacha. Games like that need to be shown to the doubters what a cracking game in a good stadium with a fantastic atmosphere.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

It was a super game to watch if you were a neutral.. I dont fancy our chances in the playoffs tbh if gary shaw or dan purdy had played last night I think we would have won... We just dont have anyone to match sean maguire up front.

I have made my mind up on player of the yr for us I think Tomo Crawley is the man for me. He has being superb for us and how Pats let him go I will never know...He has scored two super goals in a row for us

in other news I heard at the game last night and it has being confirmed on his twitter page that Niall O'Reilly has being released. I am not surprised after Aidan Collins was signed someone had to go and it was him. he only made one appearance this season which was a few wks ago
    Last edited by Martinho II; 22/09/2012 at 7:48 PM.

1,104 Posts
    Yeah he got a bit angry on Twitter the other week too when he wasn't even picked for the bench. Meh, he's nothing special we're not short of defenders anyway. Haverty is back training soon it seems.

205 Posts
    I always rated O'Reilly and I'm sorry to see him go.
    Sporting F*ck All!

i wonder will havo be back before the end of the season?

861 Posts
    Nelly was a headless chicken defensively no point in having him on the wage bill if he's not gona play. Collins has been superb so far.