Page 19 of 35 FirstFirst ... 9171819202129 ... LastLast

Thread: Clubs divided over future LOI format?

Jaysus, we're screwed if Cherry Orchard join!
    Who, UCD or the league in general. Is this still rumour or what? Is there any truth to it at all? Nothing on their website that i can see anyway.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    The obvious negatives of Letterkenny and Fanad will probably we weighed against the possibility of that 6/7 team First Division. You'd be worried the FAI will go all in on the short term solution of letting any interested club in, and in a few years we'll have a couple more Monaghans.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by BonnieShels View Post
    Cherry Orchard joining would be insane.
    Cherry Orchard in the LOI makes more sense than Mervue and Salthill both, but it's still a terrible idea.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan View Post
    Cherry Orchard in the LOI makes more sense than Mervue and Salthill both, but it still a terrible idea.
    How...?

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gufcfan View Post
    Cherry Orchard in the LOI makes more sense than Mervue and Salthill both, but it's still a terrible idea.
    But that shouldn't be an argument for it. As a Ballyfermot native and a Cherryer fan I would have welcomed it as a kid... but I can't see what another senior Dublin club in the catchment area of Pat's (And with a direct bus to Tallaght) can bring to the league as it currently stands.

Adding clubs for the craic just because you failed miserably to run a league properly and have become desperate IS insane.

At least Mervue and Salthill had the A League to use for progression.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face View Post
    Who, UCD or the league in general. Is this still rumour or what? Is there any truth to it at all? Nothing on their website that i can see anyway.
    UCD obviously. We've taken a huge amount of players from Cherry Orchard in the past.

56 Posts
    I heard that some attempt to pay them back but obviously it wasn't acceptable. I don't know much more, and nobody else seems to know, the sad and maddening thing is that the club has produced (and is producing) some very promising players but with no senior outlet at the moment all this talent is lost to the club.
    The thing is that I miss and don't miss the LOI, I don't miss the perennial s**** that seems to be endemic to Irish club football; I do miss the buzz around match nights though, I miss travelling to away games etc.
    Above all I want a senior outlet back for my club, I don't really care at this stage what level it is at but it represents the best opportunity for my club to get back on it's feet.
    ''and I for one welcome our new insect overlords''

448 Posts
    my information is almost a year old, I'd heard that Greg had agreed to several repayment schedules that Cobh fell through on and at that point he just wanted what was owed to him and was not willing to agree to another schedule.

I'm not a Greg sympathiser by the way, I'm delighted hes no longer involved with my football club, only player paid in full by TNB afaik

Lads Cherry Orchard don't even have dressing rooms. The schoolboy set up is almost completely seperate to the LSL set up (similar to the old Home Farm system)

Thats not to say there aren't people involved who don't think they're the world's best football club

448 Posts
    I'd doubt they would be playing at their own facility should they get a license. More than likely theyd be looking to rent Richmond or Dalymount Park

But the point is, if they've been a top intermediate side for decades and still haven't arranged dressing rooms, what makes people think they'll spend at least 100k putting a team into the LOI?

Richmond is clearly the closest ground. I'm sure SDCC would like them in Tallaght too. They'll be playing in front of 5 people if they play in Dalymount

Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    rumours:

Newry, GUST, Fanad and as unbelievable as it sounds.... Cherry Orchard
    GUST have made an expression of interest, not a rumour

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    But the point is, if they've been a top intermediate side for decades and still haven't arranged dressing rooms, what makes people think they'll spend at least 100k putting a team into the LOI?

Richmond is clearly the closest ground. I'm sure SDCC would like them in Tallaght too. They'll be playing in front of 5 people if they play in Dalymount
    Maybe the club colours will confuse the Phibsboro massive!

Sure they can tog out in the Leisure Centre or Ballyfermot United's Social Club and play in the Lawns. Simples.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

448 Posts

I dont expect they'll get a license, that doesn't mean they haven't expressed an interest. I'd believe who I heard it from. The fact that a Harps fan heard the same would also add credence to the idea.

3,491 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    The fact that a Harps fan heard the same would also add credence to the idea.
    That's a bit like saying Mark's Gospel backs up Matthew's though.
    Last edited by pineapple stu; 22/10/2012 at 12:36 PM.

Yeah, sorry wasn't dismissing the rumour (which I've heard too). Just pointing out why its laughable

777 Posts
    A First division containing Fanad, Letterkenny, Finn Harps and Newry would be fabulous news.....

.....for the bus company that drives Wexford youths to games. (or do they still have thier own bus?)

448 Posts
    That's a bit like saying Mark's Gospel backs up Matthew's though.
    well it does a bit! two different sources and all that, and Cork and Ballybofey are fairly well separated. Doesn't mean its true, just makes it more likely.

448 Posts
    Yeah, sorry wasn't dismissing the rumour (which I've heard too). Just pointing out why its laughable
    oh agree fully. plus you know the fact that they are famous as a nursery school for sending players to England rather than the LOI. It actually might make sense to get them on board from that point of view

I know, lets call them Dublin City!

448 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    A First division containing Fanad, Letterkenny, Finn Harps and Newry would be fabulous news.....

.....for the bus company that drives Wexford youths to games. (or do they still have thier own bus?)
    don't forget Dundalk....

Page 19 of 35 FirstFirst ... 9171819202129 ... LastLast