Page 12 of 35 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast

Thread: Clubs divided over future LOI format?

Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    I think it's a case of people looking to nitpick and find any reason to criticise anyone who looks at the league even slightly sideways.
    And what's that supposed to mean!?!?!?!?

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    And what's that supposed to mean!?!?!?!?
    Whatever you want it to mean

24 Posts
    this is what a mervue utd player thinks of the Galway suitation
    "The madness of the current situation. Is summed up perfectly by a Galway native who has played for all three clubs . Thanks Cian mcbrien who sums it up perfectly in his post on Facebook last night.

After getting spanked 7-1 by Derry City tonight! What can only be a further illustration in the gulf of class that exists between professional and amature players, i thought this galway soccer struggle can't get worse until i heard tonite that mervue are looking to be accepted into the league again next year. Mervue and SD Galway need to pack it in for themselves! BRING BACK GALWAY UNITED!!! A fan base and the ability to offer semi professional terms can only improve the standard of loi football in Galway!! Not this ****e of expecting players to travel around the country for nothing to be spanked every 2nd week. Mervue and SD points make 28 in the league and the next team are athlone who are on 29. If thats not proof enough i dont know what is!!
    Last edited by A face; 17/09/2012 at 1:24 PM. Reason: Put in quote tags

Oh yeah, we should defo make decisions on the structures of the league based on facebook posts of players who've just been thumped 7-1

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Guitd View Post
    "The madness of the current situation. Is summed up perfectly by a Galway native who has played for all three clubs . Thanks Cian mcbrien who sums it up perfectly in his post on Facebook last night.

One of his reasons for wanting it is because he wants more money for playing so not exactly a great lad to be taking advice from is it.

46 Posts
    Is there a deadline for the clubs to agree on structure of the league so it will be changed to be changed? I presume clubs will need to know soon, so they can put budgets in place for next season.

Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    One of his reasons for wanting it is because he wants more money for playing so not exactly a great lad to be taking advice from is it.
    He wants MORE than a tenner a month?

Quote Originally Posted by Trainee View Post
    Is there a deadline for the clubs to agree on structure of the league so it will be changed to be changed? I presume clubs will need to know soon, so they can put budgets in place for next season.
    Haha, of course not. The clubs will find out hours before the first ball is kicked and will be grateful for the advanced warning.

Quote Originally Posted by Guitd View Post
    This lad is at Mervue for about a month. He played with Salthill all of his underage career. He has a bad attitude and absoloutely zero respect for the club he represents and his teammates. He has hardly been tearing up trees since he arrived at Mervue, I've been told that the goalkeepers are even fitter than him.

Lets not forget Mervue went down to Waterford and won 4 nil in the last 16.

Of course all the GUST heads are jumping on this as more proof as to why they should be running a Galway based club this year. They're going to sweep in and sign John Russell and Stephen O Donnell and Vinny Faherty etc. Well lads, don't expect to be paid on time or at all.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    He wants MORE than a tenner a month?

No-one forced him to sign for Mervue did they? And getting more money is not going to improve him as a player will it?

After getting spanked 8-0 by Sligo tonight! What can only be a further illustration in the gulf of class that exists between professional set ups and our own, i thought this galway soccer struggle can't get worse until i heard tonite that gust are looking to be accepted into the league again next year. Galway United need to pack it in! GIVE SALTHILL AND MERVUE A CHANCE!!! A small bit of organisation and can maybe improve the standard of loi football in Galway!! Not this ****e of expecting players to travel around the country for nothing to be spanked every 2nd week. Galway United have 6 points and the nearest club is Drogheda on 25. If thats not proof enough i dont know what is!!
    There, a small bit of tweeking and it could have been a Galway United player talking last season.

What's the point of all the bickering and petty point scoring are ye not trying to get into bed together?!

2,446 Posts
    What arse did you pull a tenner a month out of? Far as I know they get paid in petrol vouchers.

Haha, of course not. The clubs will find out hours before the first ball is kicked and will be grateful for the advanced warning.
    Anybody care to point me at any recommendations the clubs have made to the FAI re next season??

Anyone??

Exactly.

2,771 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Oh yeah, we should defo make decisions on the structures of the league based on facebook posts of players who've just been thumped 7-1
    Even people that seem like they shouldn't make sense, sometimes do...

I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

115 Posts
    There, a small bit of tweeking and it could have been a Galway United player talking last season.

What's the point of all the bickering and petty point scoring are ye not trying to get into bed together?!
    That's true but it's not exactly like it was some grand master plan of GUST to take over the running of the LoI Premier club with about 5 days notice to the start of the season.
    The easy thing would have been to pull out early on in the season like Monaghan did. In fact in hindsight it would have saved the supporters a lot of money as we ended up not being granted a licence anyway for the following season and paid off some of the debts built up by previous boards of the club. I don't think anyone has truly acknowledged that, certainly not in the FAI. It is unfair of anyone to judge the actions of GUST on the 2011 LoI Prem season (FFS look at the joke of the situation of even trying to sack the manager!) GUST should be judged on the way things have been run since then and in to the u19 season this year.
    The fact that Galway United Ltd didn't apply for a licence when GUST withdrew their support at the end of last season shows the situation we were dealing with. In Cork TNB was determined to hold on to the licence himself but the FAI, rightly, denied him this and gave it to FORAS.
    You have to ask why the same didn't happen in Galway? The reason is that the FAI felt that fans would just start supporting the newly branded SD Galway. This experiment clearly hasn't worked so it will be interesting to see what solution the FAI come up with now.

As you say though Lim, there's a lot of dirty washing being aired in public but I think there is a frustration that outside of Galway no-one really knows what's going on. A lot of fans I meet when going to LoI matches in Dublin seem to think that SD Galway is Galway United. MNS have never once dealt with the issue on their show and I'd be pretty sure none of the print media have either.
    I phoned the speaking clock to hear a voice speak, it said - "At the tone you will be very much alone"

Am I remembering right that Galway had a bigger budget last year than 3-4 of the other clubs (Drogs, Bray, etc)?

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by JC_GUFC View Post
    GUST should be judged on the way things have been run since then .

How can they be judged on the running of a club that is not there?

[Of course all the GUST heads are jumping on this as more proof as to why they should be running a Galway based club this year. They're going to sweep in and sign John Russell and Stephen O Donnell and Vinny Faherty etc. Well lads, don't expect to be paid on time or at all.[/QUOTE]

These players have all been fully paid up by Galway United FC/GUST, and have also been very supportive of GUST in the national papers, social media and in person to our members.

19. Thanks From:

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Patrick Dunne View Post

These players have all been fully paid up by Galway United FC/GUST, and have also been very supportive of GUST in the national papers, social media and in person to our members.

There are other players that are owed money though.

Plenty of them

Im sure it was the same when the various different football clubs that used the "Limerick" name went out of business over the years.

Those in glasshouses.........

Page 12 of 35 FirstFirst ... 2101112131422 ... LastLast