Thread: FAI cup and LOI Prem latest scores 24/8/2012

382 Posts
    Dreadful crowds all over the country last night, possibly the worst ever at this stage of the cup in the history of the competition?

Tallaght 1,400
    Dalymount 474
    Tolka 442
    Drogs 350
    Malahide 300
    UCD 186
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by dong View Post
    It's a pity all the Shams lads on here who knew so much about our club, it's new manager, finances or lack thereof, ticketing policy, poor squad size (that they couldn't take advantage of); who hoped so fervently that Boco would leave, that Quigley would leave, that Cook would take everyone to Accrington, that Norths injury would get them back into the race, even that another club might go to the wall so they might accumulate a few more points seem to have boycotted this forum now.
    They are doing so well in the cup and in the race for Europe, do they not wish to discuss this with their fellow LoI supporters?
    dfx, Dave SRFC, HulaHoop, Askmehoop....where are you now??

I'm at home at the moment why do you want to know?

445 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Nah Nah Nah Nah View Post
    Thought Chambers was man of the match.
    I would have said Ndo for MOTM. I don't think he has ever given the ball away, superb performance last night.

It was a good game for a 0-0, 2 good passing sides that cancelled each other out. I think it's good for the league that the Champions will come from those 2 teams. Sligo have it wrapped up now.

Great Sligo crowd down as well. They brought more to Richmond this season than both Shels and Bohs did.
    Here on a technicality.

230 Posts
    Great win for us at UCD yesterday, but main talking point is Buttimer and his mad decisions.

Booked Stephen McLaughlin for slipping, presumably because he thought it was a dive. Booked O'Connor for something, no-one knew what, and another UCD player (McCabe?) for kicking the ball away, about a couple of metres.
    Things got more bizarre towards the end of the game. Barry Molloy fouls a UCD player, Buttimer books Stewart Graecan for kicking the ball away, second yellow; he's off. It was actually Gerard Doherty who kicked the ball. As soon as the card is shown, the lineman's flag goes up, calls Buttimer over, presumably tells him it was Doherty who kicked the ball. Half the Derry squad, including Doherty, say it was him who kicked it as well. Buttimer then books Doherty, but doesn't take back Graecan's yellow.
    Mental stuff. I give up with man. There's always an issue when we get him, especially in the cup.
    Heard he's retiring this season, fecking hope so.

Bah, anyway, in the quarters. Grand job.

400 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by PartySaint View Post
    I would have said Ndo for MOTM. I don't think he has ever given the ball away, superb performance last night.

It was a good game for a 0-0, 2 good passing sides that cancelled each other out. I think it's good for the league that the Champions will come from those 2 teams. Sligo have it wrapped up now.

Great Sligo crowd down as well. They brought more to Richmond this season than both Shels and Bohs did.
    I certainly thought Joey was our best player but I was very impressed with Chambers again. Joey was player of the second half for sure. Was strange watching him during the European game when he wasn't able to outmuscle who he was up against.

Will be absolutely gutted if we don't win the league from here

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire View Post
    Things got more bizarre towards the end of the game. Barry Molloy fouls a UCD player, Buttimer books Stewart Graecan for kicking the ball away, second yellow; he's off.
    Bah, anyway, in the quarters. Grand job.

He was brutal but I think you'll find Graecen made the initial foul and it was for that that he picks up his second yellow card. Doherty is then booked afterwards for kicking the ball away, check on MNS on monday.

Quote Originally Posted by oriel View Post
    Dreadful crowds all over the country last night, possibly the worst ever at this stage of the cup in the history of the competition?

Tallaght 1,400
    Dalymount 474
    Tolka 442
    Drogs 350
    Malahide 300
    UCD 186
    Those figures tell a sorry tale of where its all at right now. Hopefully attendances will pick up now coming into Autumn.

382 Posts
    I'm told the Malahide figure can be revised up to 450, but thats still just over 500 on avg for these games. I know all clubs do not allow season tickets entry, but that's no excuse. Also its no good either to the smaller away club who get a pittance of the gate.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), first Irish club to win points in a group stage in Europe (2016).

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by noddy102 View Post
    He was brutal but I think you'll find Graecen made the initial foul and it was for that that he picks up his second yellow card. Doherty is then booked afterwards for kicking the ball away, check on MNS on monday.
    So presumably Buttimer was lying when he told Greacen that he was booking him for kicking the ball away, hence the 'robust' protests from the rest of the Derry team?
    Tifo poles, sausage rolls and a few goals.

The Brandy Blogs, back and blogging the 2010 season

Quote Originally Posted by MariborKev View Post
    So presumably Buttimer was lying when he told Greacen that he was booking him for kicking the ball away, hence the 'robust' protests from the rest of the Derry team?
    Im not denying thats what Buttimer told Gracean, just merely pointing out that it was he that made the initial foul and not Molloy

305 Posts
    Ball numbers for the quarter-final draw:
    1 Bohemians, 2 Derry City, 3 Drogheda United, 4 Dundalk, 5 Saint Patrick's Athletic, 6 Shamrock Rovers, 7 Shelbourne, 8 Waterford United/Mervue United.

305 Posts
    Shelbourne v Shamrock Rovers
    Bohemians V Dundalk
    St Pats Ath V Drogheda u
    Derry v Waterford or Mervue U.

182 Posts
    bohs or pats at home in the semi final, derry on the final please.
    Shamrock Rovers- Where trophies are won and envy is scarce

427 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    .... I suspect Alan mattews would settle for that

38 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by placid casual View Post
    All Dublin final would be interesting...

It's about all ye have to look forward to.