Thread: Shels v Lille in UEFA CUP

3,269 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by DolansWaistcoat
    What's the story if they get through to the groups,is it the same format as the champions league,four teams in it,play home and away with two qualifing for the second stage?
    Eight groups of five, play two teams home and the other two away - same as the original InterToto Cup. Group winners only progress, joined by the eight CL third-placers I think, to form the last 16.

Ah nice 1 Stu.

At least four more games for em if they get past lille.

Quote Originally Posted by pineapple stu
    Eight groups of five, play two teams home and the other two away - same as the original InterToto Cup. Group winners only progress, joined by the eight CL third-placers I think, to form the last 16.
    I heard it was the top three who progressed and meet the eight cl third placers making a last 32.

3,269 Posts
    Fair enough so - makes it just that bit more possible to create another shock!

Quote Originally Posted by U 4 E A
    two qualifying rounds are staged each over two legs to find the 40 clubs which advance to the group stage. This comprises eight groups of five, with two home and two away matches per club. The winners, runners-up and third-placed clubs from each group advance to the last 32 where they are joined with the eight third-placed clubs from the UEFA Champions League. At this point, the traditional two-match format is used with the exception of the single-match final.
    Ya I read that in the paper yesterday too,a lot better chance of shels going further in the comp.

Quote Originally Posted by U 4 E A
    The winners, runners-up and third-placed clubs from each group advance to the last 32 where they are joined with the eight third-placed clubs from the UEFA Champions League. At this point, the traditional two-match format is used with the exception of the single-match final.
    What a joke. So only the last 2 in each 5 team group get knocked out. Can see a lot of pointless games especially for the top teams: in those groups. Expect to see some spectatcularly small crowd for big teams games when they've already qualified.

I think it gives the smaller clubs a better chance of progressing with 3 teams going through.Uefa are trying different ways to get more interest in the Uefa cup because the all consuming Champions league has become so big and important financially that it's now the be all and end all for most good european sides.

Quote Originally Posted by DolansWaistcoat
    I think it gives the smaller clubs a better chance of progressing with 3 teams going through.Uefa are trying different ways to get more interest in the Uefa cup because the all consuming Champions league has become so big and important financially that it's now the be all and end all for most good european sides.
    The obvious, indeed the only, solution for the decline of the UEFA Cup is to award the winners (or highest-placed non-qualifying team) a place in the Champions League.

3,269 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sheridan
    The obvious, indeed the only, solution for the decline of the UEFA Cup is to award the winners (or highest-placed non-qualifying team) a place in the Champions League.
    Or reduce the number of teams in the CL, putting better teams into the UEFA.

Maybe you meant the "only solution which has any plausible chance of getting past the money-grabbing muppets who run UEFA"?

I love Lille ;-) !!

I'm french and I live near Lille...and my English is not perfect !
    I think Lille is not the best team in Europe but Lille was in champion's league in 2002-2003. Group : Manchester United, La Corogne, Olympiakos. We have 1 victory, 3 draws, 2 lost...that's not so bad I think !

Now, it's not the same team because a lot of great player left but the spirit is still there.

Go Lille and Good luck for shelbourne !

NicoV.

whoa well done shels, thought youse were dead and buried there!

Well done shels, didnt watch the last 20 mins, thought it was game over. fair play to ye, brilliant result. Got some shock when i checked online there.

Pity ye got shag all support, should have played at home.

Where have all the fans gone?

In fairness, i was watching the old teletext here in London, got the biggest shock ever at the 2-2!

Nice one Shels!

yeah fair play to shels......good come back!
    Ever get the feelin' you have been cheated?

great come back !! great result

Congrats to shels. everything to play for now over in lille. go on make irish soccer proud again!!!
    Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam, Harry and Liam.