Page 9 of 20 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast

Thread: Promotion / Relegation Play - Offs 2012

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    I was watching as a neutral and didn't see any bias. The straight red was a bit harsh alright but barr that I didn't see the ref do much wrong.

Didnt think red was harsh at all being honest if you kick out like that its a red everytime, Maher is a clown.

96 Posts
    The red was harsh? A player, unprovoked, kicks an opposition player, right in front of the ref. I don't think you'll ever see a more deserved red.

I agree though that ye got out of jail, and it could indeed cost us dear.

399 Posts
    100% a red card. Just saw it from a clear angle (recorded it)
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

305 Posts
    Was a red card all night long.Just happy to be still in the tie and hope to be in the RSC for the return on Friday night.
    Dundalk played their get of jail free card tonight in what i thought was a thourgouly absorbing match.

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Relieved to get through that game with the scores still level. Foran not being fit, losing Burns early on, then having every decision go to Waterford.

11 v11 is tough, 10 v 11 is difficult, but 10 v 12 is almost impossible.
    Ah here lads, the ref was not against yous. That is completely wrong.

To be fair I only saw a quick replay of it and thought he just barely flicked out at the Waterford player but obviously not.

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    Was a red card all night long.Just happy to be still in the tie and hope to be in the RSC for the return on Friday night.
    Dundalk played their get of jail free card tonight in what i thought was a thourgouly absorbing match.
    Yeah I thought it was a highly entertaining game. Cracking we didn't win it, but I'd have bitten someone's hand off for a draw at the start of the night. Still leaves it fifty-fifty for Friday, but I'm hopeful we can do it. Cherrie was outstanding, but we still should've taken more of our chances. I have to say, what Maher did was one of the most stupid things I've ever seen in football. So needless. One up with Waterford's heads maybe dropping a little and it was pretty unprovoked. He gave Higgins a decent kick too right in front of us and, more importantly, the ref. Crazy and could've cost Dundalk worse. I thought Griffin was quiet for Dundalk (relieved at that), but Shannon and Rafter caused us problems. Didn't have much in midfield though. Dempsey, Phelan and Maguire were excellent for us, but Seanie can definitely play better. We've had a good spread of goalscorers in the three play-off games (White, Burns, Higgins, Phelan, Ryan) which is a good thing, but I'm hoping Maguire or Dempsey are due a goal on Friday. Peter Keegan is a big loss. Jarred his knee badly on the surface so his season is over. Hopefully, Higgins will be ok. Some of ours are starting to look a little tired especially after the Longford second half on Friday with ten men. It looks like it could be another belter at the RSC. Just hoping we don't regret those missed chances.
    Last edited by bluemovie; 31/10/2012 at 12:18 AM.

65 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie View Post
    He gave Higgins a decent kick too right in front of us and, more importantly, the ref.
    Mahar was an idiot. However, he connected with Higgins shin pad and Higgins looked like he was just after being shot in the back of the head the way he fell. Not much contact at all. Although it was a red card.

Shed End.. **** off with your joe delaney stand
    that was a very good game to watch last night.. thought waterford were brilliant and if they play the same way on friday i can only see one winner

448 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gormacha View Post
    Well, putting aside the technically correct if slightly inflammatory use of the possessive pronoun ( ), Burns is doing well. I thought he was out of his depth at the start of the season, but he's grown into it as the year went on. His distribution isn't up to much, but he's fantastic in the air, is fully committed in the tackle, and reads defensive situations well. He'll need to develop a good bit yet to play at Premier level, but I think he's capable of that development. In any other year, he would probably have won Young Player of the Year.
    yeah don't think we're expecting much from him. No one up here is even sure what the deal with him is, hes on loan with you right? He'd be a bit down the pecking order for us, especially with Kalen ahead of him, along with the more experienced players.

maybe another season of seasoning (pardon the pun) will suit him

164 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by El-Pietro View Post
    No one up here is even sure what the deal with him is, hes on loan with you right?
    No he's signed fully with us (at least I'm 99.9% sure of that). I think the initial story when we were getting him was that it was to be on loan purely because we had been linked with loaning players from Cork, but he actually signed permanently with us in pre-season. He's a good lad with the capability to improve. You get the odd blunder like when he miskicked up in the air last night and put us under pressure - had a similar one in Flancare when Bermingham had the penalty claim. He's very strong, good in the air and does well with an experienced defender alongside him. Definitely not lacking in courage or heart. He's still very young so there's planty of room for improvement.

Stephen Mulcahy (for whoever asked earlier) has been a little disappointing, but had a good game away to Longford last week. He actually disrupted things for us in midseason. We had a settled team, but needed to strengthen the squad. Paul O'Brien seemed to want to squeeze him in anywhere so he played (poorly) at right back, centre mid and even (terribly) at right wing. I think he was suffering from lack of games and being moved around. Is he best at centre half? If it hadn't been for the away leg in Longford, I'd have classed him as a major disappointment. We were surprised he was picked ahead of Carey and Mernagh, but it was obviously wth Crawley in mind. The other two like to attack whereas Mulcahy just sat there and did a great job keeping Crawley as quiet as possible. I was happy to see him picked again on Friday, but he only lasted ten minutes before picking up a hamstring injury.

448 Posts
    yeah hes a centre half, has occasionally played at right back for us.

305 Posts
    Is the PM function no longer available on this site ??

3,491 Posts
    It is, yeah. Click on "Notifications" at the top of the screen.

Quote Originally Posted by bluemovie View Post
    No he's signed fully with us (at least I'm 99.9% sure of that). I think the initial story when we were getting him was that it was to be on loan purely because we had been linked with loaning players from Cork, but he actually signed permanently with us in pre-season.
    I was 99% sure it was a loan deal...
    I’m not pedantic...I’m merely overly concerned with minute details.

126 Posts
    On the red card, it was stone wall. He kicked out, full stop. It wasn't part of a passage of play, the ball was gone, he just kicked out at another player.

21. Thanks From:

42 Posts
    We were lucky to escape with a 2-2 draw. Cherrie kept us in it (not for the first time) and Waterford missed some good chances. McDonnell a player who largely underperformed all season came on at half time and was really up for it and made a great strike for the goal. Our defence was woeful. Missing both Foran and Burns was a massive blow and to be honest if we had both fit I'd be alot more optimistic.

Even though I am biased, the ref was still awful. Give us advantage at the wrong times. He gave us nothing fouled and got nothing especially Mountney who was fouled at least 3/4 times and he didn't get anything. That said Maher was a fool for what he done. To be honest I looked away for a second and missed the incident but the general consensus from the people around me said it was a straight red. Maher is a player a like or liked, but he really let the fans, the players and also himself down in this occasion.

96 Posts
    What baffled me about Maher's sending off was that he lashed out when there had been no obvious provocation. I could understand it if someone was pulling or dragging at him, or if it followed a niggly foul. You could even get your head around it the game was tetchy, but I don't think there was a bad tackle in the 90 minutes. Is he prone to that kind of behaviour?

305 Posts
    It is, yeah. Click on "Notifications" at the top of the screen.
    Thanks, i know I just thought that some where having a personal chat here!! Peter Cherries cat had kittens but several got injured during birth,just want to get that out there.Everyone PM me if you want the full details

Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    Thanks, i know I just thought that some where having a personal chat here!! Peter Cherries cat had kittens but several got injured during birth,just want to get that out there.Everyone PM me if you want the full details
    Oh no

Page 9 of 20 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast