Page 8 of 20 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast

Thread: Promotion / Relegation Play - Offs 2012

Waterford XI: Holden; Carey, Burns, Breen, Mernagh; Higgins, White, Dempsey, Phelan; Maguire, Keegan.

Dundalk XI: Cherrie, Shields, Osborne, O’Brien, Burns, Shannon, Reilly, Maher, Mountney, Rafter, Griffin.
    Get into them! ( They're easyyyy! )

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by born2bwild View Post
    Yis probably have it anyway but here it is just in case...

http://www.thefirstrow.eu/watch/149877/1/watch-dundalk-fc-vs-waterford-united.html
    http://streams.coolsport.tv/kiwi2.html

Seems to be better, less delay.

Looks like Magure has McLoughlin in his pocket

46 Posts
    2 -1 waterford, If Dundalk are not careful it could be over after tonight

Is this the worst Dundalk team of all time??

Quote Originally Posted by gael353 View Post
    Looks like Magure has McLoughlin in his pocket
    Looks like Maguire has the whole back 4 in his pocket.

120 Posts
    Is this the worst Dundalk team of all time??
    Maybe not...
    They had Quigley, Jayo, Gaynor and Kearns last year and did nearly as badly

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    Looks like Maguire has the whole back 4 in his pocket.
    I'd fancy Tobey Maguire to do a job on them to be honest

96 Posts
    Sick over that result. So many missed chances.

30 Posts
    2-2 FT

I would have taken that at the start but in the context of the game (Dundalk down to 10 men and our numerous missed chances) the game and the tie was there for the taking.

Pitch and conditions were awful. Its all to play for in the RSC on Friday.

777 Posts
    Makes for a great 2nd leg but Waterford should have put that to bed tonight.

56 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gormacha View Post
    Sick over that result. So many missed chances.
    As well ye should, from the 2nd half you would have sworn that Waterford were the premier team. The chances squandered by Waterford were something else. First time seeing Sean Maguire and I was impressed. I hope you don't regret the missed chances Friday night, in some ways the pressure is off Dundalk but still you'd have to fancy Waterford.
    ''and I for one welcome our new insect overlords''

777 Posts
    Cracking game - great advert for both divisions.

89 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Comic Book Guy View Post
    As well ye should, from the 2nd half you would have sworn that Waterford were the premier team. The chances squandered by Waterford were something else. First time seeing Sean Maguire and I was impressed. I hope you don't regret the missed chances Friday night, in some ways the pressure is off Dundalk but still you'd have to fancy Waterford.
    As would most teams against 10 men, missing there 2 centre backs who happen be 2 of our best players..

Sending Off spoiled the game for Dundalk, Whatever Maher was thinking il never know stupid stupid man

Bigger crowd than was expected, good to see aswell...

Roll on Friday, Hope anyone staying in the Travel Lodge not from Dundalk is up for a loud night if we win

555 Posts
    Relieved to get through that game with the scores still level. Foran not being fit, losing Burns early on, then having every decision go to Waterford.

11 v11 is tough, 10 v 11 is difficult, but 10 v 12 is almost impossible.

I was impressed with Waterford, though they will be disappointed not to have beaten a dejected Dundalk. I was surprised to see Dundalk claw their way back into the tie. Going behind this season normally guarantees a loss.

96 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    11 v11 is tough, 10 v 11 is difficult, but 10 v 12 is almost impossible.
    I'd be interested to hear a neutral's view on that, because I find it laughable. What decisions did you feel went against you?

399 Posts
    Im happy with the result as we played with 10 men for one hour, plus after 13 mins both our first choice centre halfs were out, as Foran was injured and Burns carried off at that stage. I think with 11 v 11 (hopefully) for 90 mins, and the fact that away goals do not count, I think we have nothing to fear about the return leg. Maybe if we have Burns back, possibly Foran, and if Griffen improves we can get the win.

Waterford were decent though, impressed with them, decent turn out too (100 ??) possibly 150, crowd was between 1,500 - 1,600, def an improvement on the 260 that turned up last Friday.

All square and all to play for on Friday night.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

399 Posts
    I'd be interested to hear a neutral's view on that, because I find it laughable. What decisions did you feel went against you?
    Obviously not neutral, but there was a period in the first half for 15 mins that we didnt get a single decision, hence the ironic cheers from the stand when we did get a free kick before HT. in saying that, you did not deserve to be behind at HT, but not beating 10 men for almost an hour and not finishing those chances might come back to haunt you on Friday.

HT and even stevens, going to be some return leg Id say.
    #DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).

I was watching as a neutral and didn't see any bias. The straight red was a bit harsh alright but barr that I didn't see the ref do much wrong.

555 Posts
    It was more fouls awarded and not warded from general play rather than one or two high profile decisions. Griffin and Rafter were being fouled constantly and hardly got a free all night. However, at the opposite end foul after foul were given for challenges.

I thought the red was harsh, the ref was delighted to get his red card out. However, I'm more annoyed with Maher for allowing himself to be put in that position.

We got out of jail tonight. The tie should be over and done.

Page 8 of 20 FirstFirst ... 67891018 ... LastLast