possibly, though you could argue that Waterford will have the confidence that comes from winning games while Dundalk have gotten used to losing and it may be hard for them to raise their game. Its all very interesting from a neutal POV to be honest. I'd have been tempted to head down to the RSC for the second leg but I'll be away.
Too close to call, this one.
Dundalk playing in a significantly better standard of football all year is a huge advantage, and although their form has been poor, the gap suggests they should still be favourites. Griffin is a better player than we will have faced all season.
As has been said earlier, Waterford do seem to play better in the big games (cf. Limerick and Longford), but we are ridiculously inconsistent. We're also carrying a couple of important suspensions (Frost and Long). And, whilst I don't want to play down the huge talent of Seani Maguire, he has never played in a game of this magnitude, and has gone off the boil since his hattrick against Longford a month ago. That said, he's capable of being unplayable, so its hard to tell. I really think our lack of experience in several positions may cost us dear.
I Would have Waterford slight favourites as winning is a habit, It will be close and if Waterford score first Dundalk players heads may drop due to lack of confidence
I think Waterford will get a draw tomorrow night and they will just shade 2nd leg on Friday
We can talk nowI still see Dundalk as favourites especially given the hit our defence has taken for tomorrow (Mulcahy out with a hamstring, Long and Frost suspended). As I've said before, losing 7-0 in Tallaght is nowhere near as bad as losing 4-0 at home to Mervue. When we're bad, we're very, very bad. That said, spirit in the camp is really good. We had a better squad last year, but were all over the place. There's real fight and pride in the current team.
Gary Dempsey has shown real leadership in the run-in and when Maguire is on top form, he's unplayable. Longford kept him reasonably quiet, but at the same time, he did well in the build-up to the first goal in Flancare, created a sitter at the end that Darragh Walshe missed, set up the goal in the RSC and only a great save from Hyland denied him a goal at the end. They're arguably the only real Premier Division standard players we have, but Peter White, Peter Higgins and even Packie Holden have played out of their skins. I'm not sure if that'll be enough for us and I fully expect Rafter to score tomorrow having been such a tumour for us last season.
I hope to feck Waterford go up, for travel above all else next season.
Im Dublin based, wouldnt mind going to this. I finish in DCU at 6 is there any public transport that would get me there on time? Thanks
would be great for the munster area to have 3 teams in the premier.. waterford always a good away trip plenty of city fans with a great atmosphere.. how has stephen mulcahy been doing for ye?
Looking forward to this tonight, the club have reduced prices for all adults for all areas to a tenner. Plus most schools are off tomorrow, so should be a decent crowd up. good previews at below link. Waterford fans note the bar will be open at 6, I cant imagine any issues with entrance, away gate is just next door, and there will be a hot food stall in your area. If its raining, I'd suggest going to the stand instead of away terrace (uncovered) as its the same price tonight, €10
http://www.dundalkfc.com/tonights-th...review-in-one/
#DundalkFC - First Irish club to win an away game in Europe (1963), only Irish club to win a game / points in Europa League Group Stage (2016).
The FAI should change the way these games are played. Tuesday night is crap.
The first leg should be toss of a coin to decide who plays at home. The ticket income split 50-50 between the two clubs. The second leg should be played before the Cup final. Make the day a double header. It would generate greater interest.
best of luck to both Dundalk and Waterford tonight. Waterford are due a chance in the Premier but I would have concerns regarding Dundalk surviving if they return to the graveyard, and would hate to see the club go under.
very tight to call and first goal may be (even more) vital than usual.
Is it true that Dundalk are signing Gary Twigg on amateur forms for tonight?![]()
He hasn't had a huge amount of games - quite a few sub appearances, and maybe eight starts (open to correction on precise number).
He was very poor for most of them, which can probably be put down to lack of game time over a long period, but he had really started to come into his own recently, and by all accounts was outstanding in the first playoff game against Longford, although I wasn't at it myself. To keep Carey and Mernagh out of the fullback spot means the management must have been seeing something good from him in training. And sure enough, just as he starts to play well and holds down a starting spot, he pops his hamstring...
He is. Although it's at the minor end of the scale. It's a hamstring pull, but not a tear, I understand. He was subbed off after about 15 minutes of last Friday's home game against Longford. He's only listed as "doubtful" for tonight, so it can't be that bad, but I'd say his confidence will have taken another hit.
the poor guy, hes a quality player, but hes had some pretty serious injuries. How about our other centre half, Craig Burns? hows he getting on?
Well, putting aside the technically correct if slightly inflammatory use of the possessive pronoun (), Burns is doing well. I thought he was out of his depth at the start of the season, but he's grown into it as the year went on. His distribution isn't up to much, but he's fantastic in the air, is fully committed in the tackle, and reads defensive situations well. He'll need to develop a good bit yet to play at Premier level, but I think he's capable of that development. In any other year, he would probably have won Young Player of the Year.
All the best to Waterford - mind that plastic pitch
Founder, President and Sole Member of the Tipperary Galway United Supporters Club
Yis probably have it anyway but here it is just in case...
http://www.thefirstrow.eu/watch/149877/1/watch-dundalk-fc-vs-waterford-united.html