Page 15 of 20 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 ... LastLast

Thread: Promotion / Relegation Play - Offs 2012

42 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    There's actually a John Delaney Cup? That's a real thing? Mother of god...
    If I won that trophy that I'd accidentally go down the same lines as Sergio Ramos and drop the trophy

959 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    There's actually a John Delaney Cup? That's a real thing? Mother of god...
    Not at all narcissitic is our John!

I hear there is a name change on the way for the first division next season

"The John Delaney National Reserve First Division 2013"

Quote Originally Posted by Jofspring View Post
    I hear there is a name change on the way for the first division next season

"The John Delaney National Reserve First Division 2013"
    EA Sports Cup to renamed the John Delaney "Get To That ****ing Bar" Shield.

415 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Its fairly simple. If he's amatuer, Dundalk are done.

If he's pro, they're fine.

Surely this could've been checked in 5 minutes by the FAI?
    But then the FAI wouldn't have got whatever fee they charged Waterford to lodge an appeal

International Prospect Ezeikial's Avatar
    663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Fermoy Blue View Post
    Met Jeff McNamara today, he seems to think that it's SCHADENFREUDE if Dundalk go down over the registration of a player, we just thought it was a good laugh...
    Ah the famous Jeff McNamara affair".

All life (and LOI) is a circle it seems -

Friday, May 30th, 1997
    The news has just broken at 11am that Waterford United have lost their appeal to the FAI Council over the Jeff McNamara affair. According to FAI Treasurer Brendan Menton, who informed the club, stated this morning that the Blues had not proved their points, and that Dundalk were totally correct in playing the Linfield striker. Blues chairman Bertie Rogers says the club may take legal action.

Thursday, May 29th, 1997
    The Jeff McNamara affair came before the FAI Council today - in a two-hour hearing at Merrion Square this afternoon, both Waterford United and Dundalk stated their respective cases about the appearance of the Linfield striker in Dundalk's line-up during the promotion play-offs. Waterford and their solicitors gave their side of the story through two points...
    (1) McNamara was not an amateur player because amateurs can not go on loan to other clubs - only players on a contract can do this, and as the player himself said he was contracted to Linfield, he therefore could not be an amateur...
    (2) McNamara was signed by Dundalk on April 30th - no other league in Europe has a system where players can be signed before the last two games of the season, and still be elligible to play. Waterford tried, and failed, to sign somebody else in similar circumstances a couple of weeks beforehand, but found that they were not allowed to.
    The hearing began at 1:30, concluding at 3:30. Waterford United Chairman Bertie Rogers was in upbeat mood afterwards, and felt that the Blues had stated their case well. He added that if the Blues' appeal is turned down, then they will seek a tribunal.
    A decision is expected in the coming days.
    http://akilduff.tripod.com/blues/oldnews3.html

Or that they didn't know about it pre-play-off. A whisper or a rumour on the day, which Waterford decided to check into. Not impossible.
    We were tipped off after the game. To those of you who are rightfully ****ed off with us, don't tell me your club wouldn't do the same thing in the same situation, I'm sorry guys, this is about survival.

I cannot see us surviving in a seven team league, NONE of you could, and I don't think any team in it will. I can only hope the FAI see sense and put all of this bull**** to bed an merge the two divisions, it was most of the clubs want, sort out relegation by having a type of A Championship as a lower division.

I'm just a fan, and I hate all this, but it is what it is!

959 Posts
    Ahh Johns plan b swung in to action after full time?

There was nearly 3000 at the game, and it was on Setanta Sports, I'm sure yea have a few enemies too! And after the way their fans behaved at the game, maybe someone said, "meh, I'm ratting them out"!

663 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by madblaa View Post
    We were tipped off after the game. To those of you who are rightfully ****ed off with us, don't tell me your club wouldn't do the same thing in the same situation, I'm sorry guys, this is about survival.
    Although I think that the complaint/appeal/whinge (delete as you see fit) does not reflect well on the club, there is no reason for others to be " ****ed off" - the chances of this being successful are next to nil and I understand that Waterford have already been told this by the FAI.

62 Posts
    There was nearly 3000 at the game, and it was on Setanta Sports, I'm sure yea have a few enemies too! And after the way their fans behaved at the game, maybe someone said, "meh, I'm ratting them out"!
    And what way was that???

I was at the game, apart from the few mindless idiots who ran onto the pitch after each goal and the two bangers/ONE FLARE which went off, there was no trouble.

555 Posts
    And after the way their fans behaved at the game, maybe someone said, "meh, I'm ratting them out"!
    Well I was at the game with my young kids cheering on our team to the end, the way fans should behave.

I'm sorry, running over to the home crowd (who both cheered off your players as well as our own) throwing a banger at us, breaking a 16 year olds ankle and trying to get into us does constitute 'trouble-making' as far as I'm concerned, while your officials looked on an laughed at this, instead of telling then to cop on and go back. Those officials did try to start on us themselves too on the way out. Yea were worthy winners on the night, should have just went home and celebrated instead of having a go at a heartbroken crowd.

But then, you've always been like that.

@White Horse Correct.

305 Posts
    Jaysus,the bitterness is deep you .

Good night now lads, hope it turns out well for the both of us, one way or another.

Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    Jaysus,the bitterness is deep you .
    What's bitter about asking fans to behave? I accept we lost fairly.

62 Posts
    I'm sorry, running over to the home crowd (who both cheered off your players as well as our own) throwing a banger at us, breaking a 16 year olds ankle and trying to get into us does constitute 'trouble-making' as far as I'm concerned, while your officials looked on an laughed at this, instead of telling then to cop on and go back. Those officials did try to start on us themselves too on the way out. Yea were worthy winners on the night, should have just went home and celebrated instead of having a go at a heartbroken crowd.

But then, you've always been like that.
    Jaysus seems to be alot of making stories up in Waterford lately.

Lats week it was a young lad had a banger thrown at his leg and he got burned, this week its his ankle was just broken!

125 Posts
    i heard on the grapevine that if Waterford fail in their appeal that their club motto will be "Why always us"

I dont know whether to laugh or cry over this but its one of the main reasons why i love this league. The lengths that any club will go too to get one over on another is mind boggling
    Long Live King Kenny

663 Posts
    What's bitter about asking fans to behave? I accept we lost fairly.
    Nothing wrong there.

But your allegations are a little bizarre - paticularly that club officials "started" on you.

Did you witness the attack on the 16 year old that resulted in the broken ankle?

Page 15 of 20 FirstFirst ... 51314151617 ... LastLast