Page 26 of 35 FirstFirst ... 162425262728 ... LastLast

Thread: Kazakhstan V Republic of Ireland - Friday, 7th September 2012 - World Cup 2014 Q

Brady v Sadlier round 2...ding...ding.

2,446 Posts
    I wish Liam Brady would cop on to his Trappatoni defending. It's getting utterly ridiculous how he can't even slightly criticise him.

1,928 Posts
    Just how did Kaz throw that game away at the end? Has to be the worst ever Irish performance, the worst performances under Stan have jumped up a rung from the bottom of the ladder. Just what McCarthy made of playing in that disorganised gibberish, I don't know.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    I must say Ladbrokes are very quick at paying out!!

Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    Just how did Kaz throw that game away at the end? Has to be the worst ever Irish performance, the worst performances under Stan have jumped up a rung from the bottom of the ladder. Just what McCarthy made of playing in that disorganised gibberish, I don't know.
    Why wasn't McCarthy screaming for the ball then? He looked tidy but he hardly imposed himself on the game, and that's not solely because O'Dea was hoofing it all game.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    I did think the Kaza's put a lot of energy into the first half so I thought they might tire.
    The Irish rugby team used to do that cracking start then fade badly.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Sadlier just made Brady look like an idiot.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

56 Posts
    Long and Doyle need to start against Germany. Keane will start instead of one of them.

McClean (or at least a winger) needs to start on the left. I'll be optimistic and say Cox won't, at least.

Dunne needs to come back or we need another experiences defensive rock. Dunne'll be back.

But the mentality needs to change and McCarthy needs to be used. That may not (read: will not) happen.

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by NeverFeltBetter View Post
    Sadlier just made Brady look like an idiot.
    Can you fill us in on what is being said..Can't get RTE

161 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ped_ped View Post
    Long and Doyle need to start against Germany. Keane will start instead of one of them.

McClean (or at least a winger) needs to start on the left. I'll be optimistic and say Cox won't, at least.

Dunne needs to come back or we need another experiences defensive rock. Dunne'll be back.

But the mentality needs to change and McCarthy needs to be used. That may not (read: will not) happen.
    So is Andrews who is likely to dislodge McCarthy. Its mental at this stage keeping Trapatonni on. What Doyle and Long brought on today was a sense of urgency sadly missing. Both chased back to win the ball and create chances. Which means exactly as you said. Keane will start against Germany.
    Last edited by Noelys Guitar; 07/09/2012 at 6:20 PM.

52 Posts
    I also had €50 at 8-1 for a 2-1 win!
    Plenty of gargle tonight! 😜

503 Posts
    Trap looked rattled in that interview. Perhaps the penny has finally dropped
    Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.

161 Posts
    Fill us in Backtowalsall. What was said?

56 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    So is Andrews who is likely to dislodge McCarthy. Its mental at this stage keeping Trapatonni on. What Doyle and Long brought on today was a sense of urgency sadly missing. Both chased back to win the ball and create chances. Which means exactly as you said. Keane will start against Germany.
    How bad is it that I'm hoping Andrew or Whelan pick up a niggle in the Premier League in the run-up . . . ?

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by the doc View Post
    I also had €50 at 8-1 for a 2-1 win!
    Plenty of gargle tonight! ��
    Fair play to you!

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Can you fill us in on what is being said..Can't get RTE
    Head in the sand rubbish from people with no interest in changing Irish football, happy enough to pick up an RTE paycheck and worship at the alter of the English game.

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    167 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by ped_ped View Post
    How bad is it that I'm hoping Andrew or Whelan pick up a niggle in the Premier League in the run-up . . . ?
    Is McCarthy that much better though?

503 Posts
    It was a terrible interview. He was talking over the questions, and Tony O'Donoghue?? was talking over the answers. He had to say a few things through Manuella as well so it was quite hard to follow what he was saying. I was able to pick out of it that he said he doesn't think we should change tactics, but it was unlike any interview i've seen him give, even at the euros. You could see the panic on his face. That was the most telling thing for me.
    Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.

398 Posts
    Funny seeing people accuse Brady of being blinded by his loyalty/friendship to Trap and being biased. As opposed to Richie the whinge/wannabe being in the pay of the anti-O'Brien INM. Pretty funny, if only it wasn't so idiotic.

161 Posts
    this is from the RTE site
    The following stream of consciousness/freestyle poetry explanation comes from Giovanni Trappatoni (did our best with transcription)

Yes the first time was not spirit...was strange...other situation...that is the first game...the approach is important...you couldn’t change the players...we achieved the result... the long ball.. the long ball with Keane.. very important...also me... I no happy...today was away game...I am happy because we achieved the result...now at the moment is important is only the result.

Page 26 of 35 FirstFirst ... 162425262728 ... LastLast