Thread: The Sunday Game

246 Posts

The Sunday Game

As I'm sure you all know the old Sunday Game theme tune has been replaced with a new, utterly crap one. So do something about it:

http://www.petitiononline.com/mod_pe...d.cgi?sunday04

The BBC would never replace the Match Of The Day theme tune, don't let RTÉ get away with this one.

And should you need any more convincing, read this:
    http://www.gaelsport.com/html/club/f...ewsID=9455&p=l
    Last edited by brendy_éire; 25/08/2004 at 2:11 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by brendy_éire
    As I'm sure you all know the old Sunday Game theme tune has been replaced with a new, utterly crap one.
    Any chance they'd replace Marty Morrissey, Colm O'Rourke, Ger Loughnan and a few other gobshítes on there?

60 Posts
    I don't know about replacing Ger Loughnane.

If he didn't have that job, he might attempt to manage a hurling team again - that would be a fierce imposition on the unsuspecting public. At least you can choose not to watch The TV Show Formerly Identifiable as The Sunday Game. If he was managing once again he'd be everywhere.
    That question was less stupid, though you asked it in a profoundly stupid way.

Help me, Arthur Murphy, you're my only hope!

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge
    I bow to no one. bar Bluebeard and Mr A

Did Marty Morrissey escape from a lab?

is marty morriseys head a potato?

52 Posts
    Is michael lyster still hosting?
    "Jacques Santini...will be greeted in every dugout of the country by "one-nil, one-nil" - Clive Tyldsley, 89th minute of France-England June 13, 2004.
    "Ooooohhhh Nooooooo" Bobby Robson 91st minute.

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Metrostars
    Is michael lyster still hosting?
    Yep. Personally, Marty Morrissey can be annoying, but the rest are usually grand. Best of the lot is Joe Brolly (though maybe it's because I'm from Derry), he's refreshing and down to earth.

Best of the lot is Joe Brolly
    Agreed, makes his point without trying to ram his opinion down your throat.
    Tomás Mul is grand too.

C'mon lads ... out with it ..... you know it to be true ...... It's all shíte !!

Gggggaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhh !

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face
    C'mon lads ... out with it ..... you know it to be true ...... It's all shíte !!

Gggggaaaaaahhhhhhhhhhh !
    Feck off, it's better than 'soccer', well, at least at inter-county level. There's nothing like an All-Ireland Championship Sunday. Whether it's Celtic Park, the 2 hour drive to Clones in the pouring rain (and the 2 hours getting out of the place), or heading down to Croke Park with the sun blazing.
    The banter with the other county's fans, the noise just after the end of Amhrán na bhFiann, being 2 points down going into injury time and somehow clawing a replay.
    And at the end of the day you're either talking about 'this day fortnight.....' or saying "ah sure, there's always next year".

Much as I love the eL, it'll never compare to AIC.

Derry for Sam!

Much as I love the eL, it'll never compare to AIC.
    Wibble wibble

Derry for Sam!
    wibble wibble ...... *cough* Ahem ..... wibble some more

.................................................. ....

the 2 hour drive to Clones in the pouring rain ............. heading down to Croke Park with the sun blazing.
    The banter with the other county's fans, the noise just after the end of Amhrán na bhFiann, being 2 points down going into injury time and somehow clawing a replay.
    And at the end of the day you're either talking about 'this day fortnight.....' or saying "ah sure, there's always next year".

Chríst, will you come off the stage, it's not a novel you're writing at all.

Talk about glorifying it like, sheeze ... steady on there like, there are big crowds go to the circus aswell on a sunny fúckin' day !!

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by A face
    Chríst, will you come off the stage, it's not a novel you're writing at all.

Talk about glorifying it like, sheeze ... steady on there like, there are big crowds go to the circus aswell on a sunny fúckin' day !!
    Sorry, just getting buzzed up for Sunday.
    You'll be pleased to know, I'm sure, that I'm forgoing the Fermanagh-Mayo game for the Derry-Shels game. Pity, was there last week, cheering on Fermanagh, great buzz, and it'll be a greater buzz when they beat Mayo on Saturday.

Fair enough, write Derry off, suits us grand.

Derry-Fermanagh final. Uladh abú!

........ t'would be good alright i'd say !!

Feck off, it's better than 'soccer', well, at least at inter-county level.
    You've just gone and discredited yourself completely!
    Gaelic Football is dire at the best of times!
    Since the nordies started to win stuff it's got even worse.
    Give me eL over Gaelic any day.
    Hurling, now there's a game!

246 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Since the nordies started to win stuff it's got even worse.
    There's no need for the sour grapes now.

Will I be saying that to you on Monday

Seriously though, the last two football finals have looked more like Olympic Handball than any sport associated with the feet.

246 Posts
    Seriously though, the last two football finals have looked more like Olympic Handball than any sport associated with the feet.
    Aye, true. Though Tyrone and Armagh are particularly bad at it. Thing is though, if it wins games, it's hard not to use it. Slowly but surely it seems as though other counties are figuring out how to get round it, keeping the ball moving all the time. Mayo and Fermanagh did this well in the quarter finals. And you couldn't really accuse Fermanagh, or Derry indeed, of using the same blanket defense tactics of Armagh and Tyrone.

Oh dear, what went wrong?
    Ah well, there's always next year.
    It's the taking part that counts.
    Ye just didn't get a rub of the green

246 Posts
    Oh dear, what went wrong?
    Ah well, there's always next year.
    It's the taking part that counts.
    Ye just didn't get a rub of the green
    Sure it's still a young team. Least we got beat by the eventual winners though. And it could be worse sure, we could have been expected to do well, and we could have went out in the qualifying rounds, losing to some wee Ulster county a tenth our size.