Thread: RTÈ coverage a disgrace

RTÈ coverage a disgrace

I would just like to state how appauled I am at the shambolic coverage RTE gave the Shebourne game tonight. I couldn't believe my eyes when they cut the screen in half to show the 1500m mens final at the Olympics. What was the huge interest in this event? Was there an Irish interest which meant that we couldn't afford to miss it? No, but we didn't see much of Shels best attempt on goal when Jason Byrnes attempted lob sailed over the bar. The Irish interest was on the pitch in Spain and thats where the focus should have stayed. In my opinion RTÈ have show themselves to be an amateur outfit with this sorry excuse for a broadcast. To add insult to injury the race was show again at the begining of the Olympics show which followed the football programme. I somehow don't see RTE cutting into their champions league coverage for the rest of the year to show another sporting event.

This event was staged 'on the cheap' by RTÈ. Where was the co-commentator with Darragh Maloney, all TV stations (including RTÈ) use co-commentators for football games, perhaps the increased licence fee doesn't stretch to an extra ticket on a Ryanair flight to spain. Even Maloney show his amateur status by treating us to such gems of wisdom as ' Deportivo drew 1-0 in a friendly last week'. My anger was such that I grabed the phone, rang 11850, got the number for RTE, rang them, but unfortunately nobody answers the phone in RTE after five

I think everyone here should email RTE to register their disgust.
    sport@rte.ie
    Last edited by StarandCrescent; 24/08/2004 at 9:37 PM.

I couldn't agree more. It was a total and utter disgrace.
    I for one will be registering strongly my dis-satisfaction with their coverage.
    I hope everyone else does.

Ditto couldn’t believe my eyes but all the same it is RTE, why are we cursed with such incompetent media in this county it just wouldn’t be put up with anywhere else,poxy TV3 **** every Monday night and poxy no mark RTE who don’t give a toss, plus FAI are a disgrace they have let the league down with the current or lack off TV deal what scumbags!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Well said!!

Another thing that annoyed me, and i meant to post this earlier, was the fact that the programme didn't start til 5 minutes before kick-off. Why couldn't they of put together a decent package that would of included an actual build up to the game. Interviews etc,

Once again a half heaRTEd attempt by RTE
    Finn Harps Dot Com
    www.finnharps.com

I have just sent an email to that address. I hope everyone else does.

I have to agree about the late start and the quick wrap-up, five minutes before and after the game was poor. Switching to two screens for the 1500m was strange, but I accepted it, when the game went from the screen completely, I found it stranger still, but I accepted it. However, when the first action of the olympic programme was to replay the same race, I was dumbfounded, why interrupt the game if the plan was to show the race anyway, not fifteen minuites later.

However I thought the commentary was good, and the half time analysis well presented and interesting.

But that compliment only serves to leave a bad taste in my mouth, because it gave a glimpse of what the coverage could have been like.

Half-heaRTEd sums it up nicely.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Well I thought it was nice to see the w/-\nker Collins get it completely wrong again.
    Its a hard one to call.
    If the match was 0 - 0 and finely balanced, they probably would not have cut away, but $h£l$ were gone at that stage, and had resorted to type, which ain't a prety sight. All we were short was Oily having a go at the Depor fans and the officials.....

Can't you all hear those loud thuds as bodies fall off bandwagons?

246 Posts
    It was a ****in joke. I stared in disbelief at the screen during it. ****in shockin hi.

Everyone should email RTÉ about this.

totally agree about RTE. They wouldn't have cut into a man u or a gah match.
    I will protest to them and urge everyone else to. Invade any pitches to taunt away fans lately Brendy?

Thing is ... it wasn't very clear that their was any Irish in that race ?

I wouldn't have minded a small inset window showing us a clip of the race and the results etc. but i think they way they did it was poor in fairness.

Although .... they'll be dumb-founded when they see us complaining even with them showing a game !!

Exclamation

Also they never announced until 2 seconds before that they would be showing the race so therefore no-one would have tuned in especially to see it, so I wonder how many people they actually pleased by showing it?

Had to laugh when there was a false start as they tried to join George Hamilton just in time for the off!

Was anyone listening to FM104 phone-in last night?
    Some gobsh1te on the phone goin on about how Shels hadnt a chance from 2-0 down and that RTE did the right thing, then started calling someone a liar who said there was 8 minutes left in the game: "There was fcukin 7 minutes left, I know cos I was watchin' it". I blame him for my disturbed night of sleep.

Im going to play Devils Advocate here but i can understand RTE's reasoning behind showing the race , whether we want to believe it or not Shels at the time the race came on were dead and buried , i have already congradulated them for a fine performance but realisticly they werent going to come back , there is also a large audience for the olympics and once again believe it or not alot of people would like to watch the races live were posible , just as we would have been disgusted if the match was nt shown live , they too would be very annoyed!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by eircomfan
    Im going to play Devils Advocate here but i can understand RTE's reasoning behind showing the race , whether we want to believe it or not Shels at the time the race came on were dead and buried , i have already congradulated them for a fine performance but realisticly they werent going to come back , there is also a large audience for the olympics and once again believe it or not alot of people would like to watch the races live were posible , just as we would have been disgusted if the match was nt shown live , they too would be very annoyed!!!!
    But the ones who are interested in the minority sport of athletics (even more minority sport in Ireland than eL football) were already watching BBC because as someone pointed out above they didn't say they were going to show it until 2 seconds before the false start.

If Jason Byrne had scored would they have switched back to the game and dropped the race? It just shows how the sports coverage seems to be decided on the hoof - unless of course it's GAA or the premiership.
    "It's impossible to make a man understand something when his livelihood depends on him not understanding" Upton Sinclair

Quote Originally Posted by StarandCrescent
    I think everyone here should email RTE to register their disgust.
    Why? Not everyone here agrees with you.
    RTE scheduled to show the 1500m final long before this match. It is always a very popular final in the olympics, and last nights race was the high point of the games so far, where El Geurrouj finally won a gold medal

I had no problem in watching both screens for what was only 4 minutes. It seemed a fair compromise, considering the sacred lovely girls contest was never going to be interrupted
    Ceci n'est pas une signature

Trust me and i dont want to burst your bubble here, Eircom League is not only a minority its microscopic , athlethics granted may not be everyones favourite competition but were talkin about the olympics here which is if im not corrected is the most watched sporting event world wide. The match was given prefernence and all we had to do was watch a four minute race split screen!!!! hardly reason to shoot RTE !!!!!!

I disn't have a problem with the 5min pre match buildup as stations usually spend too much time at that anyway.

Co-commentator was missing at Lansdowne for 1st leg too which is badly needed when RTE boys know feck all about the eL. Biggest Moan - RTE once again are incapable was merging sound & picture! P!sses me off to watch match with sound a second ahead of the pictures!!!!!!!

Thought halftime analysis was 1st class. Could tell RTE got Pat & Roddy in cos they got big egos & speak their minds opposite each other.

Didn't have huge problem with the Athletics interrupting cos game was dead then (if was 1-0 or 0-0 would me different). RTE as usual are carp with technology - they could easily have left match in corner of screen while showing athletics & visa versa when the runners had false start. I thought RTE were gonna stay with 50:50 screen so switched to BBC for runners.

btw 1500m was stunning race!

Totally disgusted with the whole fiasco. They do have two channels if they want to show two different events after all. What next? A split-screen Eastenders/Cornation Street so people can watch them both? or maybe a split screen for advertisments so they can pull in twice as much in ad revenue, sack the incompetents who work there now and hire some people with a little courage, foresight and talent?

Quote Originally Posted by sadloserkid
    Totally disgusted with the whole fiasco. They do have two channels if they want to show two different events after all.
    In fairness they did have Rose of Tralee on RTE1 which still strangely brings in big viewing figures.

sack the incompetents who work there now and hire some people with a little courage, foresight and talent
    What does courage, foresight and talent got to do with anything , as pointed out the rose of Tralee was on RTE1 which has a massive audience figure and secondly what has any of the 3 keys you have pointed out to do with someone making a decision to show a terrifc olympic final as well as a match that in many peoples view was out shels s reach. !!!!

Christ there's an awful shower of moaners about today. 6 or 7 minutes of the coverage was disturbed by a great Olympic final, at a time when Shels were two nil down. Hardly a need to have a stroke. And yes, contrary to what has been said I do reckon they would have interupted a Champions League match aswell.

I know RTE have crap/no coverage of the eL but at least they did show both games.
    The FAI should broker some deal with either broadcaster to get a proper package together for eL highlights.
    UCD sha-la-la