I don't understand this attitude. Someone has to make the breakthrough. Should we insist that our champions throw their final qualifying round matches until we get two or more teams into the Champions League?Originally Posted by A face
The truth is that Dublin clubs have pretty much dominated the league for so long now that we'd be no worse off it Shels took sole custody of that monoply. We've got a lot to do before we can compete at the level of Bohs and Shels but just catching them isn't enough, we need to be in a position to maintain consistency and success. The fact that Shels have shown the level of success possible should encourage investment in rival clubs.Originally Posted by A face
I don't understand this attitude. Someone has to make the breakthrough. Should we insist that our champions throw their final qualifying round matches until we get two or more teams into the Champions League?Originally Posted by A face
Well done Depor. They managed to overcome the thugs. Now we have to do the same. its not about football when you play that scum
Why not?Originally Posted by Sheridan
Don't you want your club to win the league?
Don't you want your club to have a chance at the start of every season?
It is a catch-22 for eL supporters. Yes we want success in Europe, but at the expense of our own clubs?
Thats a double edged sword.
How many fans of clubs in England, Wales, Italy, France, Germany etc. etc would like to see a club in thier league have access to so much money that thier own club simply could not compete and would always be fighting for second place?
Given the economics of the game in Ireland, there is a real danger of that happening if ANY club gets to the CL group stages.
I want to an Irish club in the CL groups as soon as possible, but not at the possible expense of losing the eL as a competition.
Anyone who cannot see or understand the dilemma is not facing reality.
(apologies for the amount of cliches...)
Well, first off, the potential for a Rosenborg-style situation to emerge as a result of an eL club reaching the Champions League group stages has been utterly exaggerated. A far better case study for Irish fans to examine, in terms of the standard of football and the prevalence of (in this case, far more serious) negative external influences, would be that of Israel.Originally Posted by patsh
Maccabi Haifa's qualification for the Champions League in 2002, far from destroying Israeli football, has raised the bar for everyone, with the result that Israel had two serious candidates for the group stages this season. Ironically, Maccabi Haifa failed to qualify after a narrow defeat to Rosenborg last night, but Maccabi Tel-Aviv will wrap up their place in the group stage against PAOK tonight.
As a fan, it pains me to say this, but the people who aren't facing reality are those who still think that the eircom League, as it stands currently, is worth the proverbial warm pitcher of p*ss. Even winning the thing costs a club more money than it brings in. It's a situation that's not going to sort itself magically, organically, out, it's going to take something spectacular. Namely, an All-Ireland League (I don't see the appeal of this from a footballing point of view myself, but the public will probably eat it up) and qualification for the final stages of the Champions League.
PS: I must admit I'd be fairly amused if the rumours of Depor making a bid for Alan Moore (and Irureta has confirmed his interest) were true, and Shels made a killing. Might wipe the smiles from a few naysaying faces.
Honesty time. When Cork went on their magnificent run in the Intertoto, I thought it was great. I was as envious as hell, and a little bit bitter, because Dolan has waged his own private snide little newspaper war against us, and I hate to see him doing well. However, in general, it was great for the League. Cork fans were naturally delighted with the success, and received many messages of congratulation from across the board.
We in Shels have now had our bit of success [not over yet, btw] and the begrudgery is evident mainly from Cork. Is it because our success has somehow eclipsed their own?
Leaving aside the money thing - and I can understand the fears of other clubs - I've been a League of Ireland fan for well over 20 years, and the amount of ridicule and rubbish I've had to put up with from the Premiership brigade has been unbelievable. I'm sure the same is true for every supporter of league clubs here. The main thrust of the argument is always that Irish football is rubbish. Well, for the first time this season, I've been able to go in and point to Malmo, Nantes, Hajduk, Deportivo and say, well, look, how can Irish football be bad. Surely we have to be on a much higher standard to the English 3rd division they're always comparing us to. Would Millwall have beaten Hajduk? Doubt it. Would Sunderland have held Depor scoreless for a game and a half? Would Leeds have beaten Malmo?
And that's why I'd have thought League fans would be as united behind Shels fans as we were behind them. Because for Cork fans, the real enemy is not $hel$ [as they so whimsically call them], but the Arsenal, Liverpool, Man U, Celtic brigade, who despise this league we all love so much.
No Elvis, Beatles or the Rolling Stones
In 1977
Fair points Sheliban, and hard to disagree with any of it.
A couple of points Sheridan. On the one hand, I wanted $hel$ to do well, as I felt that City, who are trying to organise business investment, could point to them and say that with a bit of money invested, City could get to the same position.
On the other hand, you must admit that the amount of money available to eL clubs in Ireland is very small and could never match what would become available to a club who gets to the CL group stages. That money would give a completely disproportionate advantage to that club. It would raise the bar for clubs to aim at, but how would any of them realistically draw level with Shels?
The league may be p*ss poor, but winning it is the only way to get a shot at the CL. If Shels win it every year, how can anyone else get there?
I've used the phrase so many times all ready, but we have a real catch-22, and all the league clubs need to get united and really start working together.
STRATEGY FOR EIRCOM LEAGUE ACCORDING TO SOME CORK CITY SUPPORTERS THREAD
- Generally it would be a bad thing for any club to be successful in Europe(Cork City included) because it would give them the impetus to go on and do something on a European scale for Irish Domestic League Football. Really bad.
Despite the possible knock on bonus it would have for other clubs in the eL for inward investment from outside the country its definitely a bad thing to be successful. Definitely.
- Stagnant is good. Change is bad. The secret to success is to stay as we are. Do not, under any circumstances, qualify for europe proper and we'll all continue to have a great laugh at incorrect aertel scores, dodgy local newspaper columnists and sparse national tv coverage.
- We should continue to leave our best talents go abroad for years to come. At least they might play a "big-gun" every now and again in a FA cup match or something. Far be it from them to strive for Europe with an Eircom League club because that would be bad. Many years from now we can claim their off spring on the grandpaprent rule.
- Encourage low attendances. Big crowds might go to the players heads.
- Hate everyone else.
- Blame Fran Rooney
- Blame www.fai.ie
- Blame the Echo
- Blame the FA and the Premiership successful business models for all that wrong in irish Football
- Blame high barstools, satellite dishes and remote controls
- F%$k Eircom. Why dont we just get Klennex and a miniture violin factory to sponsor the league.
Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?
Originally Posted by blobbyblob
You learn fast my friend ... you learn fast !!![]()
C'mon man .... you are missing some of the points that are being made, and going over board on others. Do know what you need ..... a happy medium, thats what you're after !!![]()
i would love it if shels made it through to the group phase provided the league was still competitive.shels exploits has raised the profile of the league a lot and fair play to them.however if shels got their 10 million it would enable them to go out of reach from the other clubs in the country.I'm in no way knocking shels or jealous of them i'm just fearfull of the consequences.
dont you have the first division to be worried aboutOriginally Posted by blobbyblob
That should be " Dont you have the bottom half of the first division to be worried about "Originally Posted by thecorner
Relax lads .... he is allowed give his opinion.Originally Posted by adamcarr
Yeah but he shouldn't be concerning himself with Premier divison matters!Originally Posted by A face
Champions!
Originally Posted by Colm
leave that to the big boys
Sure we'll agree to disagree boys. Kilkenny City are going through a period of flux at the moment. Give us a couple of years and we'll be challenging for Europe. Mark my words
http://www.ifgrounds.com/kilkennycity.html
Who is this guy, Trapper Tony?
Originally Posted by blobbyblob
the funny season is starting already