Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Best of luck to Deportivo from the Rebel Army!

82 Posts

Quote Originally Posted by pete
    Thursday night football doesn't help. Cork-Derry-Cork is like 2 day trip.

btw whats biggest away crowd at the Brandy this season...?
    All the games this season were Saturday night up until a few weeks ago, but I take the point, Thurs is a non-starter for most away fans (and a lot of exiled home fans). Another area where the FAI need to be firm and compel clubs to play at a certain time.

I'd say the biggest away crowd in Derry (apart from our 1st division near neighbours who jump at the chance to see what life's like in the city) is consistently Rovers, eg they had about 200 up for the last game. They also tend to bring some of their charming friends from Belfast who bring so much to EL football

Quote Originally Posted by max power
    one of only a few sensible city posts
    The vast majority of posts here are sensible, it's just that they don't accord with your point of view.
    NOT ONE SOLITARY PERSON has given ONE convincing argument as to why $h£l$ going through last night would have been good for the league.
    They are well ahead now, and fair play to them, it's because of hard work and effort, but there are a few clubs who ARE trying to catch up.
    Bohs, City, Derry, Drogs, Longford would have little or no chance of catching $h£l$ if they get access to Champions League money. How could any other club get anywhere near the millions that $h£l$ would get?
    I support Cork City, and I don't want my club to have no chance at all of winning the league for the next 5 or 6 years.
    If thats petty minded, good, because its better than having the downright stupid attitude that you want $h£l$ to dominate your club and your league.
    Just who is seeing "the bigger picture" ?
    Last edited by patsh; 25/08/2004 at 11:17 AM.

Anyone else think shels were overly physical last night. Not that this should be a surprise to eL people but be interested to know what non-eL people think of it.

Williams was stupidly (could see he too far off line for freekick) positioned for 3rd goal & Moore was a compleet idiot to get sent off & miss next euro game but then again his manager hardly showed a good example.

Game last night looked like shels had believed the hype that they had realistic chance of progressing & really did seem like bad losers (that does that positice side though) when can't have too many complaints about result.

Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    If thats petty minded, good, because its better than having the downright stupid attitude that you want $h£l$ to dominate your club and your league.
    Just who is seeing "the bigger picture" ?
    Like so many others on here you seem to want the league to remain stagnant until City are in a postion to move up to the next level.
    We should be in a far stronger position than any of the 6 Dublin clubs given our relative monoply on football in the south west.
    If we can't compete with Shels then we may as well give up and let a more ambitious club take out place in the league.
    Hoping that Shels don't have success so that the league will remain weak enough for us to win it is a very unfortunate aspiration to have.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Like so many others on here you seem to want the league to remain stagnant until City are in a postion to move up to the next level.
    We should be in a far stronger position than any of the 6 Dublin clubs given our relative monoply on football in the south west.
    If we can't compete with Shels then we may as well give up and let a more ambitious club take out place in the league.
    Hoping that Shels don't have success so that the league will remain weak enough for us to win it is a very unfortunate aspiration to have.
    Like so many others on here, you seem to read whatever you feel like into peoples posts. Like a few others on here, you should disabuse yourelf of the notion that you somehow have more insight than others.
    1. The league has not/is not remaining stagnant. More clubs have gone full time, more clubs appreciate just what they need to do to get success and are attempting to do it, the move to summer soccer in an attempt to improve etc. etc.
    2. At the moment, we can almost compete with $h£l$ and are trying hard to catch up. However, if they get access to millions of €, we have no hope of competing for a long time, and neither does any other club.
    3. $h£l$ already have a lot of success, and most other clubs are trying to emulate that. This is already ensuring that the league will remain anything but weak.

but cry all ya want, next season we could be there again and seeing as the inter tayto cup is gone, where do yee go

check your facts bud

toto cup got gone til the following season

sorry then, got that wrong.....so you'll be in another pointless euro comp next year, enough it keep pat in the job for another 12 months
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

sorry then, got that wrong.....so you'll be in another pointless euro comp next year, enough it keep pat in the job for another 12 months

but winning games and making money along the way

agreed, but where is it going.....paying bills yes....no other sucess has to be a let down.....at the end of the season dolan will have had 2 full seasons..not much more than alan with a much larger budget, but where is the silverware for the BIGGEST club in Ireland....

i really think Ego fans need to take a long hard look at the club and realise how many seasons without silverware ???

btw the above is not a pi$$ take but simple truth.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

No one needs to tell City fans just how few trophys we have won Max.
    However, the chairman and whole club is doing their very best to do something about that. You can't expect more than that.

yes you can, from the BIGGEST club in Ireland...the BEST SUPPORTED club in Ireland.....all Dloans's words.

where is the silverware to prove this, i think its time Cork fans faced reality, if there was a prize for under achievement....they would win hands down. yet yee seem to be happy with a run in a pointless european competition. strange that, isn't it....

ya can say what ya want about shels ( and corner you usually do ) but you need to be more like them, if dolan shut his mouth and focused on the team like Pat Fenlon, maybe Cork could be in that position.

where is the silverware.
    Look Max you won the cup once and got into Europe twice.
    Enjoy it while you can but it doesn't make your club great.
    Being humiliated in Europe is bad for the league.
    You WILL NOT win the cup this year!
    You WILL NOT qualify for Europe this year!
    Mark my words.

where is the silverware to prove this, i think its time Cork fans faced reality, if there was a prize for under achievement....they would win hands down. yet yee seem to be happy with a run in a pointless european competition. strange that, isn't it....

ya can say what ya want about shels ( and corner you usually do ) but you need to be more like them, if dolan shut his mouth and focused on the team like Pat Fenlon, maybe Cork could be in that position.[/QUOTE]

Have to agree with you there!
    We should be doing more to improve our own lot.
    Dolan runs the biggest smoke screen this side of Bush's WMD campaign.
    However, I don't care which EL team Deportivo beat last night, I would be sick as a dog if any other EL could generate that kind of income and turn the EL into a mini SPL. Except CORK CITY cos I want my team to become the
    biggest, most sucessful team in Europe
    And if you can't say the same about your team...glad you don't follow City.
    This is not being egotistical or sniping at Dublin or anything else, just pure footballing logic.
    We are Football

we are the best supported club in ireland, in terms of gate receipts at least.

the 'biggest' club is more a statement of potential. ccfc are the only eL club in the city. it's not unrealistic, with a little success on the pitch, to hope for regular gates of 8,000 - providing a platform for continued success. everything is in place for ccfc to become the biggest club in the country, but if it does happen it will take time.

as for being more like shels, well that's exactly what pat dolan wants. we have a young team that are far from the finished article. we have only relatively recently begun the process of turning professional. we still don't have proper training facilities. no-one expected league success this season - the intertoto cup run was a bonus which maybe led to unrealistic expectations on the part of some fans - so to say the club have underachieved is unfair. even financially, pat dolan has yet to spend a cent in the transfer market, although our wage-bill is high.

dolan is an outspoken guy. he always was, and always will be. the positive side of that is he raises the profile of the club, the negative that he rubs a lot of people up the wrong way. it's always been an irish trait to knock ambititon. stand up and say 'we're going to be the best' and you get attacked. but without ambition you go nowhere. i'd rather be in the position of having a huge amount of potential and the willingness to work hard to realise that potential than to have short-term success on the pitch but no room to grow as a club.
    UEFA Intertoto Cup 2004

P6 W3 D2 L1

Legends.

Quote Originally Posted by wiseman

ya can say what ya want about shels ( and corner you usually do ).
    its not just shels i hate

add bohs,dublin city,pats,rovers,waterford,derry,longord,drogs to the list

i couldnt give a sh!t about any of them

i only care about city

answering peadar, true we will not win the league, but then again we never said we would or that we are the best team around....

to be honest we are blessed at the mo. but we face facts, we over achieve for the size of our budget.....SOME of your supporters are just living in a different world thinking that the wins in europe made cork the greatest team ever...

as was said above, shels have set the level, its up to yee to catch them now.

its up to yee to catch them now.
    dont ye have any ambition of catching them

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner

i only care about city
    agreed, i couldn't give a $hite about any of them either, but i don't hate them.....well maybe rovers. but its a small league and we have to work together to bring up the standard and the profile. thats the problemn with thsi little island of ours, we all work against each other to try and get the result.

at the mo, the main thing for us finanical stabilty, that gives us the scope to push forward with a bigger budget. no point in gambleing the clubs future on a whime. pats tried it and look where they are now.

Quote Originally Posted by thecorner

i only care about city
    After 2,228 posts I'd expepct a bit more maturity but obviously it's too much to ask for.

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    You're so paranoid it's not even funny!
    Not really to be honest !!

We need to get our act together before we can challenge for the league, regardless of how much Shels make. That's the way it's been for years. We can't even beat Dublin City FFS! We can't base our ambitions on the hope that Shels fail and drop back down to our level. We and the rest of the league need to aim to rise to their level. For decades we've craved recognition for the league and Shels have done an enormous amount towards getting that for the league.
    I didnt and have never disagreed with that .... there is no wool over my eyes.

Wake up and see the bigger picture lads.
    The fact of the matter is, we could not emulate what Shels have done this season and most of us are jealous.
    Agreed again ..... but again ..... If Shels won last night ... what good would it have done ... it would have raised the profile of the league and that is it. No other eL club would have benefited from it.

My argument is that it is not good for the league to have one team pull away from the pack and dominate for the next 10-20 years. It would be like watching SPL .... Shíte ..... Thats what we should avoid. That is all i am saying.

Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast