Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

Thread: Best of luck to Deportivo from the Rebel Army!

Quote Originally Posted by blobbyblob
    So tired of this rubbish

I think a big factor here lads (and wake up to it FFS) is that if Shels won ..... the league title would be over for 21 clubs for the next 10 years.

Over ...... a non issue

Lads ..... 10 Million

€10,000,000.00 !!!!!

This is the reason why most people dont want Shels to go through.

To be honest .... of course you cant help wanting an Irish club to do well, but it is the consequences of their success that has spooked the horses.

If people cant grasp this .... then i give up !!

82 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by patsh
    1. Having 30 fans travel the length of the country on a two day trip isn't bad.
    2. Thats about 25 more than came down here from Derry.
    Get your specs sorted patsh. I was one of 50 odd that came down in June and at the end of last season. Not to mention the travelling Cup semi-final crowd 2 years ago. Not bad for a relegation challenging team.....

See you in Derry

Quote Originally Posted by OneRedArmy
    Get your specs sorted patsh. I was one of 50 odd that came down in June and at the end of last season. Not to mention the travelling Cup semi-final crowd 2 years ago. Not bad for a relegation challenging team.....

See you in Derry
    1. I don't wear specs, its just that you cannot count.
    2. Wow, you travelled in numbers for a cup semi-final..
    3. You won't see me in Derry, I have a job and having to take 2 days off to suit Derry City FC is not on.

Quote Originally Posted by A face
    To be honest .... of course you cant help wanting an Irish club to do well, but it is the consequences of their success that has spooked the horses.

If people cant grasp this .... then i give up !!
    You're so paranoid it's not even funny!
    We need to get our act together before we can challenge for the league, regardless of how much Shels make. That's the way it's been for years. We can't even beat Dublin City FFS! We can't base our ambitions on the hope that Shels fail and drop back down to our level. We and the rest of the league need to aim to rise to their level. For decades we've craved recognition for the league and Shels have done an enormous amount towards getting that for the league.
    Wake up and see the bigger picture lads.
    The fact of the matter is, we could not emulate what Shels have done this season and most of us are jealous.

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by max power
    i am so so so sick of this cork ego attitude.....you did well in a pointless competition, no hope of the league or the cup. maybe its time you focused on your own club instead of shels.
    I don't think its a cork ego thing max.
    I mean we are not all of the same opinion.

It comes across to me as some type of jealousy at the fact that Shels out did us in Europe and also fear at what them succeeding might achieve.

We need to look at what they are doing and emulate it not be jealous of it.

I hate Shels as much as the next guy but you have to say fair play at what they have achieved.
    Lets concentrate on our own club and on us getting to the CL.

Not to mention the travelling Cup semi-final crowd 2 years ago.
    That was the best away bunch I'd ever seen at the cross, not just the numbers but the noise and the colour, fair play as it was a friday night too.

City have a decent regular away support now, I think it's actually been built on off the back of the euro away games as more people got involved and got to know each other, but as long as Derry have games on a thursday night, you're never going to see more than 50 from cork in the brandywell. I can't take two days off to travel up either, and I'm only in Dublin.

Quote Originally Posted by razor
    I don't think its a cork ego thing max.
    I mean we are not all of the same opinion.

It comes across to me as some type of jealousy at the fact that Shels out did us in Europe and also fear at what them succeeding might achieve.

We need to look at what they are doing and emulate it not be jealous of it.

I hate Shels as much as the next guy but you have to say fair play at what they have achieved.
    Lets concentrate on our own club and on us getting to the CL.
    agree 100% razor
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

still its hard for cork to beat DC when they are lookin at tolka park. You can whinge all ya like but lets face it, we win 3 more games and we're back in europe again....remember that. maybe even 2 if shels ( ) were in the final.

you have a hard remainder to the season ahead and unless all efforts are focused on turners cross and not tolka then t could spell the end for pat.....
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Thumbs down

Ye sad collection of begrudgers. I apologise for my ignorance in thinking that an ounce of sportsmanship might have existed by the Lee. Is there any City fan who wishes to disassociate themselves with the crap posted previously on this thread.
    Get a life ye sad shower!

w*nkers for wanting Depor to win !

Any success for the league in europe is good, no matter who the club is. It's not as if we can turn such good press down when all we normally get is people having ago at our league.

we win 3 more games and we're back in europe again.....
    So that you can show up the league again?
    We may as well have Limerick in Europe for all the good you've done.
    You're a disgrace!
    Learn how to win a game, will you.

we do win games, cup games

but cry all ya want, next season we could be there again and seeing as the inter tayto cup is gone, where do yee go

look at cork before you complain about longford or whing about $hels.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

144 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by observer
    Ye sad collection of begrudgers. I apologise for my ignorance
    Apology not accepted.
    Don't tar everyone with the same brush.

we do win games, cup games

but cry all ya want, next season we could be there again.
    Longford are happy to just be in it.
    They should take the next step now and look to try and get a result from at least one game. It's performances like yours that have kept the league down for years. Athlone Town would put up a better fight!

Quote Originally Posted by Roo69
    w*nkers for wanting Depor to win !

Any success for the league in europe is good, no matter who the club is. It's not as if we can turn such good press down when all we normally get is people having ago at our league.
    I can't believe the petty mindedness of some people on this thread. In club terms Depor is my team as many of you know, but I think that Shels accession to the group stages last night would have been brilliant for Irish football, and not something I would have wished against. As for bandwagon merchants, it wasn't long ago that the locals couldn't be ar*ed going to Bishopstown let alone Derry, FFS.

Moaning about Ollie Byrne etc. Haven't you got anyone with money to burn in Cork? Or are they all investing it in English teams? To Shels fans: 57 minutes without conceding a goal at the Riazor. I may be wrong, but I don't think Real Madrid managed that last year. Certainly not AC Milan. You did Ireland proud and here's to a decent UEFA cup run.
    This is the cooooooooooooolest footy forum I've ever seen!

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    Longford are happy to just be in it.
    They should take the next step now and look to try and get a result from at least one game. It's performances like yours that have kept the league down for years. Athlone Town would put up a better fight!
    what good were your results, the inter tayto cup does nothing for the league standing in europe.....we earned our place in a REAL european competition and are only 3 games away from doing it again........look at cork before you look at others, maybe then the ego might shrink a bit when you realise your not gonna win the league or the cup and qualifying for europe is just a maybe...all this from the BIGGEST team on the country

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    The fact of the matter is, we could not emulte what Shels have done this season and most of us are jealous.
    the truth peadar. as i said already we should be looking to match what shels are acheiving not bellyaching and pretending that we have some sort of divine right to win trophies.

regardless of how shels got on last night we are inn our own little domestic goldfish miles away form even winning the league.

i see lennox in the examiner was talking some tough stuff especially we don't have another home game until sept
    Last edited by cathal; 25/08/2004 at 10:49 AM.

cork have no divine right, 5 trophies for the BIGGEST club in Ireland.

Maybe lennox should be ringing ollie up for advice.

.....seeing as the inter tayto cup is gone, where do yee go ........
    for the record, it's being phased out over the next couple of years, it'll still be there next year.

If Longford do win the cup again and get into Europe, I and many other City fans will be cheering you on just as we were this year. Not all city fans wanted Shels to lose last night, I'll admit I was a less vocal in my support of them than I'd been for the landsdowne game, but I still found myself saddened when the first goal went in.

Like them or not (and I don't, although unlike others I've not a single bad thing to say about their fans), they were flying the flag for the LoI last night, and despite my nerves about what the money would mean to them, I couldn't bring myself to cheer for Deportivo.

At the end of the day, they did the league proud and I hope they can keep it going into the UEFA cup.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    for the record, it's being phased out over the next couple of years, it'll still be there next year.

If you do win the cup again and get into Europe, I and many other City fans will be cheering you on just as we were this year. Not all city fans wanted Shels to lose last night, I'll admit I was a less vocal in my support of them than I'd been for the landsdowne game, but I still found myself saddened when the first goal went in.

Like them or not (and I don't, although unlike others I've not a single bad thing to say about their fans), they were flying the flag for the LoI last night, and despite my nerves about what the money would mean to them, I couldn't bring myself to cheer for Deportivo.

At the end of the day, they did the league proud and I hope they can keep it going into the UEFA cup.
    one of only a few sensible city posts, ok cheer us on in europe. but don't call us a disgrace when we go out....we were playing so bad at the time it wasn't even funny.

but shels did us proud and its not over yet, still in the UFEA. last night at our cup game we were getting updates every 5 mins, an i was sad to see the first goal go in.

I`d wait & see how many you bring up to Derry before you throw the bandwagon accusations about. I`d say 30 made it last time, for the record.
    Thursday night football doesn't help. Cork-Derry-Cork is like 2 day trip.

btw whats biggest away crowd at the Brandy this season...?

Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast