Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

Thread: Limerick FC Vs Longford - 3/8/12 - Jackman Park

81 Posts
    That ball hit the side bar and came back into play, should have been our goal kick!

Ya ball was definitely not over the line. Jeffrey Judge even hesitated in calling for it and only realized he may as well give a shout for it a second later.

A good result last night a bit disappointed with our finishing but it still gives longford a fighting chance, i am happy with our approach to the game we didnt sit back and accept a draw.

861 Posts
    Alright lads I posted this on our forum but want to say it in here as well. Excellent atmosphere and good banter at the game last night but Jackman Park still remains the only ground in the LOI that the home fans have said best of luck to us and wished us safe on our way home. Fair play lads and see you in Flancare for our title party
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

420 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Alright lads I posted this on our forum but want to say it in here as well. Excellent atmosphere and good banter at the game last night but Jackman Park still remains the only ground in the LOI that the home fans have said best of luck to us and wished us safe on our way home. Fair play lads and see you in Flancare for our title party
    You were so impressed you have now become a Limerick fan

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    You were so impressed you have now become a Limerick fan
    No but we did convert your friend in front of the stand

420 Posts
    No but we did convert your friend in front of the stand
    Ye are welcome to him haha

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bluewhitearmy View Post
    Ye are welcome to him haha
    Does he be there every week? How does he get in in that state?

420 Posts
    Does he be there every week? How does he get in in that state?

Thats the real fella with the money behind us.

27 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Minesapint View Post
    A good result last night a bit disappointed with our finishing but it still gives longford a fighting chance, i am happy with our approach to the game we didnt sit back and accept a draw.
    we should have done better with a couple of chances alright but maybe the players were a little fatigued from playing cards late into the night thurs in the kilmurry where they stayed in preparation for fridays ...big ...game.

Quote Originally Posted by da bishop View Post
    we should have done better with a couple of chances alright but maybe the players were a little fatigued from playing cards late into the night thurs in the kilmurry where they stayed in preparation for fridays ...big ...game.
    why would they stay in the kilmurry the night before a home game? a game of cards wouldnt hurt anyone but if the players were drinking that would be showing a lack of respect to the management and supporters.

Ya playing cards isn't going to do any damage. The game wasn't till Friday night do once they weren't on the **** I don't see a probably.

Didn't think our performance was lacking. It was mentioned someone was Dissapointed in Gamble and Bradley. Gamble I thought worked his socks off and kept the Longford midfield very quiet, puts his body on the line all the time and never pulls out of challenges. Bradley only got about 10 minutes and at that stage we were by passing the midfield.

International Prospect NeverFeltBetter's Avatar
    586 Posts
    Back from the internet-less weekend, was really dissapointed with how it all went. Bad game to watch, a lot of hoofball. Struggled to make chances in the first half, wasted a load of them in the second. No one played really bad and no one played really well. Up front, Foley, Gaffney and Behan just did not seem capable of getting it in the net at all. A lot of over hit balls, a lot of flick ons to nobody (especially from corners/long throws). We tried to be a bit too fancy at times, going for solo glory at others (Gaffney especially).

Referee was appaling from start to finish. Inconsistent, getting in the way of the ball, silly cards being handed out. Awful, awful, awful. Infuriating.

While none of that is great, the defence looked solid and the midfield did fine. A draw is an alright result too, but we really need six from six before we welcome Waterford to Jackman.

Was very suprised at how impotent Longford looked. Everything they did seemed to be an over the top ball that trickled through harmlessly to Ryan. Did he have to make a save?

Good crowd, would have been more but for the weather. Decent atmosphere too for most of it. A good indication of where Limerick would be in the event of promotion.
    Author of Never Felt Better (History, Film Reviews).

Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234