Is this the 1st time that clubs are allowed to enter 2 teams into the competition.I think it dilutes the competition and just makes for more games.Theyve also done it for the Leinster Junior Cup which again makes more games for bigger clubs that can do without it.
Janesboro v Ballananty called off tomorrow due to death in janesboro club.RIP.Jack Hanlon.
Carew park 7 moyross 2. Jamie o Sullivan, pa boyle 2, Jonathan grant 2, john boyle, mark sla.
Moyross won't even get out of 1a after what I saw this morning.. Their very poor... If they went up they would be going straight back down
Summerville 0-0 Fairview (AET - Fairview won 4-2 on pens)
Not a game that was easy on the eye by any stretch of the imagination, with the pitch on the day having a bigger impact on proceedings than any individual player. As such, Fairview found it hard to get any passing sequences going, not helped by the fact that the eleven they selected was being outmatched physically by Summerville all over the park. Credit to the home side in this regard, as their aggression and commitment to the cause ensured that this young Fairview side were never allowed to settle. They also defended extremely well, and although Fairview hit the woodwork twice, neither chance was created from open play.
Summerville were forced to endure extra time with ten men, after one of their centre backs was dismissed for two bookable offences, but they reorganised well, and although a bit of a siege developed towards the end, Fairview still struggled to fashion any clear cut chances.
In terms of personnel, Hogan in midfield for Summerville was very impressive on the day, along with their stopper centre half (no. 4 I think). Robbie Kelleher was introduced as a substitute in the second half of normal time, but was a bit of a passenger in truth.
Fairview struggled physically, as mentioned above. There was also a suspicion that the selection on the day somewhat took Summerville for granted with McGrath and Madigan only being used from the bench. They move to the next round, but will consider themselves somewhat fortunate to do so.
Ennis town rock beat Tralee dynamos down in Tralee, anyone have a report?? I fancied them to get result alright, keepin the Clare flag flying
if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!
Tralee Dynamos threw this game away.Ennis took an early lead from an og from a corner,after that it was all Tralee who wasted at least 3 very good chances.1-0 at the break.second half was much the same with tralee pressing for an equaliser.they got it from the peno spot after a clumsy challenge ,1-1.tralee took the lead wit a great goal from their left back shortly after and went 3-1 ahead with the goal of the game after a long passing sequence.Tralee looked very comfortable going into the last 15 mins of the game,then a mistake in the back let in a ennis player and he finished to the net.tralee still were under no pressure but kept trying to go forward and lost possesion and wit the last kick of normal time ennis scored again.into extra time,Tralee lost their second center half to a nasty looking injury which unsettled things for Tralee.no goals at the break.second period and much to the amazement of everyone in the ground the ref awarded ennis a peno which ennis werent even expecting,they scored from it and as tralee pushed everyone forward ennis broke to finish the game off,5-3 fulltime.Im sure tralee will b kicking themselves after losing this one!
Clare/Kerry/Desmond
Round 3
Classic fc (Kerry) 1-4 Rathkeale Utd (Desmond)
Ballingary (Desmond) 1-2 St Brendans Park (Kerry)
Bridge Utd (Clare) v Avenue Utd (Clare)
Killeaney (Desmond) 0-5 Broadford Utd (Desmond)
Killarney Athletic (Kerry) 4-2 Mastergeeha fc (Kerry)
Ennis Town Rock (Clare) 5-3 Tralee Dynamos (Kerry) , AET
Killarney Celtic (Kerry) 5-0 Spa Road Celtic (Kerry)
Abbeyfeale Utd (Desmond) 0-2 NCW (Desmond)
4th ROUND
NCW (Desmond) v Rathkeale Utd (Desmond)
Broadford Utd (Desmond) v Killarney Celtic (Kerry)
Bridge Utd (Clare)/Avenue Utd (Clare) v Killarney Athletic (Kerry)
St Brendans Park (Kerry) v Ennis Town Rock (Clare)
3rd round ties 03rd/4th Nov
4th round ties 24th/25th Nov
Last edited by Aldo; 12/11/2012 at 7:43 AM.
sagree with you to certain extent..i thought our back four were doing the dominating,as both fulls,mike ryan and john mullane played well.
in other areas summerville were comfortable enough,until the changes came.
as regards underestimating s/ville,your suspicions are unfounded.
there were reasons why neither of the players mentioned, started.agree with you that the pitch had a huge bearing on it,but that's football.
s/ville had a couple of nice players,particularly in midfield.
best of luck to them in the future.
one last note....think their management team would want to came down a bit
Yeah your back four were comfortable, but to be fair Summerville weren't exactly looking to play on the front foot and create a lot of chances. Their full backs were being instructed from the sideline to stay back at all times. Your defence was never overloaded.
Fair enough on the point about the rationale behind players not starting.
And as for your last point I'd have to agree. It was a bit of a cup final for Summerville and I think the occasion got to some of the management team. The best bit being when one of your lads came round to the home side and was told to "f... off back to your own side" by the seemingly nice old man at the gate! Ridiculous! At least Eddie Clancy was there to calm everyone down. Class act.
Few points to pick up on the match.. Taught Sville were good value for the draw, penalties us always a lottery and fair play to fairview on getting through, great club and I wish them all the best for the rest of the fai, I had many good days with them myself..
On our sideline and the " cup final" statement and getting upset, I for one taught Clancy bottled at least one penalty call for us during the game, and played 14 mins each side of et to give ye the best chance if getting a winner when we were down to ten in extra time, I geniunely timed it to the second. As for the fairview man on our sideline... Yes he Got some choice words from a few of us, rightly so he'd no business on our side, couldn't see him doing the same thing in Bateman park or the pike field!!
Finally on Robbie Kelliher, he's a walkin miracle that he can jog let alone sprint, he's injured and is due to go under the knife shortly for an operation.
Anyway as I said above genuine best wishes for the remainder of the season
I'm not a View fan, so less of the "ye" please! Totally neutral.
George Clancy reffed the game impeccably for me. Ye had nothing close to a genuine penalty shout and the red card was completely justified. He aslo handled the stick he was receiving from the sideline extremely well.
Ye were absolutely good value for the draw and in fairness I think I more than made that point in my report.
looks like summervile put up a good show especially after their last encounter against premier opponents when they leaked ten goals.did the sending off happen first or second half?
agree he played overtime in et,but s/ville were wasting time any chance they got(rightly so when you are down to ten men),so he was entitled to add on where he saw fit.
on of the s/ville lads was on "our side" of the field and got treated with respect.
the f/view management,rightly or wrongly,thought a lot of the 50/50 decisions were going yere way,so they decided to try neutralise that by putting a voice on that side of the field.
referee was totally right to send the player off,i was right alongside it,and if you looked at the players demeanour walking off,he knew the ref was right also.
it was not a bad tackle as such,but mcgrath had a clear run towards goal,with two f/view players inside him,up against one s/ville defender.
s/ville played very well on the day,and i suppose they can now concentrate on the main objective of their season,which is promotion to the premier league.
on that performance,they would be more then capable of achieving that,if they can replicate week-in,week-out.
as for robbie, i could not understand how they brought him on.
a brilliant player in his day for fairview,and a great lad as well.
but it was obvious he could not run properly,and also was unfit.
to give him the first peno,was,in my opinion,a mistake.
best of luck to ye for the rest of the season(except when ye play the B team!!)