Page 13 of 64 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2012/13 (Forum ban for Infractions)

just on the ref situation most of us know the rules of the game or think we do anyway.i dont think its the rules that frustrate people but its how they are implemented by certain refs. if a call goes against a team its only normal for people to question it, nine times out of ten if you ask a question you get an answer but it seems to be different with some refs.in there defence if a line or team is constantly on to a ref it will get his back up, again human nature.i think refs should relise teams train twice or three times aweek, sell tickets, line pitches just to have a game off ball,but who would do there job certainly not me.

24 Posts
    On Caement, it was a second team they were putting together for the 3rd division Aul, at the time they had their first team going back senior, I heard a lot of players left Casement so won't be playing with them, not sure what will happen the rest if they don't enter a senior team.
    On the referee thing, it wont change, and the biggest culprits for this are the top teams, it seems drilled into players to call for every little thing collectively, seen it again recently in a friendly we played against a senior team. And watched a lot of senior games last season with the same thing, just a form of trying to bully the refs into giving decisions their way, it works for them so I can't see it stopping, hard enough for the refs without that.

24 Posts
    I agree with ya Red and White, but easier said than done, I've never reffed, and by your comments I doubt you have either. Maybe Maninthemiddle could give his view on it.

32 Posts
    A buddy of mine has just joined Casement MSL. They have 2 teams; 1 AUL and 1 MSL. The senior players will NOT being playing AUL 3 so at least it gives every club a fair go off the league.

any friendlys going ahead tonight lads?

no ref is going to get evereything right and if he did all the games would end up as draws to please everyone. i think
    a huge issue with people [ adults ] are treated like schoolboys when it comes to some refs.if refs dont like indivuals
    from certain teams or certain teams etc that can be avoided.as for been bullied by lines and teams they should be trained
    or advised by their powers that be so i dont think that should wash as an excuse.not enough ex players reffing so when we all pack up we know what to do. i think the weather is going to be the winner this weekend best of luck with any games on.

71 Posts
    We played in the Farm tonight. Pitches were a credit. An easy game to ref Id say cos both teams just got on with it. A good ref though cos he just says what he is thinking - no fluff. Respected by both teams then. Happy with our run out as we beat UCC 1-0. Our best game of pre-season as your last one should be. Bring on the season.
    Just remember, every kick makes me stronger and more determined. Indians always come back!

Quote Originally Posted by Horse24 View Post
    We played in the Farm tonight. Pitches were a credit. An easy game to ref Id say cos both teams just got on with it. A good ref though cos he just says what he is thinking - no fluff. Respected by both teams then. Happy with our run out as we beat UCC 1-0. Our best game of pre-season as your last one should be. Bring on the season.
    New enough to the forum bud who are you associated with?

Quote Originally Posted by Leftside View Post
    A buddy of mine has just joined Casement MSL. They have 2 teams; 1 AUL and 1 MSL. The senior players will NOT being playing AUL 3 so at least it gives every club a fair go off the league.
    how come there not down for the keane cup bud

And teams must realize that we referee up to five or six games in a week/weekend. At the moment I am doing four high level games a weekend. We give players countless opportunities, we have a road block process to cautioning players. Still players get on your back.
    Teams need to understand, referees will have bad days and when we do there is no escape.. We can't wave at the sideline to be substituted like a striker whose missed ten chances on goal or a defender who is to sluggish to track back.
    Referees who have off days can only limp to half time, hoping the second half will be different. Remember we are only ever one tackle away from total chaos ensuing..
    I gave a player four chances last weekend, with each blow of the whistle the back chat would start. "you're not letting the play flow" when i blew for a first free.. every time..... first foul, second foul, chat to player, third foul, spoke to the captain, admonished the player and the fourth yellow card, persistent infringement,.. that's 40 minutes, second half, fifth foul, more back chat, six foul good night, you've had enough chances. Every time I blew the whistle he had something to say. When I finally walked him, there were no arguments from the coaches, no arguments from the team mates.
    I was told earlier in my season, that I get paid to do what I do so i deserve the abuse. I get paid $50 a game, thats a nominal fee to cover my travel expenses and my gear. It's not to have a comfortable living. Referees really are the third team in football and its about as much as retaining composure and not letting **** get to our heads. I was a goalkeeper, a **** one, but one all the same, I called for everything.
    On occasion where I give it back, I get told you're the referee you can't talk like that..I do talk the teams before the game, give them the sceal of what i expect, my style of refereeing and yes I am Irish, so you prob won't understand me so don't waste your breath on me.. I mean that politely..if you have a question ask me at half-time or after the game.
    I do police everything in the first ten minutes to demonstrate that yes I can referee and I am here to keep a grip on the game but then I loosen up as the match temperature allows.
    I love a physical game of football, it's not a tickling contest after all, and that gets me in trouble from time to time but you can't call everything there would be no game. I do play a lot of advantages where possible. There is no better feeling that seeing a great advantage lead to a goal.
    When I referee English teams, I get told I am against them cause I'm Irish.. I explain that is exactly what the IRA had in mind, send me to New Zealand, get me to **** off a few English teams, that would drive the Brits out of the North..
    When I referee more ethnic teams, I get accused of racial bias when I award frees against them and because I am white european.
    Had a right back from south auckland take three swings at me during an all in brawl as I broke up the fight and still he claimed he wasn't aiming for me.. even though he'd jump at me fist closed when my back was turned.
    Remember last season refereeing a Nigerian team in Sunday league and they kept comparing me to the referee who cost Barcelona in the Champion's League, a couple of seasons ago, because they were black and I was white.
    Last year as an Irish referee in NZ, I was sent to referee the only Irish team in the league versus a Chinese team. I awarded Irish team a penalty, Irish team misses penalty, there was an infringement in the box by Chinese player, Irish referee orders a retake to which the Irish team scores. Even though it was all justified, it still sounds so dodgy..doesn't it?
    This weekend Irish team playing in top of the table league decider.. whose assistant referee 1..me! I raise this point to my superiors that this might be suss.. I get at least you'll understand what they are saying.. and it will be grand..
    Refereed their rivals few weeks back on a miserable, shocking day. Pitch barely playable. They were playing a Scottish team.. Celtic Supporter Club. I explained to the rival team, that the pitch was nearly unplayable and if they were sure they wanted to play.. I was an Irish referee, refereeing them in a potential shock because of the conditions.
    Rival team leading 8-0 by half-time, 10-0 by the 75th... pitch was no longer playable.. game abandoned.
    League allowed result to stand thankfully.. these are obviously the more extreme examples of what i have faced.
    It's simple not every kick, push, trip, handball is a foul, not every keeper will hold every ball and I understand naturally first port of call is to blame the referee.
    Last weekend, made a huge mistake as an assistant referee, there was an offside, referee didn't see my flag, blew for a penalty. I kept my flag up for an age. The referee still didn't look, i took my flag down, penalty scored. team went from 2-0 to 3-0 down in an instant. The players were of opinion i"d flagged for penalty any way, which is no excuse, mistakes do happen, never had that situation happen before.
    The assessor rightfully hammered me in the post game assessment for not standing my ground. We learn from our mistakes, won't happen next game or next time situation arises. We get assessed, I get assessed at least once a weekend or once a fortnight. Being assessed is as bizarre as the players... because you've this one person with a clip board telling you everything you done wrong regardless of how well you played...then they finish by saying enjoy your season.
    The week before, i was two minutes deep into injury time, home team up 2-1, time added on was gone, but sufficient delays in injury time, to warrant adding time on... just about to blow when away team kicked a ball from just inside the centre circle and that split the defense, away team scored.. referee to blame... nothing to do with shoddy defending or failure to pick up the striker.. so then after I had a very decent game, in my opinion, I was told to read the rule book, i said thank you, you are entitled to your opinion.. to which I got **** you..
    I still made sure to shake players hands and went home and thought about the game. At the end of the day, we still all have to go to work on Monday and we will cross paths again during the season.
    I work in a bar and I get players coming in asking about my season so far and they tell me about theirs. They see me as human when not in the middle..
    Last edited by padjoe; 17/08/2012 at 5:07 AM.

red what im saying if refs get everything right i talking from teams points of view if every team got every decision we would have no losers great post pajoe

Quote Originally Posted by Radiostar View Post
    I agree with ya Red and White, but easier said than done, I've never reffed, and by your comments I doubt you have either. Maybe Maninthemiddle could give his view on it.
    i take on board the points everyone is making radio. it is a tough job but for me its one that you simply cant do if you are going to let abuse get to you and you cant do it unless you enjoy it to some extent. its not for everyone. i love it. i am restricted by what i can say as the board is read by some refs.

we are the same as playeers. we have good days and bad days. i played and it was the same. i had good and bad and thank god there was many more good performances than bad from me. on bad days i had a plan and on a day when im reffinf and i think im doing poor i also have a plan. we are only human as well and i totally agree with all padjoe says there as well.

i understand firmly teams prepare hard etc and then can feel robbed by a decision. all i know is i get to a match and warm up and prepare and have my gear right. i do my best and me (personally) show everyone the greatest of repect until i have reason not to and even thenm i generally show it anyway. i dont get intimadated easily and that helps. every ref will be different for me. we all have the same rules and try to aply them the same but we all have different personalities which is where you can have problems.

i have no problem with fellas calling for frees or getting a bit frustrated but when they cross the line its a card and we move on. i use common sense all the time.

areas that annoy me are pitches with very poor lines and very poor nets and balls that are flat as pancakes. i dont have to kick the ball at all. fellas roaring for balls out of play when there is hardly an ounce of paint where the lines are. the same fellas you held the match for 5 more minutes because he couldnt get out of bed or its on a pitch with grass ankle high. much harder to take abuse in thoss situations. im there on time with all my gear right and ready to go and look forward to it and act completely professional why cant fellas do the same. or by all means dont be professional at all but dont be bugging me about it. lol

refs are an easy target and i get that but there is no performance that please both teams and thats the way it will always be but at least teams could have their pitchers and lines and equipment right so a ref has no excuse with line calls etc or calling a pen inside or outside a box.

sometimes as well lads in fairness maybe ye are wrong yereselves. lol

i have often see a team conceed 3 straight forward frees in ten minutes with no doubt about them but the mentality then is the ref is robbing them and nothing will change their mind. we have to make hundreds of decisions a game all to the backdrop of one side or the other being unhappy and also with every fella calling for frees or offside regardless of whether or not they are actuially frees or not. we make mistakes yes but its never as bad as ye make out unless ye lose of course.

i love it anyway.

the beginners course is on next week i think. give it a go lads. i wish ye all the best for the season.
    there no such thing as a bad pint.there are ony pints and better pints.

Glen team of the year pictures on the aul website

If this is the case its still wrong there second team were supposed to aul 1 but now are regraded to aul 3 as they dont feel they will be competive in aul 1 but will be more than likely very strong in aul 3. As a result they will probaly end up in aul 2 next year as a promoted side where they feel they were going to end up anyway next season haveing been relegated from aul 1 this season for not being strong enough the end result is the same but via the easy and unfair option! The same thing happend with park last year and its a joke! I understand teams get weakend but this is common place if a club were to decide to take this option in future they should start on minus 10 points as a punishment! This might stop them taking the easy option in the future!

Quote Originally Posted by fruice View Post
    If this is the case its still wrong there second team were supposed to aul 1 but now are regraded to aul 3 as they dont feel they will be competive in aul 1 but will be more than likely very strong in aul 3. As a result they will probaly end up in aul 2 next year as a promoted side where they feel they were going to end up anyway next season haveing been relegated from aul 1 this season for not being strong enough the end result is the same but via the easy and unfair option! The same thing happend with park last year and its a joke! I understand teams get weakend but this is common place if a club were to decide to take this option in future they should start on minus 10 points as a punishment! This might stop them taking the easy option in the future!
    Superb post. The 10 point deduction is a great idea and one i hadnt thought off. might make the teams think twice before taking easy option
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

and what about the clubs busting a gut to get out of Division 3 every year only to have these teams come in and take a promotion place! Shouldn't happen.

I think it is very wrong that certain clubs are able to pick and chose what section they are in.

Shandon Celtic are an excellent example of how to keep a club going even if your team is not up to the standard of the section they are in. Last seaseon they struggled in Division 1 they had a very young team but fair paly to the manager he kept them together which is hard to do when losing games they always have good numbers training when we palyed them last year our manager who would have plenty of experinece had a few words of wisdom to pass onto the Shandon manager which is nice to see in football these days as some clubs and managers like to kick you when you are down so maybe clubs could take learn a lot from Shandon Celtic and how they conducted themselves rather than looking for the easy option.

A quick question lads if a player has signed 2 registration forms with 2 different AUL clubs is it which ever form he signed first he is signed to or is it whovever he first kicks a ball with someone told me if a player signed a form with Club A and then Club B he needs to get a transfer even before a ball is kicked anyone have an answer on this ?

Quote Originally Posted by norrieclubman View Post
    I think it is very wrong that certain clubs are able to pick and chose what section they are in.

Shandon Celtic are an excellent example of how to keep a club going even if your team is not up to the standard of the section they are in. Last seaseon they struggled in Division 1 they had a very young team but fair paly to the manager he kept them together which is hard to do when losing games they always have good numbers training when we palyed them last year our manager who would have plenty of experinece had a few words of wisdom to pass onto the Shandon manager which is nice to see in football these days as some clubs and managers like to kick you when you are down so maybe clubs could take learn a lot from Shandon Celtic and how they conducted themselves rather than looking for the easy option.

A quick question lads if a player has signed 2 registration forms with 2 different AUL clubs is it which ever form he signed first he is signed to or is it whovever he first kicks a ball with someone told me if a player signed a form with Club A and then Club B he needs to get a transfer even before a ball is kicked anyone have an answer on this ?
    I'd say he needs a transfer of he signed for a club a first he's their player I'm afraid back to the casement thing I'm in that league if your teams good enough you should get out of it we have them next so well see what their like , sounds like a good ship there in shandon are they lads that have grown up together or what

that casement dropping down 2 divisions is a fisco lads the aul have alot to answer for

Quote Originally Posted by Liathroidi View Post
    that casement dropping down 2 divisions is a fisco lads the aul have alot to answer for
    It's a joke alright but what's done is done

Page 13 of 64 FirstFirst ... 311121314152363 ... LastLast