Page 47 of 64 FirstFirst ... 37454647484957 ... LastLast

Thread: Cork AUL 2012/13 (Forum ban for Infractions)

31 Posts
    Could you make the argument hitnhope that if he is a good player he can't be as sharp as he should be by playing a poorer standard every week, you need to be playing against the best and the fittest week in week out to mix it with the Kerry team or the Tipp team, this is a cork team at the end of the day?? This is no disrespect to the lower leagues I know ye train and give 150% every week for yer clubs just like the premier teams but football is about standards and some are gonna be better than others that's football!! The tower players played MJL last year so obviously can play but will they be sharp enough against the top junior players in the country???

Well from what I have seen from this so called "B" player he is as fit and sharp as anyone else out there. Clearly the lower leagues overall dont have the quality of premier teams but there are a good handfull of players down there who could quite easily play at any level, hense a few of them being selected for the squad. If these lads are fully fit and are good enough players then of course they should be given a chance, or would it make more sense to pick players who are not as good and not as fit just on the basis of them playing premier?? If these lads were not sharp enough it would have been noted at training or at the matches. I think people should at least wait until this selection of players play a tough practice match before criticising so much???

I totally agree with hitnhope, everyone has been calling for a change with AUL squad over the past year and now its changed there is still people moaning, so leave the new management team at it and hope they do well. From looking at the first list released this season for the oscar traynor trials there was a lot of players with past experience on that, i take it they have decided to give it a miss this year. I think it was triggs there who mentioned Derek Delea, I actually watched the Carrigtohill/Knockraha game on Sunday morning in Carrig, good game of ball and carrig very lucky to come out of it with a win, Knockraha looked the better team on the day and missed 2 great chances to win the game in normal time, I seen carrig play earlier this season and it looked like they where missing a few sunday morning all right. Derek was a top player in the AUL over the years but you can see that he is loosing the yards all right so maybe thats why he did not make it to the Oscar traynor panel or not put himself forward. Was very lucky to stay on the pitch, 2 very bad tackles from him, 1 which could of been a straight red, Knockraha are a decent team for a such a small area to pick from and have a big lad in middle, I think they where calling him Buckley who was running the show for them.

Muller, 2 bad tackles from Delea ? Not sure what game you were watching there pal. Was a very clean, competitive game from two strong physical sides. On the Cork AUL side, for whatever reason Derek isnt with the AUL side i dont think its any of anyones business why he isnt involved and not fair to be pressuming reasons as to why.
    Lets not forget the cup shocks we had at the weekend, and ours could have been one too as it went to pens. You failed to mention that had we taken our chances in the first half the game could have been over as a contest. Knockraha too had their chances and will count themselves unlucky not to get out of Carrig with a win. They have a very good, strong and disiplined side that in my opinion will be there abouts come the end of the season. Would also like to mention that the referee had a super game, cutting out any niggle early on and let the game flow well.

21 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Triggs View Post
    Surely Kinsale won the AOH back to back at some stage
    Kinsale won the AOH Cup in 2008 and 2009.
    The last team to retain the cup.

Wilton won back to back in the 80s

i see the main topic at the moment seems to be the selsection= of so called lesser league players for the aul team.

84 Posts
    I see that the tsdl beat the aul 2 nil last night

muller think you must have been in the castle before the game because like the owl i didn,t see a bad tackle in the whole game good competitive game played by two sporting sides.

31 Posts
    Oldlegs what are you talking about?? The AUL didn't pla last night??

Quote Originally Posted by our_ball_ref View Post
    Oldlegs what are you talking about?? The AUL didn't pla last night??
    michaels beat park 2-0 think hes making a joke about park being the aul as they have so many on the panel this year

84 Posts
    I wouldn't call what I said a joke to be honest . Park have 6 on AUL panel and St Micheals would have the same if not more on the TSDL panel so I would say its a fair reflection of both squads . What you think ?

fair enough it wasnt a joke. i dont see six from park starting to be honest.

Quote Originally Posted by Hubba Bubba View Post
    old legs great comment..look lads i know i was probably one off the first fellas to slate the squad selection but at the end off the day i will hope they will do well i think we all should hope they do well i was talkin to someone on night shift with myself last night in work and he was sayin that he hopes that theylose by not one or two goals but more same guy is a manager off a premier a team he knows who he is not giving no namesi think babsy is a cert for captain of the aul team..just a quick question how much are other clubs charging for script and for training just a quick question.
    why would ya manage in a league and hope ur representive team loses? that is logic defying. we all have our opinions on the squad and think we know it all but dont think any of us want them to lose. i know a couple of teams are a 5er training (one night) 5er match. another 3 teams i know sell tickets and another 2 pay a tenner a week (2 nights training) + match.

84 Posts
    I hope they do well. But it won't stop me having my say on a team that represents the league I play in

22 Posts
    Everyone has their own opinion lads. If they want them to do well or not is entirely up to the individual. I, for one, would like to see the team do well even though the team has not got anyone from my club on it. If someone says to me ''i hope they get hockeyed'' then fair enough. Each to his own.

Quote Originally Posted by thebooboys View Post
    Leeside won AOH in 05 & 06, and think Greenmount in 2001 & 2002
    i think i lost AOH final in 2001 to Leeside, i think ...

FORMERLY: Donnie Darko
    27 Posts
    Heard Blarney were beaten today. Any other scores?

77 Posts
    Pearse C 1-0 Coachford great result for Pearse down in Coachford not an easy place to get a win.

FORMERLY: Donnie Darko
    27 Posts
    Fair result? Any report?

77 Posts
    It was in fairness Coachford put us under fierce pressure at one stage in the second half alrite had a bout six corners in a row but we dealt with them, 1st half we by far the better team and they should have had a player sent off their manager was cute out tho and subbed him at half time.Our keeper made a few worldies aswell in the second half we hung on tho and deserved the win in my opinion anyway.

Page 47 of 64 FirstFirst ... 37454647484957 ... LastLast