Thread: Las Vegas

37 Posts

Las Vegas

I had to open a thread on Sin City. I was there for a week in 2001 (it was half of my honeymoon) and it was amazing. You must wear your Cultiure Blinkers and soak it up.

Every hotel has a different theme and each one has a ploy to make you part with your Dollars. Typically, they will have free-for-all buffets that cost damn all and you can eat steak, shrimp and lobster till it comes out your, er, .... ears.

If you gamble, you get "free" drinks. The scantly clad waitresses will make you stronger dinks and serve them more often if you tip generously. I gave a dollar for my first vodka and Coke but she was unimpressed and avoided me for ages, despite my empty glass, In another hotel, I tipped five dollars for a drink for me and one for my wife and the hostess 'minded' us until we left.

Anyone else been there?
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

About 4 hours drive away....so I've been several times. Once the novelty wears off its actually a manky sh!t hole. Did ya notice that there are no clocks or windows in the casinos?....an attempt to make you lose track of time and money.

yeah i've been there a lot too,have to say i love going but 2 days is more than enough

250 Posts
    Great place,particularly if you're a gambler.
    I wasn't bored for a minute during my 4 days there.Can't wait to go back.Grand Canyon a really impressive sight.Got a good deal and stayed at the Belaggio Hotel
    Last edited by the 12 th man; 21/01/2007 at 10:08 PM.

I had a great time there back in the summer of 1998, spending a weekend in Ballys. I'd agree it's best kept short and sweet, as the place is a little too far removed from reality to make for the total holiday. Still, I've always said I'd love to go back. Incidently, I never gambled a bean over there.

37 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Eoingull View Post
    .... Incidently, I never gambled a bean over there.
    I decided before I even landed there, that I wouldn't gamble more than $100 during my stay in Vegas. As it so panned out, I poured sixty dollars into one machine in the airport while I waited for the luggage! It was all over in a few minutes and I would've put more in, only for our luggage arrived. I spent another 300 dollars the following day and retired from gambling after that..
    Nobody knows us, we don't care

Las Vegas

Heading over to Las Vegas in mid May with the missus. I'm a geek so obviously I've researched it a bit but anyone got any must sees (or "avoid like the plagues")

We're staying in Caesaers Palace

I fecking hate people who don't check to see if there's alreadya thread here....

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    Heading over to Las Vegas in mid May with the missus. I'm a geek so obviously I've researched it a bit but anyone got any must sees (or "avoid like the plagues")

We're staying in Caesaers Palace
    Check out Lake Mead and the Hoover Dam. Ye can get a decent fry up in the "Nine Fine Irishmen" in NewYork NewYork.

Quote Originally Posted by Dodge View Post
    I fecking hate people who don't check to see if there's alreadya thread here....
    So do I

250 Posts
    Venetian Hotel (close enough to Ces Palace) worth checking out just for a look at its indoor river complete with Gondoliers .

Old Vegas - a bit away from the main drag (where the Golden Nugget is)has gotten a bit run down so give it a miss imo.

Miss Raptor has always wanted to get Married in Vegas where as I always swore I'd never set foot in that particular den of iniquity, but hey who am I to deny her dreams, so when we finally do get around to tying the knot it'll be the chapel o' love for us

It's 4 or 5 years since i've been, but....

Essentials:

Hoover Dam
    The Sterling Sunday Brunch in Ballys (expensive, but well worth a blow-out)
    The Big Shot at the Stratosphere
    The Star Trek Experience in the Hilton is fun (I'm not a trekkie)
    If you venture downtown, there's a great buffet at the Main Street Station
    The $4 roulette tables in Excalibur are great fun
    The Poker room in the Monte Carlo is nice

Avoid:
    Most comedy shows
    Everything to do with the Stratosphere except the Big Shot
    The Hard Rock Hotel

I was there last month. Great place. Spent a lot gambling but absolutely loved the rush. It's so hard to walk away when winning. Played Blackjack most of the time, bar one poker competition.

Stayed there twice, Flamingo first time and Bellagio second time. Lovely places. Pure nightclub is brilliant. It's in Caesars Palace.

By the way, if anyone has a few million to spare, they're building a luxurious apartment complex on the strip at the moment:

http://www.citycenter.com/
    Last edited by sligoman; 29/02/2008 at 12:55 PM. Reason: merge
    The glass isn't half full or half empty it's just too damn big!

Just back from a few days there at the tail end of California Holiday.

* Hoover Dam is ok (I wouldn't go out of my way to go there) but the Grand Canyon is worth making the effort. I did the South & East rim & sunset is spectacular.
    * Planet Hollywood has a huge indoor mall for shopping needs.
    * There is a large Outlet Mall south of the strip ($15-20 taxi ride).
    * Probably best to book shows in advance. Blue Man Group at the Venetian was very good. There are several ticket agents on the strip that give discounted tickets for that night but even though they say you may get 50% off seemed more like 20%.
    * Days of cheap food long gone & the couple of buffets I tried were average.
    * Casino gave me $1.47 when credit card & Irish bank giving $1.42. Seems casino not taking any commission so if I was returning would just bring Euro.

At this time of year mid week was fairly quiet but weekend crowd had arrived by the time I was leaving. Played Blackjack (hard to lose too much at) but I must admit I got bored with it. I had no interest in slots. I would expect it to be busy in May. Stayed in MGM Signature (suites are very impressive but is long trek to the MGM Grand & the strip & Monte Carlo (very average, would not recommend).

My overall impression was that Vegas has something to attract all tastes. Gambling is optional & seems to be more an entertainment centre than anything else. If you want seedy you can find it & if not very easy to avoid.
    Last edited by pete; 02/03/2008 at 12:34 PM.

I can't beleave you lot left out NAPKIN NIGHTS.

We were there as part of our honeymoon also and went onto napkinnights.com and registered, they put you on the VIP lists in a lot of the top nightclubs on the strip. Pure nightclub being on of them.

Do the roller coaster around New York New York - it's great fun.

The Grand canyon is a must

Rent a car and travel a little outside of the city towards - San Fran and you will come across some Ghost Towns - there pretty cool.

The old town is alright for an hour or two but keep your wits about you

Try and get married by Elvis - this is probably the hardest thing to do in Vegas unless you have it pre booked, we tried for three full days and couldn't get a free slot at all. SO all those stars that get married when drunk as a bit of a laugh are lying.

C.D.S.C

The copyright for this post is owned by AAD Enterprises and can be used at a cost.

Formerly: dublinharp carrickharp's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by dancinpants View Post
    Ye can get a decent fry up in the "Nine Fine Irishmen" in NewYork NewYork.
    We have booked into that NewYork NewYork Hotel mad looking spot!! Any other suggestions about things to do in Vegas would be very welcome, we are staying 3 nights so have to get as much in a possible!!
    “Jockey Wilson . . . What an athlete.” - Sid Waddell
    www.donegaldarts.com

82 Posts
    Can I second Pete's recommendation for the Blue Man Group (the guys from the Intel ads years ago) show at the Venetian.

Get tickets near the front, its expensive but I thought it was absolutely brilliant.

Enjoyed Stratosphere more than I thought I would. chickened out of the rides though (clearly getting old, wouldn't have bothered me a few years ago). The new one that catapults you over the edge and then stops is possibly the scariest thing I've ever seen, particularly as you can feel it shake the tower

Very good Asian restaurant in the Venetian called Tao.

I stayed in the Bellagio this time having stayed in the Luxor the other times I'd been there. Its a lovely hotel but I'm not sure I'd pay the premium again as the standards weren't sufficiently better. I also missed the inclinators at the Luxor which are great fun after a night on the beers

in the hills of donegal?!

Anyone Heading to Vegas, should do the helicopter trip with over night stay in cowboy ranch, cheesy but best trip i've done on a holiday.

Fly over Lake Mead, Hoover Dam, Through Grand Canyon, Dropped off at cowboy ranch where you will be picked up by horse and wagon, brought to ranch where you have the chance to stay in a log cabin or Teepee. Dinner cooked and severed under candle light. After dinner out to camp fire for roasting marshmellows, singing cowboys, few beers, etc. Excellent!!!

Piocked up next morning by helicopter and flown up the Vegas main strip on way back to airport. Think is was around $300 each but well worth it and keeps you away from gambling for a full day and night!!