Page 9 of 21 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast

Thread: Clare League 2012/13

That's a loss as Darren is a good player and played well last year.. Does he work away or what

Quote Originally Posted by dirtfree View Post
    That's a loss as Darren is a good player and played well last year.. Does he work away or what
    Working evenings so wouldn't be able make it training i think he said. i agree though great player and a sound man.

Anyone know why avenue only have 2 outfield players in Oscar traynor squad surely 2 nugents and Davy McCarthy are good enough ..

Obviously Newmarket were going to dominate the squad but I think having Colin Ryan n Eoin Hayes is a joke. They havent kicked a ball this season and are ahead of davy mccarthy

Dirtfree you are far too interested in the Oscar traynor squad, give it a rest will ya. More attempts by you to stir. MAYBE THOSE PLAYERS YOU MENTION COULDN'T COMMIT!!! best of luck to all those involved Wednesday night

Football friend really doubt Hayes and Ryan are part of the squad for Wednesday night considering they are playing county final next weekend. Could be wrong but they weren't in squad I was told

Play on this is a forum to discuss football in our county if you don't like my comments don't read them or logout permanently .. I simply asked a question as avenue were the 2nd best team in Clare last year but only have 2 in squad..if you look at Clare league website the squad is up there.. Davy McCarthy was the 2nd top scorer in Clare last year. I don't think Davy would refuse to play for his county but maybe I'm wrong maybe he couldn't commit.. But come on are you telling me Dave o Grady is better than matt nugent ..it's a pity Russ is away as he's the only bit of steel we have in squad.. Great to see nabs back though

Dirtfree there you go again jump head first without actually knowing what your talking about. Davy McCarthy I am reliably told had other commitments and declined to join up with the squad. Didn't take that long at all to research. Personally I would pick o' Grady ahead of Mattie but sure that's football full of opinions. His the fullback of the champions and unbeaten team from last season.

Agh did you not read my post " maybe he can't commit " I think o Grady is a good player but wouldn't be my choice at right back.. But if he starts I wish him the best..

Wrong again. This season alone Colin Ryan and Eoin Hayes played Hugh Kelly tournament incl final against Avenue, played league cup games, played 1st league game against Rhine Rovers. Only games they have missed for Newmarket this season is Pike Rovers in munster senior and today against Kilmaley. So yes they have kicked a ball. Check facts before guessing.
    Davy McCarthy like Darren Murphy and a number of other good players(including other players from Avenue who were asked) are unable to commit due to a number of reasons. Its unfortunate that these players cant commit but such is life.

Quote Originally Posted by dirtfree View Post
    Play on this is a forum to discuss football in our county if you don't like my comments don't read them or logout permanently .. I simply asked a question as avenue were the 2nd best team in Clare last year but only have 2 in squad..if you look at Clare league website the squad is up there.. Davy McCarthy was the 2nd top scorer in Clare last year. I don't think Davy would refuse to play for his county but maybe I'm wrong maybe he couldn't commit.. But come on are you telling me Dave o Grady is better than matt nugent ..it's a pity Russ is away as he's the only bit of steel we have in squad.. Great to see nabs back though
    This forum is to discuss football in our county when you actually know what you are talking about . Are you seriously telling me that the Clare team are still depending on Russ . The man is 37 and had a great career he has experience and is a good man to have on the squad but that is it , we should be looking to the future and I think that is exactly what the current manager is trying to do if people like yourself could give him a chance . You also say that Russ is the only man with a bit of steel in the squad I would like you to stand infront of Mark Donellnan and repeat them words . I am sure there are a lot more people on that squad who wouldn't be too happy to hear they had no steel .

Quote Originally Posted by guvnor View Post
    Wrong again. This season alone Colin Ryan and Eoin Hayes played Hugh Kelly tournament incl final against Avenue, played league cup games, played 1st league game against Rhine Rovers. Only games they have missed for Newmarket this season is Pike Rovers in munster senior and today against Kilmaley. So yes they have kicked a ball. Check facts before guessing.
    Davy McCarthy like Darren Murphy and a number of other good players(including other players from Avenue who were asked) are unable to commit due to a number of reasons. Its unfortunate that these players cant commit but such is life.
    Straight from the horses mouth now can ye please let him get on with his job .

Oh yeah come on the blues on Sunday hopefully they can finally get the monkey off their back

Good luck to Clare on Wednesday, I am sure that they will be well prepared and motivated for the challenge.

Also come on the hurlers
    I'll update this next year.

Newmarket didn't play Pike in the Munster Senior Cup,Junior clubs are not allowed enter that comp any more,its a new comp which is the Munster Champions Cup,some LOI clubs didn't like getting beat by junior teams,ie Cork City,😄😄😄

Quote Originally Posted by hotspur View Post
    Newmarket didn't play Pike in the Munster Senior Cup,Junior clubs are not allowed enter that comp any more,its a new comp which is the Munster Champions Cup,some LOI clubs didn't like getting beat by junior teams,ie Cork City,
    What junior team beat Cork city? That's shocking! no junior team should be able beat a LOI team, bit of a joke really!

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs7772 View Post
    What junior team beat Cork city? That's shocking! no junior team should be able beat a LOI team, bit of a joke really!
    Pike Rovers beat them,in Cork as well.and Carrick beat Waterford.and why would you say no junior team should beat a loi team??its going on for years sure,didn't sherrif beat shels last year as well,

We'll see how much steel docca has when he's marking Alan Barry/Shane Clarke/Jonathan Grant

Quote Originally Posted by hotspur View Post
    Pike Rovers beat them,in Cork as well.and Carrick beat Waterford.and why would you say no junior team should beat a loi team??its going on for years sure,didn't sherrif beat shels last year as well,
    Because its doesn't exactly look good for Irish football when a semi pro team is getting beat by an amateur team. They should be of a much higher standard and better fitness. The likes of Pike, Carew, Carrick, St Micheals and Sheriff would and should be able give them a game but beat them i don't think so. That's just my opinion. Think it's down to lads who are good enough to play LOI but don't want to play, playing for teams likes Pike, Boro and Carew and others. What was the scores in these games?

Pike were unlucky to lose to Sligo rovers, current eircom league champs, up in Sligo in the FAI senior cup last year, lost 3-2 if I remember correctly

Quote Originally Posted by fifty50 View Post
    We'll see how much steel docca has when he's marking Alan Barry/Shane Clarke/Jonathan Grant
    Jaysus he can't mark the 3 of them in all fairness.😄

Page 9 of 21 FirstFirst ... 789101119 ... LastLast