Any Irish in he GB squad?
    Why would there be?

Quote Originally Posted by ArdeeBhoy View Post
    Why would there be?
    They can select lads from Northern ireland. None were chosen. Not like you to consider them Irish

446 Posts
    Except they wouldn't be counting themselves as 'Irish', would they...

Though it's funny how a 'GB' team would include them anyway. Given it doesn't for other Olympic sports?

162 Posts
    Except they wouldn't be counting themselves as 'Irish', would they...

Though it's funny how a 'GB' team would include them anyway. Given it doesn't for other Olympic sports?
    Yes it does.
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/olympics/18614556
    http://www.bbc.co.uk/sport/0/olympics/18157480

446 Posts
    Aye, some. Not all...

Formerly: vega007 Colbert Report's Avatar
    162 Posts
    Northern Ireland isn't part of Great Britain.

446 Posts
    Hence the, er, 'grey area'.

2,284 Posts
    Team GB is a trading name of the British Olympic Association, which covers England, Northern Ireland, Scotland, Wales, the Crown Dependencies (the Isle of Man and the Channel Island Bailiwicks of Jersey and Guernsey) and British Overseas Territories which do not have their own National Olympic Committees (Anguilla; the British Antarctic Territory; the British Indian Ocean Territory; the Falkland Islands; Gibraltar; Montserrat; the Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands; Saint Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha; South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands; the Sovereign Base Areas of Akrotiri and Dhekelia; and the Turks and Caicos Islands).

In that sense, referring to it as Team UK wouldn't be entirely accurate either.

162 Posts
    Aye, some. Not all...
    A NI athlete can represent either. Same as in football.

446 Posts
    Er, like I said above. I was being facetious if you hadn't realised...

130 Posts
    Two fine Irish names there!! I'd say the first lad has the green, white and gold out every year for Paddys day.

Quote Originally Posted by elroy View Post
    Two fine Irish names there!!
    Ah the ol' you have to have an Irish name to be Irish BS.

How hard is it to understand? You can Irish, British or both. Let the person decide. If Darron Gibson or Paddy Barnes wants to be Irish, fair play to them. If any number of rowers, hockey players or athletes want to be British, then good luck to them

In Beijing NI athletes won medals for Ireland and GB. The idea that eejits on the internet trying to tell them who they should and shouldn't represent is gas

2,693 Posts
    The table tennis player reminds me of a news snippet on BBC NI many years ago (over 20) on newly arrived Chinese kids in Northern Ireland pre-primary schools being taught basic English language skills. I nearly rolled over laughing when the teacher from Belfast was doing pronunciation skills (to be read with a Belfast accent in mind):

"repeat after me - hi nigh brine kye"

107 Posts
    Interestingly, the chinese table tennis player along with other immigrants to NI would only be able to acquire British nationality (unless they married an Irish citizen) through residence in NI. Presumably you need Irish citizenship to be eligible for Ireland at the olympics, hence they have to represent "Team GB" at the olympics?