I know it's not always easy getting a youth team together but rathkeale giving a walkover in the fai youths cup is disrespectful to the team they beat in earlier rounds.
is that a new keeper draper ? sounds like ye were lucky they missed a peno and had a man sent off in the first half,they must have been well organised to play the bones of 70 mins with 10 men,
Did John A Culhane get 2 yellows or straight red?
New to the A team yes but he's a young lad from Drom playing underage all along. As for being lucky, saving a penalty is not lucky, its a rather good skill. Luck also doesnt come into the equasion just because one of them commits 2 yellow card offences against you. And penalty shoot outs aint about luck either, its part of the game.(Young Stack also saved 2 penalties in the shootout) I would agree however they were a good organised set up with the best grounds I've ever seen around...
res 8/9 December 2012
ALL FIXTURES are subject to alteration until published in the Weekly Observer.
Saturday 8th December
FAI Youths Cup 2nd Round (extra time & penalties)
St. Brendans Park V Newcastle West 2pm, Christy Leahy Park, Tralee
Munster Youths Cup 3rd Round (extra time & penalties)
Adare Utd V Abbeyfeale Utd 2pm (T. Fitzmaurice)
Youths Division 2 League Cup Quarter Finals (extra time & penalties)
Carrig Celtic V Creeves Celtic 2pm (Eoin Barrett)
Ferry Rangers V Bally Rovers 2pm (P. O’Donnell)
St. Itas V Askeaton 2pm (C. Dalton)
Sunday 9th December
FAI Junior Cup 5th Round (extra time & penalties)
Villa FC V Newcastle West 2pm
Munster Junior Cup 3rd Round (extra time & penalties)
Killeaney V Broadford Utd 1130 (J. Roche)
Weekly Observer Division 1 League Cup 1st Round (extra time & penalties)
St. Itas V Kilcornan 2pm (P. O’Brien)
Weekly Observer Premier Division
Abbeyfeale Utd V Newcastle West Rovers 1130 (P. Manning)
Rathkeale V Glin Rovers 1130 (P. O’Brien)
Weekly Observer Division 1
Rockhill Rovers V Kildimo Utd 1130 (D. O’Gorman)
Weekly Observer Division 2
Broadford Utd B V Feenagh 1130 (C. Dalton)
Ballysteen V Abbeyfeale Utd B 230 (L. O’Connor)
Pallaskenry V Rathkeale B 230 (D. O’Gorman)
Weekly Observer Division 3
Kilcornan B V Knockaderry 1130 (P. King)
Ferry Rangers V Ballingarry B 230 (S. Hartnett)
Weekly Observer Division 4
Newcastle West Rovers B V Shannonside FC B 230 (P. O’Donnell)
St. Itas B V Bally Rovers in Ballyhahill 1130 (E. Barrett)
Glin Rovers B V Feenagh B 230 (B. Nash)
If this rain doesnt stop it'll play havoc with the weekend fixtures!
We've had a game called off 2 weeks in a row!
Ya its that time of year unfortunately... any fields that were playable last week will probably be in bad condition this weekend.
Most leagues seem to be about halfway through their fixtures for the season so thats on about par.
This is why there is Fri-Sun-Fri fixtures at the start of the season, to allow for the last few weekends.
I reckon there wont be much soccer played til the new year.![]()
looking down through the fixtures I cant see any game being played. Of all the home teams only Broadford B have a pitch likely to hold up. Killeaney I would have thought would be ok but didnt they have their game moved last week.
There will be another big backlog at the end of the season again
@ draper.. its all about opinions i suppose, i would say penalties is pure lottery and luck and all on the day.. fare play to the keeper for a young lad and first appearence in a big match to save 3 penos.
Ya could be a blanket call off this weekend with all the rain,, NCW and villa will probably go ahead as its FAI.
I agree. Penalties is nothing but pure luck. Goalie dives and hopes for the best on saving them. And fair play to the young goalkeeper on saving 3 penalties. Looks like there will be no games for a few weeks unless the teams in the munster junior and fai junior games have to be played
A good player has a better chance of scoring a penalty than an average player.
A good keeper has a better chance of saving a penalty than an average keeper.
There is some skill required for penalty shootouts no doubt, but there is also luck required.
You need both really.
I was talking to the Rathkeale Youths manager yesterday and he told me that he only has a youths panel of 12/13 players and in both of there games this season only 11 players togged out.. they also don't have a team entered in the league so its clear that they would be stuck for numbers. he then said that they were missing 4 for the trip to killarney so there was no way of filling a team and hence no point of travelling down especially when the club were charging each player 15euro for the bus down. what would the point be of them paying that much money to travel down with 8 or 9 players to get hammered? Last Man Back It is disrespectful to the team they beat in the earlier rounds but i doubt that they planned to give a walkover after winning their first few games. BoyBlue how does this have anything to do with him being the desmond youths manager?
Why do rathkeale only have 12/13 youth players?
A blanket call off would be no harm till after xmas - Unless there is an extended spell of freezing weather and no rain any pitches that get played on now will most likely get cut up badly - cant see it though they will play the usual it'll mean cramming fixtures in at the end of the season card
On the Rathkeale Youths I couldnt believe they gave a walkover they normally have a strong youth team but is it a sign of the times????? Its getting harder and harder to keep young fella's playing after 16's
When the likes Rathkeale cant attract more than 13 players onto a squad with the facilities the club has and the relatively large surrounding area to draw from what hope have the smaller clubs!!
Giving a walkover in the fai shows the league in a poor light,why bother entering these competitions if at some stage its inevitable you are going to give a walkover because you might get a hiding. What are we going to do if the Desmond youths draw Dublin's AUL, give a walkover because they are a better team. And knowing Rathkeale AFC I'd be surprised if the players had to pay for their own transport to games. This just shows the whole standard of youths football in our league is gone very very poor and unless something is done in a few years our junior league will be gone the Same way.
Thats an absolute disgrace a town with a pick like Rathkeale can't field a team for a youths game. They've always had good underage sides. The whole league from youths downwards needs to be reviewed. There is less and less good young players coming through to play junior soccer. I know there are a number of different reasons outside of football for this but its getting worse every year. The youngsters need more motivation, more incentive. For eg when I was underage myself many years ago, our then manager took a lot of time and effort to write a big piece in the observer about every game. All the players couldn't wait to read it to see if they got a mention. Nowadays most clubs with the exception of a few don't even report on their junior games never mind underage. It definitely kept lads interested and keen. Maybe teams need to make thing seem more attractive to younger lads because in fairness facilities have improved massively in the desmond league over the last few years.
"I always used to put my right boot on first, and then obviously my right sock" - Barry Venison