Page 43 of 49 FirstFirst ... 334142434445 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Desmond League 2012/13

Quote Originally Posted by skyhome View Post
    i agree wit you and i disagree in a way. ive never heard of this rule before someone on this forum pointed it out its been a very long time since i played in the desmond league. i agree wit you for the fact you should be able to play b team players if their not cup tied but i think that should only apply for the desmond cup. league and league cups you should only play players that are registered to the team involved i.e. a teams in their league and league cup campaign and b teams in their league and league cups. isnt the desmond cup suppose to be the main cup competion out here anyway
    The Desmond Cup would be the big one alright skyhome - I see what your saying about being registered and taking part in your own league/league cup campaigns but when you are lining out 2 teams the club will have to spread the players more than if they had one team so instead of potentially having 20+ players in your squad you have 15/16 maybe - if you are missing a few due to weddings and events its only right that players registered in your club who are getting games with the second team should be allowed to fill in.

Rathkeale renamed their B team this year Rathkeale Reserves and to be fair that's what B teams should be seen as - a team where young lads coming up can start out - where fellas moving towards the end of a career can get a run out on a Sunday but your first team should always be maintained and the full pool of players registered in the club are there to do that

Quote Originally Posted by Langerdan007 View Post
    The Desmond Cup would be the big one alright skyhome - I see what your saying about being registered and taking part in your own league/league cup campaigns but when you are lining out 2 teams the club will have to spread the players more than if they had one team so instead of potentially having 20+ players in your squad you have 15/16 maybe - if you are missing a few due to weddings and events its only right that players registered in your club who are getting games with the second team should be allowed to fill in.

Rathkeale renamed their B team this year Rathkeale Reserves and to be fair that's what B teams should be seen as - a team where young lads coming up can start out - where fellas moving towards the end of a career can get a run out on a Sunday but your first team should always be maintained and the full pool of players registered in the club are there to do that
    in fairness your dead right with ur arguments there langerdan007

the problem seems to be that most teams this year wasn't aware what you can and cant do regards using b team players in what competitions, you have to feel sorry for any club punished for this as i would blame the clowns who implement the rules at meetings without taking into mind the way the country's gone with players leaving every week. i can see this turning into a joke on the league. best of look also to all involved in the division one run hopefully athea can get up as i don't think too many clubs will fancy travelling down to tog out on the side of the road or if the ball goes over the wall in rock hill you wait 15 minutes to get it back.

"the clowns who implement the rules" actually answers the clubs vote on the rules so you cant really blame the committee for doing there job.

from what i gathered was the rule was always there but on amending rule book they came across this and decided on informing clubs on it after the first round of the cup had started giving clubs no chance to form a decent club team in January. now if that's not bad decision making by a committee for the "main cup" what is.

Rovers beat Abbey 2;1 tonight in Knockaderry.
    That leaves everyone with 2 games left,

Glin 13pts
    Killeaney 12pts
    NCW Rovers 10pts.

Whos' goin' down lads?

yup rover 2-1 abbeyfeale... abbey went 1-0 up and few minutes later dara barrett levelled for rovers, rovers got the winner through jason brouder

im gonna guess rovers and killeaney for the drop

two good youths matches at headquaters this evening.ncw afc v breska and ncw rovers v abbeyfeale.

Congratulations to Newcastlewest on winning the Premier League last night, 2-0 v Ballingarry. The first was a 35yd rocket from James Quaid which flew into the top corner off the underside of the crossbar. The second was an unfortunate miskick by Brian Fitzgerald from a cross by Mike Quilligan. 2-0 at halftime. NCW could have added a couple more after the break but good keeping by Kenrick from Power twice and a goalline clearance by Colm Kiely from Kevin O'Shea's good strike kept the score down. In truth Ballingarry offered very little going forward and had only a few half chances to give Murphy problems. Ncw are worthy Champions.

went to see the youths league cup final between abbeyfeale and ncw rovers tonight.some great football played especially by rovers,they won 3 0.ncw afc had big win also winning 6 0.

glin rovers 3-0 rathkeale John a Culhane, Padraig Costello and Gary Culhane the scorers for glin
    ncw vs killeaney OFF

rockhill and athea won so both teams are promoted to the premier division next year. rockhill beat kildimo 1-0 thanks to donal deadys goal for rockhill. athea beating breska 4-0 i think
    Last edited by fanaticfan; 12/05/2013 at 4:26 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by fanaticfan View Post
    glin rovers 3-0 rathkeale
    ncw vs killeaney OFF

rockhill and athea won so both teams are promoted to the premier division next year. rockhill beat kildimo 1-0 thanks to donal deadys goal for rockhill. athea beating breska 4-0 i think
    Some implosion from Kildimo in fairness from being miles clear to not even getting promoted?!

You at the game fanatic?! Conditions as bad as ever over there - Rockhill much the better in the first half but sat back in the 2nd - lucky one or two balls didnt drop against them but deserved the win overall

ya was at it alright langerdan007.conditions were terrible,id say few teams in the premier division will be happy kildimo arent promoted with the facilities kildimo have. athea have great pitch and dressing rooms so deserve to be in the premier next year.. playoff for the title next week in clounreask i think

Quote Originally Posted by fanaticfan View Post
    ya was at it alright langerdan007.conditions were terrible,id say few teams in the premier division will be happy kildimo arent promoted with the facilities kildimo have. athea have great pitch and dressing rooms so deserve to be in the premier next year.. playoff for the title next week in clounreask i think
    Your right I doubt many tears will be shed at them missing out - you'd have to have a shower after standing over there today never mind playing - the playoff should be interesting both can go for it as promotion is assured - Rockhill had a bit of a shuffle today as well the two boys up front arent their usual front men and their regular goalie was on the line - they run all over you in midfield though

Unreal, Kildimo had 34/36 possible points after 12 games and dont even get up....great to see Athea up, great facilities and sound crowd too. Rockhill is a trek but I think they have dressingrooms now could somebody confirm?
    Kildimos dressingroom is a ditch by a narrow road as you listen to the hometeam studs clob-e-de-clob up the road from the parochial hall

kildimo were miles ahead at one stage but when you get only 4 points out of your last 15points in the league you dont deserve to go up.fair play to both teams for coming back into it and getting promoted. ya rockhill have dressing rooms all right.they play in the school pitch which have dressing rooms..how did ye get on this morning draper
    Last edited by fanaticfan; 12/05/2013 at 4:30 PM.

just heard on the radio that abbeyfeale keeper billy quirke and knockaderry keeper scored in their games today.. deadly stuff

Ever since they signed the new striker from limerick league they went backwards.. Can't have been easy see a lad walk onto the team after all the hard work was done before Xmas by others

who was the player they signed from the limerick league and what team did he sign from?

Great to see athea in prem,the last time i played there it was an awful pitch with a corner in it that you would get lost in but by all accounts things have improved so congrats on all accounts.

Page 43 of 49 FirstFirst ... 334142434445 ... LastLast