Thread: Man united??????

861 Posts

Man united??????

Hey lads is anyone else seeing Twitter rumors saying Longford Town are playing none other than Manchester United in a pre-season friendly on July 23rd at Flancare? If it's true it will surely be a near sell out. 90% wont be supporting us but hey who cares as long as they give us there money! Oh God I really hope this is true! Sounds feasible considering the Keith Gillespie and MUTV link
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

1,104 Posts
    Reserves maybe. The first team will be on tour. Haven't heard anything about it personally but the Reserves would come over if asked by the right people at the right time. Even the Reserves would bring a good crowd out.

622 Posts
    It'd have a few lads people would vaguely recognise, I'm sure we could get 3k+ out for it no matter what sort of team they play. Hurray for handy money and a day out if its true.

861 Posts
    Now confirmed by the club twitter this is brilliant news it is a united xi but just the word utd will have the barstoolers scrambling for tickets should easilly be a couple of thousand at this.....My phone has gone into over drive with manure fans looking for info.

861 Posts
    Would be a great idea for us to sell tickets at the upcoming home games even if the local reds come in buy the tickets and leave at least we are getting two admission fees from them. I know a number of LOI clubs have sucesfully done this before.

622 Posts
    sell them for a reduced price at athlone and waterford games, hike it at the door.

861 Posts
    Ye while we're at it lets say nothing about united '11' and use pictures of rooney and co to advertise and charge 50 euro a ticket haha cant wait for this now.

Lads if the capacity is higher than 3,000 then I wouldn't be surprised if you surpassed that. We had a sellout for Liverpool reserves and there was still a demand for more tickets. About 2,100 at it.
    Last edited by Jofspring; 05/07/2012 at 7:03 PM.

622 Posts
    Didn't we exceed 2,000 when playing Sheffield united just after they were relegated a few years ago

in 1995 or 1996 Co Longford Youths ? played man utd reserves I wasnt at the game but there was a huge crowd at it.

I got a club txt earlier so will share this with ye! Ltfc will be playing Man Utd on the 23rd of July in addition to the Millwall friendly. Details at match on sat next!

1,104 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Acornvilla View Post
    Didn't we exceed 2,000 when playing Sheffield united just after they were relegated a few years ago
    Close on 2k yeah. Jofspring, Flancare is licensed for 4,500 as far as I know, I'm sure we'd squeeze a few more in if it came to it. I was at that United u16s game I think it was 95. Wes Brown played. Very big crowd there.

622 Posts
    by the way, I guess it would be a good idea for the people in power to organize a chipper to be there for the game, best put on the best show we can, and hope a few lapsed fans and maybe even new guys like the place and think it'd be nice to come back.

861 Posts
    Martinho is that this Saturday the details will be announced?

yes the club will be making an announcement for tmw nites match!

1,104 Posts
    Should be a good crowd out for this one. Fair play to the club for lining it up. Good chance to hopefully make a few quid. Hopefully the local media will give it a bit of coverage over the next couple of weeks.

Should sell tickets at a game only. make them drop a tender as well as the ticket price.

21. Thanks From:

861 Posts
    Maybe not only at games because a lot of them wouldn't bother then but maybe sell as many as possible at a game and then sell them in the shopping centre

44 Posts
    http://ltfc.ie/index.php/man-utd-gam...p-information/

Ticket info up on the site; Would it be ok to ask anyone that has a facebook or twitter account please could they share this, it would be a great help. Getting loads of requests coming in asking for info but they aren't checking the site beforehand.

Thanks

24. Thanks From:

1,104 Posts
    Done. Hopefully we can get some excitement building for it.

622 Posts
    shall share the love on fb now in a sec