Page 44 of 53 FirstFirst ... 344243444546 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Premier Division 2012/13

Decent report Alan,fair play. Now now Keiran, it's always someone else's fault with you. Both Pike or 'boro could have win it near the end, draw was probably fair. Ps The Pike field looking excellent as always, well done to who's ever looking after it.
    EVERYTHING is black and white

Thats just textbook................

44 Posts
    Cheers for the kind words lads.

Disappointing to see the sour grapes from hotspur there. I saw no "blatant pen" in the first half, and the offside call in the first half seemed fair enough from where I was standing. No comment on the late "was it over the line?" controversy as I was stood on the halfway line. The fact is, decisions taken on the sideline cost you the three points, not the referee.

Great to see some Pike fans are willing to accept that they made a rod for their own backs today. It's not always someone else's fault. In fact, in football, it usually isn't.

Quote Originally Posted by AlanOB View Post
    Cheers for the kind words lads.

Disappointing to see the sour grapes from hotspur there. I saw no "blatant pen" in the first half, and the offside call in the first half seemed fair enough from where I was standing. No comment on the late "was it over the line?" controversy as I was stood on the halfway line. The fact is, decisions taken on the sideline cost you the three points, not the referee.

Great to see some Pike fans are willing to accept that they made a rod for their own backs today. It's not always someone else's fault. In fact, in football, it usually isn't.
    Great match report agree with mostly everything..I thought after 1 nill it could have been curtins but a huge well done to the players they gave everything in the end and got the deserved draw with only the bare 11..for your comment about the ldmc hotspur I personally think they did set the match up but that's my opinion and for Shane he is part of the team and was delighted to see his team mates do so well is that a crime.as for letting the club down youd no all about that..before this game it was in carews hands and fair play to them..

Quote Originally Posted by Boroman View Post
    Great match report agree with mostly
    everything..I thought after 1 nill it could have been curtins but a huge well done to the players they gave everything in the end and got the deserved draw with only the bare 11..for your comment about the ldmc hotspur I personally think they did set the match up but that's my opinion and for Shane he is part of the team and was delighted to see his team mates do so well is that a crime.as for letting the club down youd no all about that..before this game it was in carews hands and fair play to them..
    While its great to be top of the league at the moment,talking about who's league it is to win or lose at the moment is madness,we have never been in this position before and we are just enjoying it,aim at the start of the season was a trophy and good league campaign.I think we have achieved that,anything else is a bonus,I think pike have a better squad of players then we have and that's what will win the league for them,they have been here before and done it all.

Quote Originally Posted by js79 View Post
    While its great to be top of the league at the moment,talking about who's league it is to win or lose at the moment is madness,we have never been in this position before and we are just enjoying it,aim at the start of the season was a trophy and good league campaign.I think we have achieved that,anything else is a bonus,I think pike have a better squad of players then we have and that's what will win the league for them,they have been here before and done it all.
    I'm surprised your giving yere team no chance there js,ye are unbeaten I think,why do you think it will come crumbling down,basically that's what your saying,do you think the players might not have the stomach for it??id disagree,

Pike Rovers 1-1 Janesboro

A poor tactical decision from Declan Considine cost the home side the three points here in what should have been a comfortable victory.

Both sides initially set out in a 4-4-2 shape, with Pike sporting the usual pair of Barry and Moloney upfront. The latter opened the scoring very early on after a goal-line scramble from a corner kick. Pike went on to dominate the play in a poor quality first half without creating any chances of note. Janesboro performed well in defence with Tom Clarke the standout performer, making a large number of successful tackles and headed clearances.

The second half brought a change of shape for the Boro. They went 4-5-1 with striker Lou Quigley dropping into midfield beside Aidan Hurley. Yellow Lyons dropped back to play as the anchorman. This was presumably to allow the away side to compete better in the middle of the park with the extra man. Pike responded quickly with a switch of their own, withdrawing winger Tommy Heffernan and introducing Dave Ryan in his place. This meant a 4-3-3 shape with three strikers. Baffling really from Considine. The move to prevent Boro from gaining an advantage in the centre was a sound one, but to switch to three permanent strikers when 1-0 up in a key game was just ridiculous and smacked of arrogance.

Boro immediately came into the tie and started to threaten down the flanks, particularly down the left with James Hayes staying higher on that side than David Donnan on the right. The away side knew that they had the advantage in wide areas. It was down the left that the key moment that led to the equaliser occured. Aled Harkin, who had an excellent game, broke forward from left full. Dave Ryan, realising that he had no direct marker, chased him down, and fouled him. From the resulting free kick, the ball eventually fell to Shane Waters, unmarked at the far post, who finished well.

Pike then laid siege to the Boro goal. Dave Ryan went close with a header, producing an excellent save from Glasheen, and Conor Moloney missed a headed chance from the resulting corner. But it was Boro who would have the best chance to win the game late on. Tom Clarke's far post header seemed destined for the net but Gary Neville in the Pike goal had other ideas. A great save, from a chance that again resulted from Boro's new found dominance of the wide areas.

Pike then went 3-3-4 by bringing on Doona but it wasn't to be.

Credit Janesboro. Noone gave them a chance today. But they battled manfully, defended well and took advantage of poor management from the home side.

A word about the referee. One of the worst performances that I've seen at this level. Wayne Colbert will be wondering how he escaped today's game without a yellow card. And everyone in attendance will be wondering if the LDMC have decided that a player can be offside from a throw in. Woeful.
    1. boro played with a 4-4-1-1 from the 1st min to last.
    2.lou quigley was playing in front of yellow and hurley , and would be flattered to be considered a striker
    3.wayne colbert was booked mid way through the 1st half for slam dunking the ball to the ground in front of the ref when a throw was awarded to the boro over by the clubhouse.
    4.the pike player was not given offside for receiving a throw-in . A free out was awarded from where boris touched it as he entered the field of play without the referee's permission
    "The theory of football is not just a study of how to win.Equally as important is how not to lose."

37 Posts
    draw a fair result,do not know what the referee was doing,had a shocker.some good performances,but expected alot more from pike couple of their defence not great though mullins was good.ball looked over the line imo from where i was. boro left everything on the pitch and hard to believe clarke only playing his 2nd game?regarding the antics of janesboro personnel after game some people should look closer to home...

44 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by HuRya View Post
    1. boro played with a 4-4-1-1 from the 1st min to last.
    2.lou quigley was playing in front of yellow and hurley , and would be flattered to be considered a striker
    3.wayne colbert was booked mid way through the 1st half for slam dunking the ball to the ground in front of the ref when a throw was awarded to the boro over by the clubhouse.
    4.the pike player was not given offside for receiving a throw-in . A free out was awarded from where boris touched it as he entered the field of play without the referee's permission
    Thanks for the corrections (3 & 4)! Obviously, standing on the sideline you're going to miss a lot more than those who are actually on the field.

As for 1 & 2 (which basically seem to make the same point), Lou Quigley was certainly playing off Shane Waters, but not deep enough in the first half for the shape to be considered a 4-4-1-1, whatever the coach's intentions were.

As for keeping the same shape for 90 minutes, Lou certainly dropped deeper during the second half, as did Yellow. Now I may have got the order of the formation changes wrong. Pike may have changed their shape first(to 4-3-3), and the configuration of your midfield may have then changed naturally without instruction from the sideline so that Yellow could pick up up Tierney, who was now playing as the highest of three centre midfielders (with Lou and the other guy picking up Hartnett and Boris).

This would make the tactical decision from Pike to go to a three striker system even worse, as it would have been proactive rather than reactive.

Also, would you like to share your thoughts on MOTM with us?

Thanks for the corrections (3 & 4)! Obviously, standing on the sideline you're going to miss a lot more than those who are actually on the field.

As for 1 & 2 (which basically seem to make the same point), Lou Quigley was certainly playing off Shane Waters, but not deep enough in the first half for the shape to be considered a 4-4-1-1, whatever the coach's intentions were.

As for keeping the same shape for 90 minutes, Lou certainly dropped deeper during the second half, as did Yellow. Now I may have got the order of the formation changes wrong. Pike may have changed their shape first(to 4-3-3), and the configuration of your midfield may have then changed naturally without instruction from the sideline so that Yellow could pick up up Tierney, who was now playing as the highest of three centre midfielders (with Lou and the other guy picking up Hartnett and Boris).

This would make the tactical decision from Pike to go to a three striker system even worse, as it would have been proactive rather than reactive.

Playstation comes to mind!

25 Posts
    Always enjoy reading your match reports. The nitty gritty of formations and tactics are probable known only to the Pike and Boro managers,and at this level, there's probably a hair's breadth between 4-4-1-1, 4-2-3-1 and 4-3-3. But always good to see someone put their opinion out there so keep em coming.

44 Posts
    Well at this level the ability of players to implement instructions on shape or anything else is a bit of a moveable feast so a lot is left open to interpretation by the likes of me.

Pike certainly took a decision to change shape and keep 3 up top in the defensive phase while leading the game.

Boro also changed shape around this time, but we can now assume that wasn't down to managerial instruction and that it probably happened after rather than before.

Either way the first change cost the home side the win and led directly to the equalizer. That's the main point to be taken away.

Aside from that there will always be nits to be picked in anything I write. Particularly by people who don't like to see anyone else attempt to express an opinion.
    Last edited by AlanOB; 25/02/2013 at 12:31 AM.

Well at this level the ability of players to
    implement instructions on shape or anything else is a bit of a moveable feast so a lot is left open to interpretation by the likes of me.

Pike certainly took a decision to change shape and keep 3 up top in the defensive phase while leading the game.

Boro also changed shape around this time, but we can now assume that wasn't down to managerial instruction and that it probably happened after rather than before.

Either way the first change cost the home side the win and led directly to the equalizer. That's the main point to be taken away.

Aside from that there will always be nits to be picked in anything I write. Particularly by people who don't like to see anyone else attempt to express an opinion.
    What I like most about your reports Alan is the fact they come from a neutrals view,I don't think you are involved with any club which is great because your views are not biased,you will always get people to disagree with you because they see it from a supporters point of view(I disagreed with you before and you put me in my place ha ha) you seem to have a great knowledge of the game and keep up the reporting because I think you do a great job.

My god you certainly are wasted watching football games , you sure your not AVB in disguise, fifa 13 seems to have been taken to another level altogether on the xbox,As for motm,john tierney by a country mile for pike , but must give mention to the 2 keepers, neville and glasheen pulled off unbelievable saves from headers late in the game

Very entertaining reading lads was in ratuard for 60mins on sunday morning watched a very entertaining hour before i went up for the last 20-25 of the boro pike game..saw the dines management take a striker who got a hat trick in the first half and put him left back at halftime i wonder what AlanOB would have made of that one as it let annacotty back into a game they should never have got a sniff of after watching the first half hour..Dines very talented going forward but let their inexperience show at times..aisling battled hard never gave up and on that showing will probly do enough to stay up..

Hibs 1 - 0 Kilmallock
    R Wall pen for Hibs

Well done hibs . Great result for ye

Quote Originally Posted by 2legged tackle View Post
    Hibs 1 - 0 Kilmallock
    R Wall pen for Hibs
    On the lash for a week now First 3 points and they've been a long time coming!

Any other results today?

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs7772 View Post

Any other results today?
    Excellent well done hibs.

Quote Originally Posted by hotdog View Post
    excellent book and great credit due to pat sheehan for putting it together, for 20 euros its a must read,super turn out on the night of the launch which was well deserved. looking back through it there was some unbelievable sides in limerick over the years and im sure a couple of other clubs ie balla, star and boro just to name a few would have won an fai if it was more than just the one team going out of town back then,
    Just got my copy in the post.
    One of the best formats of a league history published.
    Appreciate your comments.

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs7772 View Post

Any other results today?
    Premier League
    Shannon Hibs 1 Kilmallock 0
    Ballynanty Rvs 1 Janesboro 1
    Corbally Utd 1 Aisling Annacotty 0

" football is a simple game "

Page 44 of 53 FirstFirst ... 344243444546 ... LastLast