Page 42 of 53 FirstFirst ... 32404142434452 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Premier Division 2012/13

Quote Originally Posted by booster 03 View Post
    Who are you?? If If i was to direct it at you I would have sent you a PM.. It's directed at Shannon Hibs and all clubs including my own in that position of being to call it a cliche "a yo yo club", up down etc! There is no point moaning about it.. It is what it is. The status quo of the pikes and views and ballas will be forever strong and it's up to the rest of us to try get to that level. And I don't believe for one minute that players are restricted to playin for teams from Shannon when being from there. We have had a couple of players come in from Shannon Olympic and New Market before. Shannon is 15 mins away from town on a good road.
    Disagree here with Balla. I think they could struggle in the the next few years to come, especially if Moyross can continue to improve and get premier. Ball will then be competing with Moyross for players. Already a few of the fringe players have left balla for Moyross.

Quote Originally Posted by dirtfree View Post
    I can't comment on what players Shannon Olympic have as only saw them in Wesley Webb . I've seen both Shannon hibs and Shannon town this year while both have some good young lads coming through I tend to agree with you that neither would win Clare premier but both would hold their own in premier as there is a few week teams in Clare premier.
    I don't know how weak some teams are atm, not enough games played, but I think having the likes of Bridge United, Bridge Celtic, Bunratty and Rineanna no longer in the Premier I would agree it may be weakened but if the the 2 Bridges were to come back up I think the Shannon teams would struggle. I'd even go as far as to say they would find Division 1 a struggle or even yoyo like they are doing in Limerick. Guess we'll never know.
    I'll update this next year.

Ya true we will never find out .

Pity, I'd love to see Shannon Town and Shannon Hibs in the Clare league.

You and most of limerick ..

Quote Originally Posted by booster 03 View Post
    What catchment area have Geraldine's, Pike , Fairview, Balla got? Shannon have a much bigger pool of people to pick from than most of the premier league teams combined. Stop giving the poor mouth. There was a time when Park had b and c teams ripping apart their respective divisions with good teams and it wasn't that long ago they played in the latter stages of the fai. Course ye deserve to be in the top league cos ye got there on Meerut but don't give the poor mouth when you can't compete, we were in a similar position last yr.. No point giving out pointing fingers any more, no one listens and it becomes pathetic after a while, clubs have to take it as a positive that the top teams are so strong and strive to get to compete at that level. Carew and Geraldine's have done it.. With effort and genuine determination to get to that level anythings possible.
    another factor also helps ( money) not saying all clubs in Limerick at it but i can guarantee you most of the Premier teams are using it to attract & keep players.

" football is a simple game "

You and most of limerick ..
    excellent

Quote Originally Posted by First View Post
    I don't know how weak some teams are atm, not enough games played, but I think having the likes of Bridge United, Bridge Celtic, Bunratty and Rineanna no longer in the Premier I would agree it may be weakened but if the the 2 Bridges were to come back up I think the Shannon teams would struggle. I'd even go as far as to say they would find Division 1 a struggle or even yoyo like they are doing in Limerick. Guess we'll never know.
    Are you actually serious? You are saying that Shannon Hibs or town wouldn't survive in the Clare Premier, To say either club wouldn't win it is one thing and is debatable but to say they would get relegated is just laughable really!

Quote Originally Posted by Hibs7772 View Post
    Are you actually serious? You are saying that Shannon Hibs or town wouldn't survive in the Clare Premier, To say either club wouldn't win it is one thing and is debatable but to say they would get relegated is just laughable really!
    Why would you think I am not serious?

I think that this whole amalgamation has been to the detriment of a generation of players who have and were coming through in Shannon. The players that have been lost over it who should be playing in the premier this year is incredible. The limerick lads are correct there is a big enough area to create two decent teams given the population. But politics had seen these lads head away particularly in the direction of the gaa. The only reason Shannon lads are a premier team this year is because of those gaa lads who played a big role last year. Bottom line is while the underage might be easier to manage it hasn't been overly productive. Will we ever see decent youth teams in Shannon I doubt it.
    Last edited by gaiscíoch; 05/02/2013 at 7:07 PM.
    "Joe Jordan is off to watch Young Boys tomorrow" Ian Darke

Quote Originally Posted by old git View Post
    another factor also helps ( money) not saying all clubs in Limerick at it but i can guarantee you most of the Premier teams are using it to attract & keep players.
    Don't think DF,TL and AF were at Park for the scenery now would you??

Quote Originally Posted by gaiscíoch View Post
    I think that this whole amalgamation has been to the detriment of a generation of players who have and were coming through in Shannon. The players that have been lost over it who should be playing in the premier this year is incredible. The limerick lads are correct there is a big enough area to create two decent teams given the population. But politics had seen these lads head away particularly in the direction of the gaa. The only reason Shannon lads are a premier team this year is because of those gaa lads who played a big role last year. Bottom line is while the underage might be easier to manage it hasn't been overly productive. Will we ever see decent youth teams in Shannon I doubt it.
    ah hello please name the super gaa players who got hibs promoted last year and are not playing with them this year and who are all these players who should be playing premier this year ? i always thought it was a squad of 16-18 players who got you through a season not the wonderfull gaa players who were not allowed to tog out for hibs during last season and at start of this season when they may have stregthened team to maybe get a few results .. dont forget you also have the gaa / rugby and 3 soccer clubs in shannon all fighting for the same players . as for underage once young lads reach 18 were can they go hibs / town have a&b teams with 16-20 lads already playing you cant just start all the young lads next season and thats have the problem clubs bring young players through they dont get enough games and want to leave to join other clubs were they will get games or even switch back to gaa or rugby its a tough one for clubs they want to keep all the players coming through but you cant just stop playing last years a&b team players to fit in new young players and dont forget every year you could have a new batch of players coming through maybe the answer is to start a c team to accomodate players and give them experience of junior football.
    Last edited by old git; 05/02/2013 at 9:00 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by hotspur View Post
    Don't think DF,TL and AF were at Park for the scenery now would you??
    read my post i said players not managers and all those payments stopped long ago. and what players did the above attract and how many stayed after they left

Gaiscioch
    you ask when will we ever see decent youth teams in shannon what do you class as decent as i have seen a few tasty teams over the years which unfortunatly they did not win enough trophies but were up against some very good teams also.. explain to me how the three top clubs in the premier over the last few years pike / janesboro / carew dont even have under 17 / youth teams but yet still manage to attract the cream of young players to join every season. and leave some decent youth teams at decent clubs in town so how is this productive to all the clubs in town who have good underage setups to feed the better players they developed to the pikes / boro / carew
    Last edited by old git; 05/02/2013 at 9:23 PM.

Darren Ryan, Derek Byrne, terry duggan and last but not least Brian o Connell 4 of the better if not best player Shannon Hibernians have/had. Ah ya start a C team to give young lads experience "if your good enough your old enough". Any player that needs to go to C level will not be an improvement on what's there already? Management should be taking responsiblity also no team in the premier should ever be getting beaten by the scores we have seen this year. No-one willing to take responsibility for what's going on just blaming player ability etc. you have also contradicted yourself! the young lads have a choice of playing for 3 clubs in Shannon. Limerick teams must laugh at us Shannon sides pure soft. Not a decent man in any team since Philly Purcell retired.

Janes borough and Carew always had underage teams? You might find that alot of the players that are with them now may have left at some point to play for wembley or fairview underage but have made there way back ala Thomas and Shane clarke

Darren Ryan, Derek Byrne, terry duggan and last but not least Brian o Connell 4 of the better if not best player Shannon Hibernians have/had. Ah ya start a C team to give young lads experience "if your good enough your old enough". Any player that needs to go to C level will not be an improvement on what's there already? Management should be taking responsiblity also no team in the premier should ever be getting beaten by the scores we have seen this year. No-one willing to take responsibility for what's going on just blaming player ability etc. you have also contradicted yourself! the young lads have a choice of playing for 3 clubs in Shannon. Limerick teams must laugh at us Shannon sides pure soft. Not a decent man in any team since Philly Purcell retired.
    darren ryan / derek byrne / brian o connell all signed for hibs this year would disagree on these players being the best shannon hibs ever had ... boc played 1 game due to gaa commitments , darren & derek also only played handfull of games due to more important gaa commiments terry duggan emigrated and only played half a season last year .. but since you said no decent youths coming through how can they now be good enough to start for A team now ? who's conradicting now. Agree with you 100% no team should be getting beat by some of the scores this year and personally i would have to blame it on players and management in particular who made no attempt to streghten team in summer or recent transfer window and at least 4-5 B team players good enough who should be playing with A team but why dont they want to play !!! as for no decent men in team since philly purcell retired and yet you mention the four great gaa players above as the best ever hibs players what are you smoking

Janes borough and Carew always had underage teams? You might find that alot of the players that are with them now may have left at some point to play for wembley or fairview underage but have made there way back ala Thomas and Shane clarke
    check limerick junior website they have no under 17/ youth teams ? yet they still left good underage set-up at janesboro to join another underage team that happens all over the country and even in shannon ... sure your hero philly purcell probally even did that and played with other junior teams in limerick before returning to park

Darren and Derek have both played majority of games this year and BOC is signed also, terry duggan played half a season with hibs and was on the bench or didn't turn up for alot of games think he played 2-3 games total, maybe a few sub appearances. Shannon had a great youth team about 4 years ago, came second in the top youth div and were unlucky not to win it, came second to a great kilmallock youth team most of whom went on to play for the kilmallock A team and now a few of them have gone to pike. Alot of those youth players aren't even playing anymore or are gone to different teams or playing different sports, once alot of lads turn 18 they lose some interest IMO

I also agree with old git in saying that there are 4 or 5 B team players that are are easily good enough to play for hibs A team but choose not to for different reasons, Garry Higgins, Gavin Hayes and a few others.

carew park have not had any schoolboy teams for years.
    boro have some here and there,but not many....
    it takes a lot of commitment from adults,will to give their time to coach(or even make their cars available) to have a constant flow of teams coming through,year in year out.
    i agree with some of the comments made here,regarding no room for kids coming through.
    but some of the young lads,rightly or wrongly,think playing B football is not where they should be plying their trade.
    our B team is struggling for the last couple of seasons(despite the best efforts of the management),and rely on the current minor players to bolster their squad.
    but because the minors are more often then not playing on the same day as the B team,it is rare that they are available.
    think the way for clubs to go is to produce as much home grown talent as they possibly can,at least they would have a connection with club.
    that is not to say that you should not sign good playersif they are available.
    limerick 19's also are taking the cream of the players,not just in limerick but in the surrounding counties also,with some kids being signed at 16 years old.
    they have also entered the schoolboy league and will more then likely be competing in all grades in the not to distant future.
    personally,i think that would be to the detriment of the league's themselves,but that is just an opinion

Page 42 of 53 FirstFirst ... 32404142434452 ... LastLast