Page 41 of 53 FirstFirst ... 31394041424351 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Premier Division 2012/13

Fair play to hibs giving up home advantage so the match could be played... best of luck to carew next week when playing in dublin. Hope ye win the fai this year and every other competition also

ah here between Dugga and Holly they both talk a lot of tripe, when one comes on its like he is tagging the other to feed his ego trip. no wonder clubs give up home advantage with the way both of them talk rubbish.

what a year so far for Carew, they havent lost a game all season. keep it up and the league will be theirs, as you can all see its getting under the skin of some of Pikes supporters. sad really.

Well said mrmam

We deserve to be in the Premier just as much as any other team in the division hotdog. The lads from Pike on here take things very seriously, relax lads ye might win the the Lawson or something Best of luck to both Carew and Pike, I know who I'd rather win it anyway!

Quote Originally Posted by passandmove View Post
    ye are second in the league?im involved with wembley dirt free.... here is a suggestion get your facts right before posting,do you think carew will take the home fixture against pike out to UL? no chance! last season we drew with jamesborro at home, a result which cost them the league, if that game was on in UL they would have hammered us...trust me its a dangerous trend leage games taking place in UL in my opinion. and for your information i think its superb for the league that carew are putting it up to pike.... good luck to them
    i see your point about jansboro last year..
    but the fact of the matter is hibs decided to do carew park a favour,in an effort to play a competitive game on astro turf,before their FAI match.
    no disrespect to hibs,but they will get relegated this year.
    and you are right,that if it was someone challenging for the league,they would probably have not given up home advantage.
    but that is hibs decision..
    i also agree that carew would have beaten them out in shannon also.
    it seems that anyone doing another team a favour is anti-pike.
    fairview and possibly dines have a chance,albeit small,of winning the league also.
    don't find anyone from these clubs complaining.
    best of luck to carew...hope they benefited from the match.
    and well done to regional yesterday

Well said

Quote Originally Posted by mrman View Post
    ah here between Dugga and Holly they both talk a lot of tripe, when one comes on its like he is tagging the other to feed his ego trip. no wonder clubs give up home advantage with the way both of them talk rubbish.

what a year so far for Carew, they havent lost a game all season. keep it up and the league will be theirs, as you can all see its getting under the skin of some of Pikes supporters. sad really.
    As you were told already no one and yes I mean no one takes any notice of what you have to say,surely you've the message got by now,Richie,

Very good post prawn I take your opinion on board,I just think it could get messy going forward,we will just have to wait and see I suppose!

Quote Originally Posted by hotdog View Post
    As you were told already no one and yes I mean no one takes any notice of what you have to say,surely you've the message got by now,Richie,
    aahhh people do take notice, your upsetting me now Ritchie, stop please.

37 Posts
    while one can understand why hibs obliged carew park on this one,it does set dangerous precedent.having said that pikey posters on here have short memories on such matters.but a bigger worry would be the scoreline ,does that represent a competitive league even allowing for hibs current woes.

I agree fairkop but with Shannon being so small and 3 junior clubs out there you don't have a chance of getting the best 11 from the area. The amalgamation of newtown and park has seen hibs formed but I don't think it has worked out liked planned. They are now pushing for one team in Shannon but the other two clubs aren't so keen.even if it did happen I don't think they would challenge in premier in limk . They would finish mid table every year at best.its going to be the same ding dong every year of either hibs or Shannon town go up. The likes of Carew/pike/balla/Geraldine's and fairview will always have lads who will join their club if asked but who wants to travel to Shannon to train.

Hibs pitch wouldn't have been playable, thats a fact. Im sure they like any other team just want to get games played........ On the Park / Newtown joining together, this happened in 2009, Hibs were in Div 1b at the time, 3 seasons later and they are in the premier, I remember people on here saying it would never happen but it did, great achievement, but imo they will go down, Hibs are a 1A team at best and thats that. It isn't all about the junior teams at Hibs, there are teams from 16's down as far as under 5's so the whole club shouldn't be judged on the first team.

What catchment area have Geraldine's, Pike , Fairview, Balla got? Shannon have a much bigger pool of people to pick from than most of the premier league teams combined. Stop giving the poor mouth. There was a time when Park had b and c teams ripping apart their respective divisions with good teams and it wasn't that long ago they played in the latter stages of the fai. Course ye deserve to be in the top league cos ye got there on Meerut but don't give the poor mouth when you can't compete, we were in a similar position last yr.. No point giving out pointing fingers any more, no one listens and it becomes pathetic after a while, clubs have to take it as a positive that the top teams are so strong and strive to get to compete at that level. Carew and Geraldine's have done it.. With effort and genuine determination to get to that level anythings possible.

Booster take a chill pill and get back in your box. I'm not involved with any team just watch junior football when I can . My point was that if for instance you don't want to play for Summerville anymore you have plenty of options around town where as Shannon lads would have to travel to town or play in a lesser league ie the Clare league . So chill out

Quote Originally Posted by booster 03 View Post
    What catchment area have Geraldine's, Pike , Fairview, Balla got? Shannon have a much bigger pool of people to pick from than most of the premier league teams combined. Stop giving the poor mouth. There was a time when Park had b and c teams ripping apart their respective divisions with good teams and it wasn't that long ago they played in the latter stages of the fai. Course ye deserve to be in the top league cos ye got there on Meerut but don't give the poor mouth when you can't compete, we were in a similar position last yr.. No point giving out pointing fingers any more, no one listens and it becomes pathetic after a while, clubs have to take it as a positive that the top teams are so strong and strive to get to compete at that level. Carew and Geraldine's have done it.. With effort and genuine determination to get to that level anythings possible.
    Is this directed at me?

Who are you?? If If i was to direct it at you I would have sent you a PM.. It's directed at Shannon Hibs and all clubs including my own in that position of being to call it a cliche "a yo yo club", up down etc! There is no point moaning about it.. It is what it is. The status quo of the pikes and views and ballas will be forever strong and it's up to the rest of us to try get to that level. And I don't believe for one minute that players are restricted to playin for teams from Shannon when being from there. We have had a couple of players come in from Shannon Olympic and New Market before. Shannon is 15 mins away from town on a good road.

Quote Originally Posted by dirtfree View Post
    Booster take a chill pill and get back in your box. I'm not involved with any team just watch junior football when I can . My point was that if for instance you don't want to play for Summerville anymore you have plenty of options around town where as Shannon lads would have to travel to town or play in a lesser league ie the Clare league . So chill out
    Lesser league is it? What do you base this on?
    I'll update this next year.

First I base it on the fact that I've watched matches in both league over the years and have played in both leagues all be it never in premier in either. Can you honestly tell me the Clare league is as strong as the limerick league. I do think the likes of Newmarket and avenue would survive in limerick premier but do you honestly think they would win it every year. You talk alot of sence on this forum so please don't come back saying Clare league is better. Ps I meant no insult in my comment but in fairness most leagues are at a lesser standard than limerick.they are in the top 2/3 leagues in Ireland

Quote Originally Posted by dirtfree View Post
    First I base it on the fact that I've watched matches in both league over the years and have played in both leagues all be it never in premier in either. Can you honestly tell me the Clare league is as strong as the limerick league. I do think the likes of Newmarket and avenue would survive in limerick premier but do you honestly think they would win it every year. You talk alot of sence on this forum so please don't come back saying Clare league is better. Ps I meant no insult in my comment but in fairness most leagues are at a lesser standard than limerick.they are in the top 2/3 leagues in Ireland
    Fair enough but I thought it was a bit harsh on the Shannon lads suggesting they would have to go down into the first or second divisions in Clare . There are clubs in Clare that would compete in the Limerick Premier, none of them are in Shannon, that is the reality. There is great work being done at underage level at Hibs and for that they deserve respect but at adult level they are not up to it. I would add that the pick of the 3 teams in Shannon wouldn't win the Clare league as it is with football in Shannon today.

The age old argument about the standards in Limerick will always be skewed by the players that some clubs can attract for whatever reason.. but that is a whole other thread that would be closed smart quick on this forum.
    I'll update this next year.

I can't comment on what players Shannon Olympic have as only saw them in Wesley Webb . I've seen both Shannon hibs and Shannon town this year while both have some good young lads coming through I tend to agree with you that neither would win Clare premier but both would hold their own in premier as there is a few week teams in Clare premier.

Page 41 of 53 FirstFirst ... 31394041424351 ... LastLast