This looks like being a fun thread
forget the euro, fiscal crisis, banking crises, emf, essf, Angela, kenny
There is now a monsoon crisis with us in our beloved league
People, supporters everyone seriously need to sit down in Athlone or somewhere central and sort something out, develop a plan, organise themselves sharpish for the next few years otherwise its surely curtains
Can the Supporters groups call a conference, emergency meeting or something quickly or there will be no league to go back to
This looks like being a fun thread
No magic solution unfortunately but from experience i found an attitude last year where supporters were the last people considered in any proposed solutions.
Everyone Players, officials, representatives in fact anyone that lives off the game for a living or expenses of some sort were all left in the game and supporters were expunged
This is wrong. Supporters pay for the league eventually and should be respected a bit more. It will be supporters that will save the league as well.
I found supporters when put to the test could keep the people coming to games despite 34 defeats, have the ability to up their game hugely in the communities and increase gates by a few very simple actions. There is no major marketing money required, no grants needed and no fancy booklet or TV exposure
I always remember going to Tolka Park when i was young with my father all excited walking down richmond road then been startled by an oul fella roaring out "move on" and peering out through a hole at the turnstile leaving me with a feeling of what could only be described as what it must be like to be a pig entering an abbatoir. lets just say going to the pictures seemed a lot more friendly.
There are still more people going to mass in small country parishes on a sunday up and down the country then going to the local loi games and we through a daft costly licence process insist on putting up these huge ugly barriers that scream keep away or ya wont get out, its more reflective of a visit to a lad in mountjoy than an enjoyable event
Last edited by geezer; 24/06/2012 at 11:37 AM.
Agree 100%. Ye the supporters lucky to have a club, pay for the league and should be respected more.
Agreed with that as well. All clubs need an organised group firstly. Possibly an organised group then with members from all clubs would be required as well to ask questions of the FAI.
As I've mentioned before, the FAI do get public funding. Organised supporters groups by clubs should be able to lobby local representatives (TDs) about asking more questions of the FAI regards the development of the game and league nationally.
https://foot.ie/forums/117-Kerry-FC
A Championship: 4 years - 8 first teams - 0 financially ruined. First Division '14: 7 first teams.
Opportunity lost for new clubs/regions to join the LoI family.
The day that LOI fans (or Irish domestic soccer people in general) can come together en masse and fight for what is right is the day that David Norris gets hitched to Nell McCafferty. Can't and won't happen. Soccer in Ireland has been developed (and governed) by the FAI so that insular interests will always win out. Would absolutely love for something proper and decent to happen, but we're too beholden to "them across the water" and their warped sporting values for anything to take root.
This group has been started on facebook
https://www.facebook.com/events/2527...an_user_joined
For those not on facebook it reads
"Potential meeting to discuss representation of LoI supporters"
"This past week has seen the collapse of another senior club in Ireland's top division with the frustration of League of Ireland fans expressed online and through banners at grounds up and down the country.
Having been involved in a very limited way in the past and seeing the good work done by supporters trusts, ultras, bloggers and volunteers, I wanted to see if there would be interest in a meeting about what fans can do to help address the problems the league faces together. A date and location can be set later on.
If you are interested in doing so, please click on attending so we can get an idea of numbers. If you have thoughts please share them below while keeping them civil and positive. Thanks
You can get in touch with me at xrockridgex@gmail.com. In the interests of full disclosure, I'm a Shels fan who has blogged on the league in a few different places.
Lee"
Anyone any interest?
Last edited by Hairy Bowsie; 24/06/2012 at 6:08 PM.
They always cheat, they always lie
**** Delaney and the FAI
Will post on the Bohs mb, bowsie.
I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.
I like the idea of the FB page, good that someones at least gotten the ball rolling. Let the rabbling commence.
Wedding bells in D2?
no point having a bitch fest either or a harmless moan in a pub.
I think a forum or a type of speed funding type scenario where every idea, whinge etc is gathered and colated. Maybe Supporters Direct could advise.
We can moan all we like but the FAI is our association too and we have to get a scenario where a conduit or working relationship can be established to benefit all, establish facts etc like is it €180,000 minimum to finish bottom of the 1st division.
Last edited by geezer; 24/06/2012 at 9:09 PM.
It's another Shels fan thats behind this, i'm just spreading the word. Lads, a lot of you will know me as a very grumpy, cynical Shels fan who rarely posts here and something like this would come up and i'd normally be the first to dismiss it but I, We, just cannot ignore the fact that the league we support is in a very bad way and the people in charge of running it are making it worse. JD's behaviour in Poland, as Monaghan united when out of busness has to seen as a final straw by more than just me. I'm afraid of what can happen if we don't so something. As fans all we can do is try so i implore anyone who cares about any club within the league, if not the league itself to support this. There is strenght in numbers.
Thanks SkStu. Can someone from each of the other league clubs please put the word out on your respective forums, thanks.
They always cheat, they always lie
**** Delaney and the FAI
Clubs should be getting together on a regular basis anyway. I've been to a few LOI yokes on marketing run by the FAI and it's always fascinating to talk to people involved with other clubs. Keeping an LOI club is an uphill battle- and the experience that exists within the league in fighting that battle is immense. If only a little of that experience could be shared around and ideas shared there could be benefit in that.
Then there's the potential for things like shared fundraisers. Harps do very well out of our Monster Draw every year, but could we do every better if a bunch of clubs got together to create a common prize pot with the clubs keeping the majority of their own ticket sales? I think there used to be a GAA club that did something along these lines and did very well, and I think GUST have this sort of arrangement with local football clubs for their lotto.
So there is potential in clubs getting together- but the people keeping the show on the road are already flat out doing just that, which would be the major problem. This is the sort of thing you'd love to see the FAI put together and administer. Not much chance of that I'm afraid.
Spread the word, get organised, get active. Apathy and moaning would change anything. It's on our MB too
That facebook group sounds good in theory but when you read some of the comments on there you see potential for disaster because many are proposing anti-fai protests/banners/chants etc but either don't realise or don't care that THEIR club will be fined and it doesn't take a genious to tell you the clubs can't afford such continous fines. Also if there is no direct link between the group and the fai then we may as well just have a good old Internet debate at least that way the FAIlure might see our comments....that's just my 2cents on it.
BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.
You have to expect people throwing in ideas left right and centre at the beginning. Things are always like that when you gather a group of people together. If handled correctly you take the best ideas and find a way to make it work. More discussion can only be a good thing, being afraid to try will get us nowhere.
To put it bluntly, not everyone will have the mental capacity to grasp the aim of the group, and thats the same in every walk of life, but you still have to let them have their voice, just hopefully if things are organized by people who have common sense their ''silly'' ideas and comments will be ignored. Your just scaremongering and dismissing the idea out of hand without actually giving things time to settle down. I would be reluctant to make a judgement until if and when a meeting has been held to see if this can become something more tangible than a fleeting idea. Starting is the hardest part mate..
Well I've actually been talking to the guy running it and i've told him if it's run properly I'd love to help him with it but as I've said can see the potential for clubs getting fined through silly protests and banners.
BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.
Was there a list of all supporters trusts, clubs, groups etc on this site before?
I am pretty sure there was a list taken before sean south for supporters trusts,clubs taken before!