Thread: Whats the fascination with Irish Bars abroad?

Whats the fascination with Irish Bars abroad?

A few mates of mine just came back from touring Europe. They were in Dubrovnik, Prague, Budapest, Krakow, some of the most beautiful and cultural cities you could find. Yet, the first thing they practically did on arrival in every city was find the nearest Irish Bar. This really p1sses me off. Surely when you're away on holiday or travelling you want to see other cultures or if you're just a p1sshead, sample new beers and drinking cultures. Not go to a bleedin' irish bar just like at home, with crap guinness and crusty barmen from Trinners or UCD working their holliers. loike!!
    Really drives me nuts that does!!

its just an irish thing really.....

its like americans coming here looking for a steak house or coffee shop.
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

Quote Originally Posted by max power
    its like americans coming here looking for a steak house or coffee shop.
    On the flight home last Friday there was an American girl and her mother sitting next to me.
    From listening to them the girl was currently living in Druncondra and her mum was visiting. Anyway it was a cause of great concern that there was no Burger King close by so they decided to get McDonalds in the airport before heading into town. Lard Arses!

On the Irish Bar thing, I've noticed this before an avoid them generally unless I need to watch a game.

Anyone notice that there are a massive amount of English people that work in Irish bars on the continent! Nothing against the English, but its always funny to go into one and your greated with a "You alrigh' mate"!

Also Irish bars abroad tend to be the dearest in the cities they are in.
    UCD sha-la-la

Quote Originally Posted by cullenswood
    Also Irish bars abroad tend to be the dearest in the cities they are in.
    truely irish then, aren't they....
    Ignore Max Power, he is no more, the future is Ron Burgundy. I'd love to be Ron Burgundy but they won't let me........

its the fact that its a home away from home for some
    j'accuse!

Of course there's two types of Irish bar. There's your Irish theme bar, posters and signs and top o' the mornin' parephenalia that has as much to do with ireland as Disney has to do with actual rodents and ducks. And then there's the small bar run by the lovely couple from Dungarven who went out on holiday, fell in love with the place and stayed there and opened a bar where they have live music and GAA matches on TV.

Both types can be found in the very helpful Celtic fans site: www.celticbars.com Although primarily a Tims site, it's a goo bet on being able to see Ireland matches if you find yourself suddenly on holiday in the middle of a vital wcq. Like you do. Some are probably great places to get full of drink and cheer on the lads, others are probably dreadful tourist traps and to be avoided like scabies.

of course, all these pale into insignificance when compared to the Red Lion Pub type affair found all over Spain, packed with beered up Ingerland people.
    Tea. Corduroy. Space Travel.

Quote Originally Posted by max power
    truely irish then, aren't they....
    The most authentic Irish Bar I've been in abroad was in Shanghai, all the floor staff were Chinese

Quote Originally Posted by cullenswood
    Anyone notice that there are a massive amount of English people that work in Irish bars on the continent! Nothing against the English, but its always funny to go into one and your greated with a "You alrigh' mate"!
    if you come across any English people looking for seasonal work, then they coudl do worse that go to www.irishpubjobs.com, who are apparently a Dublin company specialising in making sure that the right English people find work in the right Irish pubs on the continent.

Quote Originally Posted by Conor74
    In fairness, I gladly pay that extra bit for Silk Cut ciggies and Bulmers (or Magniers) rather than Gitanes and fecking Ricard...
    Ah, but Ireland has exotic delights all of its own. Red lemondae for example. And then there were Sweet Afton. Worst cigarette on the planet. The better the cancer stick, the less writing on the label. Silk Cut says the brand name, and no more. Sweet Afton were so apalling they had to resort to poetry on the back. I haven't smoked in 12 years, and so, it goes without saying, am by now utterly desperate for a fag.

And Sweet Afton with a filtertip were known as ......................Major Afton and thence Major.

Quote Originally Posted by soccerc
    And Sweet Afton with a filtertip were known as ......................Major Afton and thence Major.
    You're showing your age there soccerc

Tell us the one about when you used to be able to get a 1/2 lb of Dolly mixtures for 1d

used to smoke john player special when i smoked,
    classy black box with gold lettering,fags were ok too but pricey.
    "tight? he's the kinda guy that eats baked beans on tuesday so's he can have a bubble bath on wednesday"!

Fromhttp://www.emigrant.ie/article.asp?iCategoryID=82&iArticleID=19023

Painters working on Islandeady church have discovered an old Sweet Afton cigarette packet secured to a beam high under the roof. The packet contained a note from three painters who worked on the church in preparation for the Marian Year in 1954, asking for prayers to be said for them. Tommy Brett, Jim Devaney and John Joe Brett are believed to have been from the Castlebar area and their message was found by Willie Loftus from the Manulla-Belcarra area. He took it to Father Pat Donnellan who honoured the request and prayers were said for the three men at all the Masses in Islandeady Church last weekend.

Gold Bond aren't sold any more, but are the main reason I've never ever smoked. When I was going to primary school, I used to get up round half seven and head downstairs for brekkie. Most mornings me ma would be there, gold bond hanging out of the corner of her mouth, puffing disgusting smelling smoke right into me face and cornflakes.....not a good impression on a 6 year old I can tell you. It made me sick...
    Pleased to say since the old bird has long given up the fags and the house is a smoke free zone....except when the auld fella rolls in lan-gers after his weekly visit to the boozer..

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    Most mornings me ma would be there, gold bond hanging out of the corner of her mouth
    I'm not sure I agree with revealing details of someone's personal life, especially when those concerned aren't available to give their response.
    Glad to hear that your mother has managed to quit smoking though.

nice one :d :d :d
    Or of course you could be really insulting my mother.....

Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    Or of course you could be really insulting my mother.....
    Certainly not. I admire people who can quit.
    So many people claim they can't.

112 Posts
    No probs with Irish bars abroad. Here in london its mostly chain bars, every one the same as the next. But its good to have a bar you can at least feel a bit of your own culture in, and they're handy to watch Ireland matches in. Id only drink in Irish bars abroad, for a taste of home and do the culture thing after that...
    'Fascists dress in black and go round telling people what to do, where as priests.....'

79 Posts
    [QUOTE=Conor74]

But then tried the whole cafe thing, sitting in some bar in a foreign country smoking Turkish cigarettes, drinking a pastis and looking in vain for the telly, with about three strangers staring at you.

[QUOTE]

Bang on.

I used to hate Irish bars abroad as well but there's a world of a difference between say those O'Neill's kips in Britland and the Irish Arms in Krakow.

O'Neill's are like McDonalds with worse staff. The Irish Arms in Krakow is a small side street boozer owned by a Clare bloke who'll let you drink all night and play whatever CDs you want. And there's an Irish Arms style pub in every city on the continent.

No One Likes Us, We Don't Care