Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

Thread: Governance of the FAI

536 Posts
    the IRFU own the land so did anyone expect them to just hand over part ownership without a sizeable FAI payment?
    the stadium will have to be built in less than 60 years from now anyway

2,681 Posts
    Lads, any chance this can be taken to the FAI Finances thread?

Could the mods move post #25 onwards to that thread?

I'd like to keep this thread kept to discussion of how the FAI is managed and overseen, rather than discussing the merits / demerits of a particular decision that was made. This thread may die a death or may build up into a body of evidence that can be used to offer constructive advice at a later date.

As I see it, the stadium debt discussion could be discussed here if what we were examining was how the decision was made, at what level was it discussed at Board, did Council ratify it, were the Board memberssufficiently financially experienced to make such a big decision and whether there was any mechanism in place to challenge the view of the Hon Treasurer / CEO or whoever ran with the project etc.

357 Posts
    This could be good for the game if it occured. I would love to see someone like Kevin Moran take over- a football background, a good communicator and a reasonably successful businessman too. However, let's be honest the suits look after their own!

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...320886420.html

229 Posts
    Out of interest, I wonder how much time JD needs to devote to his role as 2nd VP of the OCI. The comment below says it doesnt cost the FAI a penny, perhaps in monetary terms but do we lose x number of man days a year because of OCI distractions?

Is the OCI 2nd VP a paid role?

Is our CEO a Full Time member of staff?

“He is fully entitled to be there. Willy O’Brien is utilising it at the moment and then John Delaney comes over. It is entirely within the IOC regulations and it does not cost the FAI a penny. The IOC pays for it. My stay here is also paid for by the IOC.
    I thought you were off the drink Ronnie?

"No, I drink to help me mind my own business....can I get you one? (c) Ronnie Drew

He could be taking his own holidays from the fAI.

Remember the Euros was work....

192 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by paul_oshea View Post
    He could be taking his own holidays from the fAI.

Remember the Euros was work....
    Great work if you can get it.....
    "There's man all over for you, blaming on his boots the fault of his feet" - Samuel Beckett, Waiting for Godot

Quote Originally Posted by Charlie Darwin View Post
    Do you live in rented accommodation?
    Yes. I buy kitchen utensils, tv, bits of furniture etc for my home, I even change the lightbulbs. All things I can take with me after I leave (except maybe the lightbulbs). I woudn't dream of painting the place, changing carpets etc. That's the landlords job.

Anyway, my point is this, the IRFU have gotten a great deal out of this. They get their stadium re built at the FAIs expense and they still own the gaff. All they have to do is put up with them for the next 60 years. I really think a more permanent ownership of the ground for the FAI would be a better deal.

Football in this country is hopeless when it comes to real estate compared to the other associations. Look at how many good stadiums the GAA has. They are not called the Grab All Assoc for nothing. Rugby has the aviva and thomond and many other smaller venues. I really think the FAI should own more football real estate in this country to protect football here. Rent is dead money.

How many stadiums do we own? The MFA own TX, which you could argue is under FAI control. I think Terryland is owned by the Galway FA. I think the FAI own United Park in Drogheda. Thats it. All other grounds are owned by badly run football clubs that are at risk of being liquidated if the club folds (which is highly likely in the LOI). Edit: And the state of some of these grounds is appalling.

Its not a healthy situation IMO.
    Last edited by sullanefc; 28/07/2012 at 12:13 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    Yes. I buy kitchen utensils, tv, bits of furniture etc for my home, I even change the lightbulbs. All things I can take with me after I leave (except maybe the lightbulbs). I woudn't dream of painting the place, changing carpets etc. That's the landlords job.
    What if you knew you'd be living there for the next 60 years?

Anyway, my point is this, the IRFU have gotten a great deal out of this. They get their stadium re built at the FAIs expense and they still own the gaff. All they have to do is put up with them for the next 60 years. I really think a more permanent ownership of the ground for the FAI would be a better deal.
    Why though? What are they going to do, sell it?

This deal was made at the heigth of the property boom. The FAI could have borrowed twice as much money they can't afford to pay back to get a permanent share in land at a vastly-inflated price. Had they done that, they'd now be selling the land for half of what they paid to fund their negative equity or, worse, they'd be declaring bankruptcy.

Buying things you can't afford is moronic. The FAI is a moronic organisation. Let's be thankful they'd somehow arrived at the right decision in spite of themselves.

Football in this country is hopeless when it comes to real estate compared to the other associations. Look at how many good stadiums the GAA has. They are not called the Grab All Assoc for nothing. Rugby has the aviva and thomond and many other smaller venues. I really think the FAI should own more football real estate in this country to protect football here. Rent is dead money.
    They don't pay rent. They part-own the stadium for the next 55+ years. I'd love for the FAI to own more top-class stadiums, but buying a small plot of land with zero expansion potential in one of the most expensive parts of the country is a bad idea at any time, let alone the height of one the world's largest ever property bubbles.

How many stadiums do we own? The MFA own TX, which you could argue is under FAI control. I think Terryland is owned by the Galway FA. I think the FAI own United Park in Drogheda. Thats it. All other grounds are owned by badly run football clubs that are at risk of being liquidated if the club folds (which is highly likely in the LOI). Edit: And the state of some of these grounds is appalling.

Its not a healthy situation IMO.
    That's a result of their mismanagement of the league though, not a lack of shrewdness in the property market. Thomond exists because there are 27,000 people willing to file into it 10 times a year and all the sponsorship money that comes with it. The LOI is an absolute hole, so we get Terryland.

2,681 Posts
    FAI Finances thread anyone?

1,813 Posts
    Now that I'm back in the land of the living I'll indulge ya.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

999 Posts
    I thought this might fit in this thread - Irish Times commenting on FAI 'influence' in their independent club licdensing process.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...324534441.html

A LETTER from the FAI’s chief executive, John Delaney, and its president, Paddy McCaul, addressed to Independent Licensing Committee chairman Derek Dee in which they suggest the committee should have attached conditions to the granting of Limerick’s licence to participate in the league this year appears to severely undermine the association’s repeated claims regarding the integrity of a process it has always steadfastly insisted it did not interfere with.
    The letter alleges a number of previous threats by O’Sullivan to withdraw his support for the club and take a legal action against the association’s bank and says Delaney and McCaul “believe that information on both of these issues may not have been presented sufficiently strongly at the decision meeting in February”.

It goes on to suggest the decision not to reapply the sanction: “causes the association some difficulty as there is concern among the board that, given the history of Mr O’Sullivan’s relationship with the association, there is a real and continuing risk that he may follow through on his threat to withdraw support from the club mid-season”.

This, it is pointed out, would likely to lead to the club’s collapse “resulting in major embarrassment and calling in to question of the league, the licensing process and ultimately the association. “The board,” the letter concludes, “would like the committee to take this into account when dealing with Limerick FC in future”.

288 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    The Chairman of the National League is an honorary Board member and serves a term as nominated by that committee, I think.
    I was going to contradict you, but realised as I was posting that you actually said the opposite to what I picked up the first time I read it. Here are the relevant articles from this year's rulebook in any case.

Football Association of Ireland Rules effective from 27th September 2013

COMPOSITION OF THE FAI NATIONAL LEAGUE EXECUTIVE COMMITTEE

1. The Chairperson who shall be elected at the participant Clubs’ Annual Convention.
    2. The Vice-Chairperson who shall be elected at the participant Clubs’ Annual Convention.
    3. The Chief Executive Officer.
    4. a) One member who shall be elected by Council at its opening meeting and who shall not be an active member of any of the National League clubs.
    b) Nominations from members of Council for election must be in the hands of the Chief Executive Officer no less than five days in advance of the Council meeting in question.
    The official FAI nomination form must be signed by the candidate stating their willingness to serve on such Committee.
    Council members of the National League clubs are not entitled to nominate or vote.
    Such nominees shall be formally proposed and seconded at the said Council meeting. In the case of an equality of votes between two or more candidates, a further vote shall be held and if that fails to produce a result, the result shall be determined by the drawing of lots.
    The member elected by Council shall take up their position on 1st January and serve a term of two Calendar years.
    5. Two External Specialists to be co-opted by the Committee at its opening meeting and approved by the Board.
    As far as I know and if I remember correctly, Eamon Naughton was the vice-chairman for 2 years, when Paddy McCaul was elected chairman of the newly established NLEC in 2007.

Naughton was then elected chairman himself in 2009. He will have been in the position 6 years when his current term is up at the end of next year. The Participation Agreement (the 2011 one anyway) states that there is no term limit.

Naughton served as a delegate for Galway United before being elected NLEC vice-chair. He was opposed by John Croghan (Athlone I think) in the last election. Won by a single vote.

2,681 Posts
    http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/s...mp-273142.html

It looks like the FAI insiders want to continue their comfy tenure.

I was at a conference yesterday dealing with corruption in sporting bodies, with a lot of attention on FIFA as you'd expect. In the afternoon one of the panels contained a lady from UK Sport (their equivalent of the ISC) who will only hand out government money if they feel a NGB meets a desired standard of governance. She described a 60+ item checklist and questionnaire that must be completed as well as qualitative tests. They operate a red, amber, green system to flag areas of concern etc etc.

I was tempted to ask from the floor if, in her opinion, a NGB of a serious sport paid its CEO 3x more than the CEO of the world champion's equivalent, had no independent directors, has gone 3 years without a question from the floor at its AGM and now wants to vote to extend the tenure of its officers beyond 75 years, it would flag any governance concerns.

The ISC seems happy enough though. They dish out our government's dosh.

1,813 Posts
    Sure it's grand. Nothing to see here. Reading that makes it feel like we've been transported back to the wonderful Tiger Days.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

2,681 Posts
    SFAI get a seat on the FAI board for first time in years

http://www.irishexaminer.com/sport/s...rd-284102.html

I'll also post on the youth development thread for discussion.

2,681 Posts

2,681 Posts
    I thought this was interesting

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/sport/foo...-football.html

Basically saying reform of the SFA such as including Supporters Direct and media in the Council has coincided with improvements.

Very flattering article but at the same time there is other comment on the web saying this article is totally revisionist etc.

However, it's interesting in light of our supporters' grievances with JD etc.

485 Posts
    For the record i have no issue with the song. My question is did the Dutch courage go on the FAI credit card?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXybPPyp3zo
    Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.

2,681 Posts
    Is it true that Clones just got a 200k grant and funnily enough their pitch is called John Delaney Park? Also true that Michael Ring's home town club got a similar grant, their second such grant in recent years? The govt gave the FAI the money, FAI decided where it went. None of the clubs applied for it.

2,681 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by backtowalsall View Post
    For the record i have no issue with the song. My question is did the Dutch courage go on the FAI credit card?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=zXybPPyp3zo
    I'd question his judgment given ongoing tense relations with the IFA and all that goes with the player poaching row, and especially in light of the type of visitor we might expect from England in June.

Page 3 of 12 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast