Page 17 of 19 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 LastLast

Thread: Mons?

Quote Originally Posted by Magicme View Post
    but if you were banking on us bringing you loads of money then maybe you should have a look at your figures too.
    Who said anything about you bringing us loads of money??? LOL. The game V mons was probably one of the lowest attended. I'd be more annoyed about losing 3 points and 6 goals. But mainly because ye've made a farce of the league.

There will be two weekends now, where all the teams will be playing and CCFC will have no fixture. The Bye weeks were frustrating last year and I thought we were done with them only for mons to re-introduce them. Ye're a disgrace.
    Last edited by sullanefc; 04/07/2012 at 1:01 PM.

yeah a total disgrace coz we didn't bankrupt ourselves and deny the children of our community a chance to play football.

777 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Pulling out mid season is far worse than going amateur for the remainder of the season and not getting anymore points
    Far worse for who ? The rest of the league yes ? For monaghan's creditors surely not.

Its actually quite refreshing for a football club to act in a socially responsible manner for a change - so they made mistakes, but people turning on them for trying to make a go of it is a little rich - given the histroy of clubs going bust in this league and history of leaving creditors up and down the country high and dry.

777 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by sullanefc View Post
    Who said anything about you bringing us loads of money??? LOL. The game V mons was probably one of the lowest attended. I'd be more annoyed about losing 3 points and 6 goals. But mainly because ye've made a farce of the league.

There will be two weekends now, where all the teams will be playing and CCFC will have no fixture. The Bye weeks were frustrating last year and I thought we were done with them only for mons to re-introduce them. Ye're a disgrace.
    Jebus sullane - thats too strong - people in glasshouses and all that. You could be accused of having a short memory at the very least.

Quote Originally Posted by Real ale Madrid View Post
    Jebus sullane - thats too strong - people in glasshouses and all that. You could be accused of having a short memory at the very least.
    Short memory? Are you talking about Dublin City? The last team to pull out mid-season?

777 Posts
    Short memory? Are you talking about Dublin City? The last team to pull out mid-season?
    Yes Dublin City, as we have a glorious record of finanical management in Cork.

I remember in the not too distant past only for the good grace of a certain Drogheda United postponing a fixture we would have had to pull out mid season.

Fair enough that Monaghan made mistakes and its a bummer for the league but you have to at least respect the reasons why they have done what they have - calling them a disgrace etc is unwarranted.

I remember in the not too distant past only for the good grace of a certain Drogheda United postponing a fixture we would have had to pull out mid season.

Fair enough that Monaghan made mistakes and its a bummer for the league but you have to at least respect the reasons why they have done what they have - calling them a disgrace etc is unwarranted.
    Why not? They've treated the league with contempt. TNB was a disgrace too BTW. We still saw out the season though.

186 Posts

Its a bit more than a bummer. We were due to play them after the 2 week break. When they pulled out the club lost a huge chunk of cash on the gate (€15k I have heard a figure of on that game). We only had to play them once at home this season, other clubs would have to play them twice. Just becasue they are out dosent mean wages wont have to be paid for. Galway might have been **** but they fulfilled their fixtures, somthing that Roddy has said he would have liked to have done.
    Manager: Fergal, have you your boots with ya?
    Fergal: Ya, I have them here.
    Manager: Ah good stuff, well give them to this man so, he forgot his!

777 Posts
    Why not? They've treated the league with contempt.
    Contempt ? I'm guessing you know the ins and outs of the last few months up there if you can easily make a statement like that. I doubt Mons came to that decision lightly and while I repeat many mistakes were made I doubt any of them were not made in good faith.

TNB was a disgrace too BTW. We still saw out the season though.
    I wasn't refering to TNB above but as seen as you have brought him up; - One of the reasons TNB was such a disgrace was the way he left so many club employee's, players and businesses around Cork city and county out of pocket. There were some significant sums of money, not to mention the revenue issues. Monies which will never be recouped.

Fair play to Monaghan for showing some integrity at least and not just continuing to run up debt even as an amateur club.

398 Posts
    Sullanefc, for pragmatism I admire Mons, as I've stated earlier. They did the right thing for the local creditors and their reputation. This is a situation that happens across the world, here in Russia it's not uncommon. Clubs are realistic and if they mess up or are messed up or run into unexpected difficulties, they fold before they go too far - they don't look to the local government for a digout (like Real) or to rich benefactors (too many to mention) and the supporters simply can't afford to run it themselves. A decent 2nd division (3rd tier) club here needs $1-1.5million for team expenses alone (player and coach wages, travel). Given that most bring in under 5,000 through the gates for a home game and that tickets are less than $3, it doesn't take a genius to work out that unless there are other sources clubs can get in trouble. Some years ago I was looking forward to getting out to Irkutsk and visiting Lake Baikal, the club I was with were going to play them, had put a non-refundable deposit down to hire a plane and then bloody Irkutsk fold and pull out of the league. The reason? Their main source of funding (an airline) went bankrupt and rather than not paying players and other creditors, they shut up shop. Last season Sochi did the same. It's brave, pragmatic, and if it was your club you'd be proud of them acting in such an honourable manner.

Would you rather Mons run up further debts, then leave the local Johns Ambulance or Order of Malta out of pocket?

Whats to stop 4 or 5 clubs pulling out of the league with 6-7 games to go and they're out of contention for euro places/title and the finances are looking a bit iffy. Clubs could simply throw their hat at it if things aren't going their way and then rejoin next season. The league could be cut down to 7-8 clubs for the end of the season. Would mons have pulled out if they were top of the league? My eye.

My gripe is one of sporting integrity. If mons run up debts, fine. Go amateur and pay them back the following season. The reality is though, they should not even have applied to the league if they could not pay their way this year.

53 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Sean South View Post
    Ah here. You lot disapared over night leaving these young lads with no income and a very uncertain future, and your worried about a few jerseies.
    I phrased the original question badly I suppose, what I meant was did the players buy their own kit, or did they have the jerseys during the mid-season break and just kept them, or was it supplied by MUFC or the PFAI? MagicMe answered that the club gave Roddy kit for the game. I hope McGuinness acknowledges that the next time he goes off on one during MNS or on twitter.

Re: an earlier question about community outreach, I'm certain I saw stuff in the Northern Standard about primary school coaching in the county, and Gortakeegan is used for things like the Blackwater 10k run. Remember too that this is thick GAA country, I know that the biggest boys secondary school in the town (ie the main target audience) had (has?) a big pro-GAA/anti-soccer bias at the official level. The club didn't give up but you definitely have to acknowledge that certain people would actively block attempts by Monaghan United to increase its profile (its a factor but not a total excuse).

Just interesting to see again the football bubble, where the goal difference of Cork is more important than the debts to local businesses. Maybe this is the thing that is holding Irish football back, too much Me Fein-ism (I suppose I'd be guilty of it too) and too little long-term, bigger picture thinking?

Quote Originally Posted by MagicMon View Post
    where the goal difference of Cork is more important than the debts to local businesses.
    Sporting integrity. If the local businesses meant so much to mons then they shouldn't have entered the league this year with such a budget.

2,771 Posts
    youre being ridiculously harsh sullanefc. Since Olliebourne, no club enters a season of football with negative intent and the FAI has veto over proposed budgetary submissions if they feel they are weak or unsubstantiated.

"the best laid plans of mice and mons" and all that. Sometimes sh1t happens.
    I like high energy football. A little bit rock and roll. Many finishes instead of waiting for the perfect one.

Quote Originally Posted by SkStu View Post
    the FAI has veto over proposed budgetary submissions if they feel they are weak or unsubstantiated.
    Anybody running a business (i.e. mons board) should have the cop on not to run with a weak or unsubstantiated budget, and should not be depending on the FAI to give them the nod. That said, the FAI are not innocent in all this.

1,553 Posts
    Football isn't like other businesses. There are more variables and it genuinely is very difficult. MUFC have a good record of getting it right, but this year things went wrong and they decided to protect the club overall rather than the league. Unfortunate but understandable.

Whats your gripe Sullanfc? Seem to be on a vendetta there lad.
    If we were able to sustain league football we would have, not as if we just got together and said "ah sure we'll pull out will we, weren't able to afford tea bags today"

398 Posts
    Anybody running a business (i.e. mons board) should have the cop on not to run with a weak or unsubstantiated budget, and should not be depending on the FAI to give them the nod. That said, the FAI are not innocent in all this.
    Answer this then, the club have everything agreed, budget works etc. Suddenly the main employer in a town goes out of business, what then? Go amateur? Do you know how much it costs to run an amateur club?

101 Posts
    There has been some talk about Monaghan facing up to their debts with local creditors which leads me to ask how much can they have owed to local businesses? the Mondogs suppliers excepted.

Quote Originally Posted by Spudulika View Post
    Answer this then, the club have everything agreed, budget works etc. Suddenly the main employer in a town goes out of business, what then? Go amateur? Do you know how much it costs to run an amateur club?
    Surely you would have asked for cash upfront knowing that this senario could happen in the current climate?

Page 17 of 19 FirstFirst ... 71516171819 LastLast