Page 16 of 19 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 ... LastLast

Thread: Mons?

105 Posts
    What sort of involment had MU in their local community over the past 5-6 years? I dont mean sending a couple of players out to a national school every second month or so. I don't understand how a established club can be so islotated from their community. It's obvious they were with the crowds and lack of sponsors. I guess having a team of Dubs didn't help but did the people running MU alienate themselves?

Pulling out mid season is far worse than going amateur for the remainder of the season and not getting anymore points

I've asked earlier - were attendances down on the previous premier season or last season? It started as the inability to find a sponsor, now there appears to be an attempt to piggy back on dundalkkk's attendance excuse.

Quote Originally Posted by Macy View Post
    Pulling out mid season is far worse than going amateur for the remainder of the season and not getting anymore points
    This.

555 Posts
    Mons playing a friendly in Oriel this evening.

Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Mons playing a friendly in Oriel this evening.
    dont get you. how can mons be playing when the senior team is extinct??

305 Posts
    dont get you. how can mons be playing when the senior team is extinct??
    It was basicaly a training/trial match.Ok it wasn't Mons it was a team made up of ex-Monaghan Utd players.

Not mons just former players looking for clubs im pretty sure

555 Posts
    Monaghan kit worn. Monaghan United XI then.

FORMERLY: City till I Die Aaron's Avatar
    74 Posts
    Is it not a case of Monaghan Utd are still a club, but no longer play in the league?

Quote Originally Posted by Aaron View Post
    Is it not a case of Monaghan Utd are still a club, but no longer play in the league?

very true. but they are a club only for the under 19s and ladies.

46 Posts
    Roddy said last week on MNS that he was still training some of the Monaghan players to keep them fit and was going to organise a game for these players so they can showcase their skills to other clubs in the league

1,552 Posts
    Ha. I'm sure Dundalk will be right in there to offer them a decent wage and the sort of security that Mons just couldn't.

Roddy logic

Quote Originally Posted by Aaron View Post
    Far as I'm aware you don't need to be a Airtricity team to be a football club. White horse, they needed a kit as they had none since there not a team. They could have worn a real madrid replica kit would that have meant they were a Real Madrid XI
    Monaghan will still continue to develop talent at schoolboy level as we have been doing for the last few years.

53 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by White Horse View Post
    Monaghan kit worn. Monaghan United XI then.
    Did they take the shirts with them?

105 Posts
    Ah here. You lot disapared over night leaving these young lads with no income and a very uncertain future, and your worried about a few jerseies.

Yeah Sean cause we just did it for the craic like cause we don't have a sugar daddy

30 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by bullit View Post
    It was basicaly a training/trial match.Ok it wasn't Mons it was a team made up of ex-Monaghan Utd players.
    They have played a couple of games, managee by Roddy.
    Kinda like the PFAI Trail games in Norway etc

105 Posts
    What has not having a sugar daddy got to do with anything? It's hard for the people who gave so much time and money to Monaghan Utd over the years to see their club fold but worrying about a few jerseies comes across very bitter or tight fisted when the players were left with such a uncertain future, probably with no redundancy and having mortgages or loans to pay. Jeez....

Quote Originally Posted by Morginho View Post
    Yeah Sean cause we just did it for the craic like cause we don't have a sugar daddy
    Galway didn't have a sugar daddy last year. They saw out the season though.
    Last edited by sullanefc; 04/07/2012 at 12:00 PM.

I cant see who is worrying over a few jerseys....a fan of the club just asked a question! Roddy asked for a kit and he got one coz we will pay our players what they are owed and we are delighted that only 6 or so of them have yet to find clubs so we are happy to assist Roddy in helping those lads out.

Whatever you want to think sullen. If we had stayed in LOI we would have lost everything that everyone has worked years for and left a lot of good businesses who have supported us down the years high and dry. We have a conscience and felt it was the only responsible thing to do. Yeah it sucks for all the other clubs that we have gone mid season but if you were banking on us bringing you loads of money then maybe you should have a look at your figures too.

21. Thanks From:

Page 16 of 19 FirstFirst ... 61415161718 ... LastLast