Page 27 of 58 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast

Thread: Tipp South & District League 2012/13

Quote Originally Posted by rightboy View Post
    Yes he is capt of pike but its generally regarded that pike center of defence is their soft center
    ya your dead right. mullins biggest fan is himself and anyone that watches him regularly will tell you that he is one of the reasons that pike have only 1 fai to their name over the last few years. put it this way, if chalky and breeno were at the heart of the pike defence they would genuinly be ' all conquering '. breeno is a far better centre back. on chalky, i have only seen 2, maybe 3 strikers get the better of him in any game in the tsdl over the past 15 years. tells its own story really

well lads i just heard that muiris walsh described our game against redmonstown sunday as the possible shock of the fai this weekend, from what i have heard about them they are a decent side so just wondering what ye think, would it really be that much of a shock considering they knocked ou bt harps in the last round. BT harps beat us 3-1 in the league this year so just wondering how people see this tie.

stevie didnt start but came on as sub

Quote Originally Posted by the wombat View Post
    ya your dead right. mullins biggest fan is himself and anyone that watches him regularly will tell you that he is one of the reasons that pike have only 1 fai to their name over the last few years. put it this way, if chalky and breeno were at the heart of the pike defence they would genuinly be ' all conquering '. breeno is a far better centre back. on chalky, i have only seen 2, maybe 3 strikers get the better of him in any game in the tsdl over the past 15 years. tells its own story really
    Mullins is 24 or 25 and has played 1 FAI final and won that,he would have played in another 1 only for circumstances beyond he's control,he did go for trials with irish team but he was played full back where he does not play,if you are bringing a youngster for trials play him in his position where he plays,that's why he was chosen in the first place,and it is politics and everyone in the country knows that,i remember pike battering st michaels back 4 in fai a couple of years where 3 of the internationals were playin.it's all about opinions and fellas are not getting a chance to show what they are capable of,is walsh going to be there forever,and i see a post there that he scores 20 odd goals a season,he is their pen taker.there will never be 4 players from any team in limerick that will be capped together,even the great fairview team who were winning fai's hand over foot didn't get that recognition,they were lucky to get 1 cap and he was a dub,couple of other fellas got maybe one cap but that was it.

ok before i go any further iam sorry for stepping on people's toes and hurting their feelings but this is a TSDL THREAD NOT LIMERICK DESMOND LEAGUE THREAD, please lets just worry about the tsdl here and forget about pike and the rest,,,. hotspur pls leave this thread and start your own, i for one am sick of listening about this rubbish who is betterthan who. come and watch the tsdl for a while like we all do and then by all means come on here and rant and rave like the rest of us,enough is enough . sorry for the rant

Yes he is capt of pike but its generally regarded that pike center of defence is their soft center
    Ye'll find out soon enough now wont ye.any one of pike back 4 could have got man of the match in fai junior cup final.soft centre,your having a laugh now.

Quote Originally Posted by qwertyabu View Post
    ok before i go any further iam sorry for stepping on people's toes and hurting their feelings but this is a TSDL THREAD NOT LIMERICK DESMOND LEAGUE THREAD, please lets just worry about the tsdl here and forget about pike and the rest,,,. hotspur pls leave this thread and start your own, i for one am sick of listening about this rubbish who is betterthan who. come and watch the tsdl for a while like we all do and then by all means come on here and rant and rave like the rest of us,enough is enough . sorry for the rant
    If you read the posts correctly you will see that their all from your own crowd,and since when has pike played desmond league,tells you exactly what you know,oh and do you own this thread by the way?????.and ive seen plenty of tsdl,and its not all its made out to be either.

Quote Originally Posted by celticlads View Post
    well lads i just heard that muiris walsh described our game against redmonstown sunday as the possible shock of the fai this weekend, from what i have heard about them they are a decent side so just wondering what ye think, would it really be that much of a shock considering they knocked ou bt harps in the last round. BT harps beat us 3-1 in the league this year so just wondering how people see this tie.
    They are in the 4th tier of tsdl so of course it would be a shock to beat one of the top sides in north tipp. Its def possible though, they have won 3/3 in league and of course beat bt harps...but at the end of the day, it would still be a shock if they bet ye as i said they are in division3 and ye are premier.

I second what quertyabu says too, this is a tsdl thread, seems to be infected with limerick lads from time to time, tough enough to read anyway at the best of times.

Cahir v borris a big game in division 1 this weekend, if cahir get the win there would be a small gap opened, both sides had narrow wins the weekend, i imagine both will drop points throughout the season. It could be a case of whoever will drop the least will take the silverware.
    Galbally and moyglass the other 2 contenders for the league i reckon.

peake villa v bansha a big one too, both sides need the win. Draw would be no good for bansha and villa will have to go for the win.
    Last edited by footballfanatic; 11/10/2012 at 11:39 AM.

Quote Originally Posted by hotspur View Post
    Mullins is 24 or 25 and has played 1 FAI final and won that,he would have played in another 1 only for circumstances beyond he's control,he did go for trials with irish team but he was played full back where he does not play,if you are bringing a youngster for trials play him in his position where he plays,that's why he was chosen in the first place,and it is politics and everyone in the country knows that,i remember pike battering st michaels back 4 in fai a couple of years where 3 of the internationals were playin.it's all about opinions and fellas are not getting a chance to show what they are capable of,is walsh going to be there forever,and i see a post there that he scores 20 odd goals a season,he is their pen taker.there will never be 4 players from any team in limerick that will be capped together,even the great fairview team who were winning fai's hand over foot didn't get that recognition,they were lucky to get 1 cap and he was a dub,couple of other fellas got maybe one cap but that was it.
    Fairview had at least three capped in one match.
    just a few facts.
    barry flynn(who you refer to as a dub) won at least 12 caps while playing with fairview(as well as three,count' em, FAI's)).
    others to win caps(plural) that come to mind were:
    eoin lynch
    jason purcell
    kevin mccarthy
    john whyte
    brian buckley
    ross cosgrove
    jim sheahan
    joe hannon..
    all of these won more then one cap...there are at least ten more but their names escape me at this moment in time
    apologies to TDSL people...just wanted to put the record staright

Quote Originally Posted by prawnsandwich2 View Post
    just a few facts.
    barry flynn(who you refer to as a dub) won at least 12 caps while playing with fairview(as well as three,count' em, FAI's)).
    eoin lynch
    jason purcell
    kevin mccarthy
    john whyte
    brian buckley
    ross cosgrove
    jim sheahan
    joe hannon..
    all of these won more then one cap...there are at least ten more but their names escape me at this moment in time
    colm and barry heffernan

If you read the posts correctly you will see that their all from your own crowd,and since when has pike played desmond league,tells you exactly what you know,oh and do you own this thread by the way?????.and ive seen plenty of tsdl,and its not all its made out to be either.
    whatever league pike play in i dont give a monkey's about it, this is tsdl thread not limerick

Quote Originally Posted by prawnsandwich2 View Post
    just a few facts.
    eoin lynch
    jason purcell
    kevin mccarthy
    john whyte
    brian buckley
    ross cosgrove
    jim sheahan
    joe hannon..
    you dont have to apoligise for facts ,,some good names there,barry flynn a class act as most others there are.

nonsense arguement Mullins is top class so are breeno and chalkie. No need to squable over it . In my opinion pike are stronger than saints this year and would fancy them to go further in national and provincial competions, but ya never know. Both teams have 6 or 7 top class players and its just matter of which gets the most out of the rest of their panel performance wise over the course of a season. This is really a pointless arguement and can only really be discussed properly on seasons end, but just to close it my saints/pike best 11 would be
    1 neville 2 mullins 3 higgins 4 breen 5 walsh 6 hartnett 7 carr 8 tierney 9 richie ryan 10 alan barry 11 eoin hanrahan
    if it wasnt for birds and booze id have played for ireland juniors!!!!!

Quote Originally Posted by balls View Post
    nonsense arguement Mullins is top class so are breeno and chalkie. No need to squable over it . In my opinion pike are stronger than saints this year and would fancy them to go further in national and provincial competions, but ya never know. Both teams have 6 or 7 top class players and its just matter of which gets the most out of the rest of their panel performance wise over the course of a season. This is really a pointless arguement and can only really be discussed properly on seasons end, but just to close it my saints/pike best 11 would be
    1 neville 2 mullins 3 higgins 4 breen 5 walsh 6 hartnett 7 carr 8 tierney 9 richie ryan 10 alan barry 11 eoin hanrahan
    Good team I hate to playing that team too often , I think your about right especially the defence but to be fair you could argue for other players from both sides

Wayne colbert would def be in that team,

Quote Originally Posted by balls View Post
    good team would surely win the fai i would have fahey of saints in midfield tho, also id have pa maloney in up front as he is pike's best striker imo, and colbert would be certain starter in my team.

My argument was that Mullins should now partner Breen for Ireland not play instead of him, and all the points made i have taken on board and some good arguments but Wombats suggestion that Mullins biggest fan is himself and that he's a soft centre.....have you ever seen the guy play? He is top top drawer as im sure both Saints fans and Limerick fans will confirm and the funniest part is he is probably the most down to earth, modest chap you could ever meet so the "fan of himself" bit is beyond ludicrous

Quote Originally Posted by Tipp Top View Post
    My argument was that Mullins should now partner Breen for Ireland not play instead of him, and all the points made i have taken on board and some good arguments but Wombats suggestion that Mullins biggest fan is himself and that he's a soft centre.....have you ever seen the guy play? He is top top drawer as im sure both Saints fans and Limerick fans will confirm and the funniest part is he is probably the most down to earth, modest chap you could ever meet so the "fan of himself" bit is beyond ludicrous

wel just have to agree to disagree but i take your point. anyway lads i think ye should give the whole saints and limerick thing a rest for a while, plenty of other clubs in tipp to talk about. by the way i didnt say the chap had a soft centre so recheck what you read. i just argued that pikes defence has been less than watertight over the past few years and it is their attacking players that should feel most hard done by re international recognition
    Last edited by the wombat; 12/10/2012 at 1:26 PM.

Quote Originally Posted by Tipp Top View Post
    My argument was that Mullins should now partner Breen for Ireland not play instead of him, and all the points made i have taken on board and some good arguments but Wombats suggestion that Mullins biggest fan is himself and that he's Ua soft centre.....have you ever seen the guy play? He is top top drawer as im sure both Saints fans and Limerick fans will confirm and the funniest part is he is probably the most down to earth, modest chap you could ever meet so the "fan of himself" bit is beyond ludicrous
    100% correct Tipp top,the most down to earth fella you could ever meet,and top top player to boot,

Ya have to agree I've meet pa Mullins and he is a good bloke I was never disputing that I was just giving a football opinion nothing more or less

Page 27 of 58 FirstFirst ... 17252627282937 ... LastLast