Page 5 of 18 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

Thread: Where to from now....

Quote Originally Posted by Noelys Guitar View Post
    Excellent performance from Greece to beat Russia. Samaras MOM. Shows what can be achieved by a team with not one world class player. Robbed of a peno as well. They make the most of what they have.
    The difference is Greece have a large number of players playing first team football every season in the Champions League and Europa League for Panathainaikos, Olympiakos, PAOK etc.
    Plus you have some of the top greek players playing first team football for big teams in other leagues.

I saw PAOK playing Shamrock Rovers in Tallaght and they were very impressive with very strong, very fast football. They looked alot stronger than some of the big other teams like Partisan Belgrade, FC Copenhagen who recently played in Tallaght and had lots of internationals in their sides.

Ireland by comparison have very few players playing regular top European football and most of the our squad are just premiership squad players who are in and out of their first teams.

182 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Crosby87 View Post
    I wonder if Trap went home and thought about it for a week and decided to step down, would they make Tardelli the Manager? It just seems like he knows the game but would be younger and perhaps more flexible.
    You never know, if we beat Italy, trap might get a job offer somewhere better.

Tardelli was giving out to Trap something terrible in Moscow, telling him to bring on an extra midfielder. So he seems to see the same problems we do.

1,928 Posts
    Trap's strategy was good and incisive but the method(s) used has been found wanting. Some of the reasons for them to be found wanting are outside Trap's control but he is the man to select from the available players and select the ways to get the good and the best out of them. And then finally we are left with the spectacle of our method as being the stick others use to beat us senseless and our method being some kind of fear generator, infecting basic football ability that we know those players have in varying amounts.

I woke up this morning thinking that 4331 would be good, that would work, why not? until I did the maths.
    Last edited by geysir; 17/06/2012 at 2:48 PM.

1,825 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by geysir View Post
    I woke up this morning thinking that 4331 would be good, that would work, why not? until I did the maths.
    In Arabic maybe...

I'm gonna have a game of Pro Ev now and set my team up as 3-3-4 for the craic.
    DID YOU NOTICE A SIGN OUTSIDE MY HOUSE...?

Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    I'm not saying you're wrong but can you (or anyone) substantiate that?
    We have individual coaches some of them FAI who are doing decent work in some corners of the country but the emerging talent system as I have stated is not fit for purpose.

All you have to do is go to something like the Kennedy cup All youll see is a group of yes men in FAI tracksuits Sponsored cars and clip boards latching onto teams as if they somehow had alot of input into the development of certain players and teams. They have to be seen to be doing something rather than actually doing an effective/Constructive job on the ground at grassroots.

They are looking for physically bigger lads and smaller players are most of time overlooked. They have no clue. Emphasis then for many teams is to overlook the smaller players who could end up being the most skillful players in the future if the talent was harnessed and nurtured.

We need a radical overhaul at grassroots level.

358 Posts
    The amount of negativity that is permeating this forum, while understandable, is making me feel flat. Debate about fans, national academies, Trap, line ups, tactics and the opinions of commentators is certainly valid considering our results so far. Should fans be pushing the FAI for a review of what has happened and look for answers? Could it be the opportunity for the FAI to face its demons and to start to tackle the many issues it faces?

I think until such a review is undertaken the many valid points that are expressed on here will remain ideas and no more.

503 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gastric View Post
    The amount of negativity that is permeating this forum, while understandable, is making me feel flat. Debate about fans, national academies, Trap, line ups, tactics and the opinions of commentators is certainly valid considering our results so far. Should fans be pushing the FAI for a review of what has happened and look for answers? Could it be the opportunity for the FAI to face its demons and to start to tackle the many issues it faces?

I think until such a review is undertaken the many valid points that are expressed on here will remain ideas and no more.
    The real progress from 10 years ago is that such a review will probably happen as a matter of course. The organisation does seem to be light years away from what it once was. No reports of the usual issues of rubbish hotels, lost kit, players squeezing into economy class seat on planes etc.
    Bring Back Belfast Celtic F.C.

2,796 Posts
    I can warm to Kerr when he's being humble and balanced in the way he expresses his views. Although I do remember him starting Stephen Elliott, an out-and-out front man, as the right "corner forward" in a 433 at home (Croatia friendly?) and who can ever forget his genius substitution at home to Israel? Still, I think his points are valid.

http://www.irishtimes.com/newspaper/...18141670.html#

REVERTING TO the usual Ireland XI, with Kevin Doyle’s return, suggests there will be no change to our inflexible system for the final game of this nightmare experience.

The attitude seemingly is thus: It got us this far, it failed, but so what? We’ve had a plan under Trap. Just the one. The players conformed or they were out. It has generally worked, up to the final warm-up game in Budapest, but it has often been skin of the teeth stuff.

There were plenty of warning signs against Macedonia, Armenia and Georgia.

Yes, I know as much as anyone how hard it is to get results on the international stage but it has been ever so dull to watch the Republic of Ireland in recent years.

We have lacked any flair or inventiveness and a lot of people in my big circle have been turned off by it. These are football people to their very core but they just couldn’t stomach the football we played.

Nobody is adopting an “I told you so” stance either. It hurts too much.

Nobody wants to be right about Ireland failing.

What surprised me most of all after seeing the pounding given to us by Russia (who, as an aside, were sussed on Saturday by Greece) in the qualifiers, and again during the Croatia and Spain meltdowns, was the complete lack of a Plan B. Nothing.

As a young coach I always admired the wisdom of experienced managers and how they could make a decision that altered what seemed the inevitable course of a game.

Italy coach Cesare Prandelli is a perfect example. Throughout their qualifying campaign the Azzurri played with a diamond shape of four in midfield.

It was narrow but allowed Pirlo to dictate from its base with support from De Rossi and Montolivo, while Prandelli mostly used Marchisio to assist the now injured Giuseppe Rossi and Antonio Cassano up front.

They ambled through their group finishing above Estonia on 26 points.

But then Prandelli, faced by the mighty Spaniards, changed his tactics.

It proved a masterstroke. He played De Rossi in the middle of what became a five-man back line with tough men Bonucci and Chiellini either side of him.

The match-fixing allegations denied them their regular left back Domenico Criscito, so he selected a debutant in Emanuele Giaccherini against Spain.. We talk about throwing lads in, Prandelli has done it. First cap, no friendly match, nothing. In you go. And the risk paid off.

The overall result of three centre backs, raiding wing backs and a crowded midfield meant Spain’s weaving patterns were confined to ineffectual areas, 30 yards from goal.

That evening I witnessed De Rossi and Pirlo spreading some beautiful passes on the counter to Maggio, Giaccherini and Cassano in the vacant spaces the Spanish defence leaves. The plan was so successful that Prandelli stuck with it against Croatia.

They were far superior in the first half with Pirlo’s set piece goal scant reward for dominating midfield.

Luka Modric hardly got a kick.

But then Croatia manager Slaven Bilic unveiled his Plan B, changing to 4-3-3. The pace of the contest changed immediately. Modric came alive, while Mandzukic scored at the far post, out of sight of the three centre backs.

The point is this. Two coaches, both far younger than Trap and with far less achievements to their name, both had a Plan B, distinctly different from their usual approach but clearly worked upon in advance.

Meanwhile, back at the Irish ranch, we plough on slavishly with 4-4-2, existing in a wonderland of tactical intransigence.

Prandelli may have been a player and student of Trap’s in the past, and has fawned over him at press conferences, but he is no fool.

Last summer’s friendly victory over Italy is irrelevant on the basis that both teams were severely undercooked and Prandelli was still experimenting. The draws against them during the World Cup qualifying campaign, and Trap’s old sparring partner Marcelo Lippi, were impressive results.

Again though, they are largely irrelevant now. Maybe Trap will have a brand new plan for his native land.

Italy need a win. They are having a respectable tournament so far but they are not a great team. They hit you on the counter and there’s an overreliance on the erratic Mario Balotelli. His potential absence through a knee injury may prove a veiled blessing for Italy.

The elegant Pirlo has been a joy to watch but the 33-year-old visibly slowed in the second half against the Croats. Still, we must stop him from conducting the orchestra. Who will do this? Not one of our immovable objects, Glenn Whelan and Keith Andrews, so more likely it will be expected of Doyle or Robbie Keane to help out in midfield without specific instructions, as Walters alleged after Thursday’s torture.

I so much want us to come out of this tournament with something tangible.

The arguments for dramatic change are sound and hard to argue against but they will get lost in translation once again.

We’ll just have to put up with that for now.
    Last edited by Stuttgart88; 18/06/2012 at 2:48 PM.

Sadly viewing the houses that were once Milltown
    794 Posts
    The old Plan B cliche. He tried Plan B against Spain. Alas we conceded in the first 4 minutes and dropping back Cox to be the 5th midfielder was dead in the water although we limited Spain to the one goal for the rest of the half. He went back to Plan A and conceded 3 in the second half.

We didn't need Plan B against Croatia. We got back to 1-1 but then Croatia got a goal which should not have stood so it should have been 1-1 at half time. Different game. ANother goal when Shay headed in to the net just after half time and Plan Z let alone Plan B would not have rescued that.

I agree though it (primarily the home games) has not been great to watch. Personally, for the few internationals there are a year I am happy to "suffer" a poor enough game if we get the result. I would go away much happier with a turgid 1-0 than a breath-taking 3-3. I know the two are not mutally exclusive and the empty seats in the Aviva testify that nowadays people want to be entertained as well but I will say this that if we play "entertaining" football and lose, there will be far more empty seats. I was at the 0-1 game against Wales when Big Jack took over and there were about 17k I think even though up to that Irish managers had tried to play the "proper" way.

It must also be remembered that we are only talking about 2 games. The first one we got no breaks and the second one we were played off the park by the World Champions.

Trap's way has got us to a play off and a Finals. People obviously want more than that. However, be careful what you wish for. Perhaps someone else will lead us to the promised land or we might hire a false prophet who will lead us to the wilderness. Me, I prefer someone who knows the way even though it is over a very rutted and harsh landscape and the actual destination is a disappointment when we arrive. At least we are there and not floundering in the desert.
    Forget about the performance or entertainment. It's only the result that matters.

214 Posts
    Plan B? He tried something for the first time against the reigning European & World champions. No wonder it ended in disaster. At least play a recognised midfielder in there....but no he went with a striker who has sat on the bench for the past 2 seasons. He had ample opportunity to experiment in one of the endless number of international friendly games we have nowadays but decided not to.

Croatia played us off the park. Foul on Ward or not they would have won that game.

2,796 Posts
    Sorry Owls Fan, can't agree. Plan A isn't even very convincing in qualification. Trap did try a Plan B but an insane one - Cox in midfield - with a generous sprinking of hoofball thrown in.

I'm happy to totally and utterly disregard Spain but Plan B vs Croatia was hoofball with Cox wide left. Nonsense. Croatia had started to dominate before the waxy second goal. Hoofball is not a viable Plan A, B or Z in the modern game.

By all means be a cautious manager reliant on defending well and nicking goals, but tired old 442 can't even be relied upon to do that. Name me one convincing home performance under Trap? Georgia, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Armenia, Montenegro (OK, dead rubber), Cyprus - all awful stuff, truly awful.

I am careful what I wish for and I know that change for change's sake is dangerous. I wish for immediate refreshing of the team in only a few positions, with a gradual refreshing of the rest of the squad over 6-12 months, and an immediate reconsideration of approach and tactics. If Trap & Tardelli can do this between them I'd be delighted.

161 Posts
    Hodgson would not pick the squad or teams Trap has been sending out. For one Long would be ahead of Cox and rightly so (and I don't think Cox is a bad player just that Long is a better player). McCarthy would have been inbedded in this team some time ago (and yes I know about McCarthy's off pitch personal life stuff but am convinced that they would ahve been sorted a long time ago). Stephen Reid (now injured) would have played some part in the qualifyers. O'Shea would be playing at center half (excellent in that position for Sunderland since MON took over and again would be ahead of Sledge simply because he is a better all round player). McClean would definetely have got some game time. I doubt he would have played Given or Keane. Hypothetical but I'm basing this on how WBA lined out and how England line out now.

242 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by gastric View Post

One hundred per cent true. Are you listening Pat Kenny? Maybe you can bring Dunphy, Giles, Brady onto your prime time show and perhaps someone from the FAI and get the whole thing out in the open. We all know it's a lack of technical ability and a lack of proper coaching. And we need to make a decision once and for all as a country if we are going to get behind the LOI and build it, or not.

Otherwise, like Gastric says, it will remain just ideas and no more and we'll still be talking about this in 25 years time.

2,796 Posts
    Pat Kenny was in Gdansk, just as an aside!

242 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by Stuttgart88 View Post
    Sorry Owls Fan, can't agree. Plan A isn't even very convincing in qualification. Trap did try a Plan B but an insane one - Cox in midfield - with a generous sprinking of hoofball thrown in.

I'm happy to totally and utterly disregard Spain but Plan B vs Croatia was hoofball with Cox wide left. Nonsense. Croatia had started to dominate before the waxy second goal. Hoofball is not a viable Plan A, B or Z in the modern game.

By all means be a cautious manager reliant on defending well and nicking goals, but tired old 442 can't even be relied upon to do that. Name me one convincing home performance under Trap? Georgia, Bulgaria, Macedonia, Armenia, Montenegro (OK, dead rubber), Cyprus - all awful stuff, truly awful.

I am careful what I wish for and I know that change for change's sake is dangerous. I wish for immediate refreshing of the team in only a few positions, with a gradual refreshing of the rest of the squad over 6-12 months, and an immediate reconsideration of approach and tactics. If Trap & Tardelli can do this between them I'd be delighted.
    Here, here!

161 Posts
    We all know the tactics and conservative player choices are not going to change. Every indicator points to us not winning any games against Sweden or Austria and losing both games to Germany. Delaney is giving the Status Quo full backing from Poland but I wonder when he gets back to Ireland and has a reality check will his backing for Trap be so fullsome. I like Trap. Believe he did a good job getting us to a play-off and to these finals. But I see a team going backwards. And it would only take a bad result in our first qualifying game for the wheels to come off. And I'm not convinced this is a happy squad.

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    *hunt*

International Prospect tricky_colour's Avatar
    621 Posts
    Without Hunt we have lost every game.

A fact which speaks for it self but to deaf ears.

Lets not forget, the next Euros is supposed to be going from 16 to 24 teams in the finals which should make it easier for us to get back in again.

This might well suit Delaney down to the ground, as some of the ole ole brigade who wouldnt have the money or the commitment to e.g. trek to Brazil for a WC would be quite happy with a Polish style week on the lash every four years and the hard questions that Irish football faces might not get asked or answered.

I would hate to see the FAI get off the hook in this way.

It will be interesting to see how the post mortem from this campaign develops in the weeks ahead.

417 Posts
    They are going to end up not expanding it just based off our performance.
    No Somos muchos pero estamos locos.

Page 5 of 18 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast