Thread: Change of date for finn harps game nxt wk

Change of date for finn harps game nxt wk

I am not sure if ppl have heard but it was confrd in todays longford leader that our harps away game originally scheduled for fri wk is now changed to the following night instead.. this will be good news for any away support and should boost the away support which is badly needed.

in other news I heard officially that jacques morley left the club a few weeks ago..I know the real reason for why he left but I refuse to release it in the public domain..

No Marty it was supposed to be on the Saturday, now on the Friday night. Finn Harps tweeted this;

"Finn Harps v Longford Town DATE CHANGE
    Finn Harps' next home Airtricity League First Division fixture, against Longford Town, has been brought forward 24 hours and will now be played on Friday 22nd June at Finn Park (kick-off 7.45pm). This is due to a potential clash with a Republic of Ireland Euro 2012 quarter-final fixture, should Ireland progress beyond the group stages."

Quote Originally Posted by De Town View Post
    This is due to a potential clash with a Republic of Ireland Euro 2012 quarter-final fixture, should Ireland progress beyond the group stages."
    Love the optimism. Could they not have waited until after tonight?

I didnt get a chance to post this earlier but I want to apologise for any confusion caused by my posting. I was told in good faith that date of the game had changed and it was only when I looked at harps website that I realised that the date was never changed in the first place. I then got in touch with my contact and he didnt believe me at first and once he checked with the secretary of the club he realised the errors of his ways.

205 Posts
    in other news I heard officially that jacques morley left the club a few weeks ago..I know the real reason for why he left but I refuse to release it in the public domain..
    Great.
    Sporting F*ck All!

So is it changed back to the Saturday night?

1,104 Posts
    Too late to change it back now I'd say under league rules.

861 Posts
    So just to clear it up its now a friday night? Hope the bus still runs.
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

2,446 Posts
    Friday night 22nd June definitely.

861 Posts
    Perfect since Ireland wont be in the quarters at least I can watch England on the Saturday night should they get there of course.

861 Posts
    Didnt want to start a new thread for this so will just throw it in here. Was just listening to Shannonside radio and Deniese O'Flattery (Sorry if I spelt that wong) was on and she said that TC has been told by the chairman that if he wants to strengthen the squad in July there is a budget there.....Fantastic news and fair play to everyone behind the scenes cant remember a season as smooth as this before

1,104 Posts
    Yeah things are going well behind the scenes by all accounts. A lot of the old debt from the past has now been dealt with through a lot of hard work and no little investment from those in charge and not forgetting the Supporters Trust. They're looking to grow the club in a sustainable way. Still need people to get out and support the team however.

Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Didnt want to start a new thread for this so will just throw it in here. Was just listening to Shannonside radio and Deniese O'Flattery (Sorry if I spelt that wong) was on and she said that TC has been told by the chairman that if he wants to strengthen the squad in July there is a budget there.....Fantastic news and fair play to everyone behind the scenes cant remember a season as smooth as this before
    TC and the club should most definitely not bother spending any more money now. With Monaghan going, I can't see anything but a single division league next year. I'd hold off until Delaney's back from courting support from "the best fans in the world" and decides to take an even passing interest in what's actually happening in the league before possibly spending more money that could be spent next year/ pay more debts. We can't compete with Limerick financially anyway.
    Last edited by Macy; 18/06/2012 at 1:44 PM.

33 Posts
    Got to agree with Macy here and hold off on spending alot of money if we don't need to but I wonder will any of the Monaghan team be available on the cheap that might help us push on, if we can release weaker squad members.

Hopefully the team has got it together again after the last two games and the break has energised them and refreshed them and they are raring to go, we are still a point in front and loads of twists and turns to come before the season is over.

861 Posts
    That young lad Monaghan signed from Notts Forrest could be worth a punt he cant be on huge money and I'm sure everyone agrees Keegan is a star but hel be in England before long so I wouldnt say we could sign him if he does sign for another Irish club it'l be a Rovers or a Pats.

861 Posts
    By the way lads the supporters club are running/trying to run a bus to the game on Friday. Now anyone thats been up to a Town - Harps game recently knows there is always a cracking bit of atmosphere and rivalry so if you havent been before or in a long time theres no better game to come back for as we simply have to win our first game back! You can book your place by texting Liam and if you dont have his number just message me and I'l pass it onto you....Cheers.

861 Posts
    Just after hearing the bus is cancelled due to lack of intrest, shocking the people of Longford won't come out to support their team....a winning team at that!

There's hardly anyone driving up I could hitch a lift with? Will pay as much as I can for Diesel/petrol.

in my own defence I started my new job yesterday in Carrickmines Dublin and am working a 5 pm to midnight shift that day(harps game) so work is the no 1 priority for me at the moment!

24. Thanks From:

861 Posts
    Oh Jesus ye Martinho I know that and don't worry I'm not having a go at anyone on here or any other Longford town FANS I'm having a go at all the barstoolers and bandwagoners that can't even come out to support a winning team (there usually good at that)

26. Thanks From:

A (forecast) wet night in Ballybofey, on a working day - what's stopping people FFS!!!!????!!!!