Thread: Change of date for finn harps game nxt wk

2,446 Posts
    Crazy rain up here this morning. If it doesn't ease up tomorrow it's hard to know whether this game will go ahead or not.

1,104 Posts
    Forecast isn't good I believe.

81 Posts
    in my own defence I started my new job yesterday in Carrickmines Dublin and am working a 5 pm to midnight shift that day(harps game) so work is the no 1 priority for me at the moment!
    No excuse.

861 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by nigel-harps1954 View Post
    Crazy rain up here this morning. If it doesn't ease up tomorrow it's hard to know whether this game will go ahead or not.
    We had strong rain here this morning and the first thing that hit my mind was the state of the pitch last year....Weather was grand whole wau up in the car but as soon as we hit your way there was unreal rain and fog then when we got to the ground the pitch was pure brown a mudbath so I wouldnt be surprised if it's off....Keep us updated if you can
    BetweenTheStripes.net - Home of Between the Stripes LOI podcast.

2,446 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    We had strong rain here this morning and the first thing that hit my mind was the state of the pitch last year....Weather was grand whole wau up in the car but as soon as we hit your way there was unreal rain and fog then when we got to the ground the pitch was pure brown a mudbath so I wouldnt be surprised if it's off....Keep us updated if you can
    If you keep an eye on the Harps facebook page, or www.harpstalk.com that's usually the best bet. At this stage, the rain held off for most of the evening, but it's raining again now tonight.
    Pitch apparently had a lot of work done to get it back up to scratch over the break, but the weather can't have helped it much. Have to wait and see. Unfortunately I can't make the game myself now. Half hoping it is called off so I can make it again!

238 Posts
    Pitch is 100%, should be in great condition for the game.

Live commentary of the game for anyone not able to travel http://www.ustream.tv/channel/finn-harps-radio

861 Posts
    Ah FFS I just wrote a big yoke out and it got deleted by accident so here's a shorter response. We all played very well every player with stand out preformers Des Hope, Chris Deans, Crawley and Bermo.

622 Posts
    Mervue away next then athlone at home, should be able to keep our necks above water for a few more weeks before we have a big wan with waterford.

crackin win last nite.. the next few wks is the key. I wont be at the Mervue game either.. I assume Outspoken you made it down was there many town fans that made it down?

861 Posts
    Ye I was there, was less then 10 of us and alltogether i'd say just about 100 there....Don't know where extratime.ie got 270 from not a hope.....There was more at the mass down the road then there was at the match....not kidding.

No Salmon or Kirby on Friday - are they injured does anyone know? If so hope not serious

Any rumours on any new faces?

238 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by outspoken View Post
    Ye I was there, was less then 10 of us and alltogether i'd say just about 100 there....Don't know where extratime.ie got 270 from not a hope.....There was more at the mass down the road then there was at the match....not kidding.
    230 official attendance.

Harps were the ones creating the chances, we missed a couple of really good chances and then gifted ye 2 VERY soft goals. We deservedly got one back and looked like possibly getting something out of the game until a horrible ref decision gave ye a pen.
    Story of our season.

861 Posts
    Still can't see how there was 230 there even if everyone sat in the stand it wouldn't have been full! On the gane itself you did miss 1 or 2 big chances but credit to Chris Deans and Craig Walsh for their goal saving tackles, deans tackle was one of the best I have ever seen! The penalty didn't look 1 all of us in the stand agreed on that but apparently after the game the harps centre half said to one of our lads it was a stone Waller so who knows I still think we would have hung on but this is the football as the Italians say.

238 Posts
    The seats in the stand hold 400 so you're right, the crowd would have filled them.

Either way, ye got the 3 points, we got feck all. I hate football.

Quote Originally Posted by DRDoc View Post
    No Salmon or Kirby on Friday - are they injured does anyone know? If so hope not serious

Any rumours on any new faces?
    we are linked with a few mon utd players I havent heard of any names as of yet..

861 Posts
    The only 2 Monaghan players I'd tale are Jordan Keegan and Conor Murphy. However Keegan was well on course for a move to England so if that doesn't happen he will end up at a Rovers, Sligo, Pats etc.

As for Murphy he is a promising young striker that Roddy signed from Notts Forrest academy and while he's a good young striker thata not what we need we need someone built in the same mold as Jason Byrne someone who can lead from the front and get us 15-20 goals a season.

I presume by the Notts Forrest Academy you mean Bray Wanderers :-)

Moaghan have alot of really young players that may or may not be worth a look at it if they will add to us, Keegan by far there best player will no doubt sign for a premier side

19. Thanks From:

861 Posts
    Sorry who is the lad from Notts academy they signed at start of year his name is on the tip of my tongue!!! Darragh Reynor!!! thats the one, ye would he be worth a punt? Again Still think it's a Jason Byrne like character we need.

Reynor signed for Pats from the Notts Forrest academy and then went to Monaghan, Collins liked to say he was signin lads from England to make it sound better for him when bringin them in
    If god wanted us to play football in the clouds he would have put grass up there!

861 Posts
    So not worth signing in other words, keegan is thr only 1 but won't get him besides we don't need him our midfield is great!