Page 39 of 85 FirstFirst ... 29373839404149 ... LastLast

Thread: Limerick Junior Soccer 2004/05

Quote Originally Posted by Mark_no9
    Widow your right to be more concerned with Balla,They have no past and the future looks as bleek watching them on sunday.To even compare them with Fairview is frightening....
    Here here, Balla won the league last year, which is the past also may I add, & thought they were world beaters.
    Fairview are the only Limerick club to dominate junior football for a sustained period.
    Write us off at yer peril.
    We will be as strong as ever next season & for a few years to come as we have the most exciting young players in town, with the exception maybe of Wembley Rovers, who have a lot of very good youth players.
    They will need to be promoted from 1A to have any hope of holding those players & even at that I think they will loose a few.

Has anyone any thoughts on the LDMC entering an under 21 team this year? I think it will be good for junior clubs & gives them a good chance of keeping their young players & not loosing them to Limerick FC, it depends I suppose on your view of senior soccer but I for one am in favour of the motion.

all for it if it will help, junior soccer, but why hold back the young players, I'm a firm believer that you should play at the highest level you can, its how you improve as a player, this thing about us at them, junior and senior, sickens me, junior soccer should be supporting the senior team, including the supporters of junior clubs, good luck to limerick this year, hope they have a great season, read in the local tonight that not one limerick company has sponsored them so far, thats a disgrace, good luck to davy ryan too

and to be honest the genuine balla supporters didn't buy into balla being the best team in town last year winning the league unbeaten, come on, fair play to them but I think the players don't know how they did it, we know how good and how bad balla are, they're an average side at best, one or two good players, ray mcmahon and keith fitzgerald are the best of them, need to get a few more faces in

Quote Originally Posted by TRUE VIEW
    Here here, Balla won the league last year, which is the past also may I add, & thought they were world beaters.
    Fairview are the only Limerick club to dominate junior football for a sustained period.
    Write us off at yer peril.
    We will be as strong as ever next season & for a few years to come as we have the most exciting young players in town, with the exception maybe of Wembley Rovers, who have a lot of very good youth players.
    They will need to be promoted from 1A to have any hope of holding those players & even at that I think they will loose a few.

Has anyone any thoughts on the LDMC entering an under 21 team this year? I think it will be good for junior clubs & gives them a good chance of keeping their young players & not loosing them to Limerick FC, it depends I suppose on your view of senior soccer but I for one am in favour of the motion.
    I agree with you true view,write fairview off at your peril.I think this year they had an indifferent year,loosing the the 2 strikers(Barrett & Kelliher) was a blow that they never got over.I know it's been said here numberous times but they were 1st(17 goals) and 3rd(14 goals) leading scorers in the premier division at the time.
    Pike are very stong and will probably go on to win the league this year. But I have no doubth that Fairview will be back bigger and stronger next year.
    Balla now have a massive game on Sunday V Pike and after last week need a good performance to get their season back on track. Pike too strong and will win in LIT by the Odd goal. Park Rangers V Fairview a draw in Shannon.

i think waterford crystal are the weakest of the 4 teams left. so with the way the comp has gone this year my moneys on them to win it.

sorry meant to post the above in fai junior section

whats the situation now with the league standings, I know balla are way off pike but have games in hand, how many? Are carew still in it, what about Park?

Ya carew are still in it as far as i know....I think they only lost 1 if not 2 games in the league.They have a good few draws but if they beat or get a result against a few of the top teams they will be in with a chance for the league...I wouldn't write them off not with the season they are having so far....I think our former player has made a hugh difference to the team(cyril maher) and should've taken the penalty on sunday as he is there regular peno taker.This crap about giving a player there hatrick is gone...Stick to the basics if u ask me...game would've been over at full time if they did.....Anyone reckon summerville have a chance of staying up this year or are we doomed....Think we can win sunday against mungret!!!!!

I think ye will go down but but best of luck trying to get back up I think that it will be tough..

Thanks for the vote of confidence clowboy....Still possible though but very unlikely...Still would be nice to get at least one win out of the season!!! Any predictions on who will make it up for next year....???

Wink Widow

Quote Originally Posted by widow
    whats the situation now with the league standings, I know balla are way off pike but have games in hand, how many? Are carew still in it, what about Park?
    Park most likely blew their chances with the two away draws to Charleville and Abbey. Park will try to the end and give it their best shot , but surely the title will go to Crossagalla, and by the way all of the premier teams in Limerick bitch from the sidelines when they are loosing, ever heard the Balla lads.

Try.....There is this one who is always on the sideline for balla...she is pure mad...Good laugh playing when she is there,,,,,she really gets into the game.....Pity i won't be seeing it next year as i will be playing in 1a unless we get them in the cup.....

i think its still hard to luck beyond pike for the league , points in the bag and all that. Should be interesting down the other end though a few teams are in trouble and hill celtic could make a bit of a revival

Quote Originally Posted by summervilleman
    Ya carew are still in it as far as i know....I think they only lost 1 if not 2 games in the league.They have a good few draws but if they beat or get a result against a few of the top teams they will be in with a chance for the league...I wouldn't write them off not with the season they are having so far....I think our former player has made a hugh difference to the team(cyril maher) and should've taken the penalty on sunday as he is there regular peno taker.This crap about giving a player there hatrick is gone...Stick to the basics if u ask me...game would've been over at full time if they did.....Anyone reckon summerville have a chance of staying up this year or are we doomed....Think we can win sunday against mungret!!!!!
    Hate to say it but ye look doomed to me aswell.
    I would say it's between Mungret & Hill Celtic to see who joins ye, hard to call really I never look further than 3rd so don't reallt know much about releagtion. Mungret have a lot of good young players who will be snapped up if they go down.
    Summerville I fear might do a Geraldines on it & struggle to get back to the promised land if they go down this year.
    Have to agree with you on Cyril Maher, a fine player, but I dunno if he really wanted to take the peno on Sunday, he wouldn't be used to the pressure I'd say. Can't blame Albert Slattery for having a go, the man is Carew Pk & keeps the whole team together, a born leader on the pitch.

The draw for the semi final of the FAI Junior Cup was made this evening, approx thirty minutes late. The full draw is:

Carew Park V Westport United, Jackman Park, Limerick.
    Galway Hibs V Waterford Crystal, Terryland Park, Galway

Both games provisionally set for Easter Sunday, 27th March.

Very tough draw for Carew bearing in mind what Wesport did to Pike.

Best of luck to Martin Reddan & his team though

carew can't afford to go down to ten men against westport cause they won't lie back like balla did, a good football side, saw what westport did to pike, probably the toughest draw carew could of gotten apart from being away to westport, westport aren't the surprise package when pike played them, westport will also match them for heart too, all on the day however, but I'd fancy westport just about

i fancy westport for the fai as they have been knocking on the door for a few seasons now but i'd love to see the cup stay in limerick. best of luck carew!!!

Summerville to go down with hill celtic or mungret
    saw summerville play this year a few times two weak at the back but ok going forward better get some defenders in for 1a
    1a is very contrasting from a good top half but a very poor bottom half

1a

"Ask me tom", you obviously havent a clue about 1A, bacause if you did, you'd no that there isnt a difference between must of the teams. Star being at the bottom, beat Herbertstown a couple of weeks ago in the cup and have had a couple of good results, but relying on the 17 team is killing them and Hyde have had a good couple of results but linger at the bottom too. there's nothing seperating most of them. Anybody can beat anyone, it'd be hell if anyone got relegated down there, it's a tough league to get out of. Thank god we'll never be relegated down there.

"Ask me tom", you obviously havent a clue about 1A, bacause if you did, you'd no that there isnt a difference between must of the teams. Star being at the bottom,
    for your info Kevin b/w i player 1a last year

Page 39 of 85 FirstFirst ... 29373839404149 ... LastLast