Sailing: Men's Team
    Sailing: Laser
    Boxing
    Swimming
    Athletics
    Mountain Bike
    Road cycling

Good luck to all our lads, lasses and horses
    Last edited by liam88; 16/08/2004 at 7:27 PM.
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

246 Posts
    No team in the football, didn't qualify.
    One of the best chances for a gold is Andy Lee in boxing. And there's a fella doing well in the rowing, though I can't mind his name ATM.

sorry Brendy changing the whole original post-found all the info on the Olympic site-cheers for info about the footy.
    The last few events on there;
    Boxing
    Swimming
    Athletics
    Mountain Bike
    Road cycling
    There are quite a few of each so we'll just put if we get medals in any of them
    China already has 15!!
    On day 2!
    Looking good for Beijing 2008
    G S B Tl.
    1 China 10 4 1 15
    2 AUS Australia 6 2 4 12
    3 JPN Japan 4 1 1 6
    4 USA United States 3 4 5 12
    5 FRA France 2 2 3 7
    Last edited by liam88; 16/08/2004 at 7:31 PM.
    Long live the Pope! Free Burma (NLD/SNLD), Free Tibet (Burma Campaign/Free Tibet Campaign Alliance), Free the Rossport 5! (ACCOMPLISHED 30/09/05)

BOYCOTT TOTAL OIL-Please Read!

Gillian O'Sullivan withdraws

One of few medal prospects gone.

Thankfully somethings going right for Limerick at last....unbeaten now in our last three, and we have Irelands best medal chances at the games: Andy Lee in the scrapping, and Sam Lynch in the paddling.....COME ON THE BLUES!!!!!!!!!

more bad news

don't think he was a medal hope but you have to feel for the guy after four years looking forward to his chance.
    Cork City: Making 'Dream Team' seem realistic since 2007.

Quote Originally Posted by tiktok
    more bad news
    There has been far too many road traffic incidents out there.
    This is going to be the biggest failure in the history of the games.
    The Greeks will be paying for this mistake a long time and wont do the EMU and good.

Thumbs down

Quote Originally Posted by Peadar
    There has been far too many road traffic incidents out there...
    I think the Greeks have a reputation for crap driving that would make the irish look fairly good.

250 Posts
    andy lee impressive knocking the stuffing out of lopez in his first fight.
    i reckon he will defo get a medal,hopefully gold

clay pigeon shooter burnett from longford hit 119 out of 125 targets and just missed the shoot off between the top 6.

Quote Originally Posted by the 12 th man
    andy lee.....i reckon he will defo get a medal,hopefully gold.
    I hope you're right but i was listening to Mick Dowling on RTE, and he said Lee's last-eight (Q-final) fight would be a very tough one, he's in the stronger side of the draw. Fingers crossed though.

250 Posts
    I hope you're right but i was listening to Mick Dowling on RTE, and he said Lee's last-eight (Q-final) fight would be a very tough one, he's in the stronger side of the draw. Fingers crossed though.

he is hard to hit because of his physique(very tall and wirey) and has a good dig on him and is improving all the time.
    i am very hopeful

Quote Originally Posted by the 12 th man
    he is hard to hit because of his physique(very tall and wirey) and has a good dig on him and is improving all the time.
    i am very hopeful
    Unfortunately the guy he's supposed to meet in the last 8 (all going well) is identical to him in physique and style, so thats going to be a major test.
    The scoring system is quite baffling though, all 3 judges have to hit their buttons at the same time to make a point....and while I'm at it, when Lee was fighting Lopez, he made Lopez take a standing count in the third, yet he scored no point for making the mexican take a count....confusing or what??

250 Posts
    Quote Originally Posted by joeSoap
    Unfortunately the guy he's supposed to meet in the last 8 (all going well) is identical to him in physique and style, so thats going to be a major test.
    The scoring system is quite baffling though, all 3 judges have to hit their buttons at the same time to make a point....and while I'm at it, when Lee was fighting Lopez, he made Lopez take a standing count in the third, yet he scored no point for making the mexican take a count....confusing or what??

the scoring system is a mess.guys getting clobbered and them getting a point
    instead of the agressor etc.although at least its semi-transparent.

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Sounds tad paranoid,but Craig Doyle on the Beeb is turning out to be an honorary'West Br*t',with all these'we' refs ......Know he works for them,but even old Hansen takes the Scots amendment !
    Bit weird partnership between Token Oirish Man & Big Horsey Woman presenting the nightly highlights show on BBC.

Also 2 man lightweight rowers only came fourth in semi today & out of final. 4 man rowers made their final though.

Quote Originally Posted by davros
    Sounds tad paranoid,but Craig Doyle on the Beeb is turning out to be an honorary'West Br*t',with all these'we' refs ......Know he works for them,but even old Hansen takes the Scots amendment !
    I always find it weird hearing yer man Dempsey on Sky Sports saying "we" about Ireland.

3,491 Posts
    I always find it weird hearing yer man Dempsey on Sky Sports saying "we" about Ireland.
    He was interviewed one night months ago on Off The Ball on NewsTalk, think he said something about playing for UCD years ago.

Paul Dempsey is Irish

On the Craig Doyle subject - Delighted to see Craig Doyle doing so well for himself - RTE must be sickened to see him with the Beeb now, afterall they wouldn't give him a job!

I don't know why - would beat haven't to look at some of the ugly mugs they have on it!
    I have found men who didn't know how to kiss.
    I've always found time to teach them.

Paul Dempsey is Irish
    I know that, but it just sounds weird.
    Sky Sports isn't an Irish station but the studio was all Irish last night.

Quote Originally Posted by Sinéad
    I don't know why - would beat haven't to look at some of the ugly mugs they have on it!
    I think I'm confortable enough with my séxuality to say that I'd prefer to look at Doyler than Ryan TupperwareHead.
    RTÉ have some gems in Marty Morrissey and Derek Davis